1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.70

Buy for $15.70

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Legendary wordsmith Raekwon the Chef opens up about his journey from the staircases of Park Hill in Staten Island to sold-out stadiums around the world with the Wu-Tang Clan in this revealing memoir - perfect for fans of The Autobiography of Gucci Mane and Hustle Harder, Hustle Smarter.

There are rappers that everyone loves, and there are rappers that every rapper loves, and Corey Woods, a.k.a. Raekwon the Chef, is one of the few who is both. His versatile flow, natural storytelling and evocative imagery has inspired legions of fans and a new generation of rappers. As one of the founding members of Wu-Tang Clan, Raekwon’s voice and cadence is synonymous with the inimitable sound that has made the group iconic since 1991.

Now, for the first time, Raekwon tells his full story, from struggling through poverty to make ends meet to turning a hobby into a legacy. The Wu-Tang story is dense, complex and full of drama, and here nothing is off limits: the group’s underground origins, secrets behind songs like 'C.R.E.A.M.' and 'Protect Ya Neck', and what it took to be one of the first hip-hop groups to break into the mainstream. Raekwon also dives deep into the making of his meticulous solo albums - particularly the classic Only Built 4 Cuban Linx - and talks about how spirituality and fatherhood continue to inspire his unstoppable creative process.

A celebration of perseverance and the power of music, From Staircase to Stage is a master storyteller’s lifelong journey to stay true to himself and his roots.

©2021 Corey Wppds (P)2021 Simon & Schuster Inc.

What listeners say about From Staircase to Stage

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-12-21

Great book & insight to the Goat hip hop group

Wu Tang Forever 🔥🔥 A great insight into the greatest Hip Hop groups of all time. Any fan of music needs to give it a listen. The chef is a true legend in the game. https://linktr.ee/BOYOWORLD

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jordan Spencer
  • Jordan Spencer
  • 12-07-21

Big fan of the Wu

Huge Wu fan and this book is something I absolutely needed.
Narrator is very good and the little interviews with Rae at the end of each chapter are icing on the cake.
This book details Rae's life from child to Wu Tang TV series and it's full of so many little behind the scenes gems which explain what was going on during the production of each album. The later chapters are really interesting and sad to see how a tight knit family like Wu was getting pulled apart by money and members.

Highly recommend for an fan of Wu Tang or music in general.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Raj Kotecha
  • Raj Kotecha
  • 06-16-22

Take Cuban Linx to another level

Miraculously detailed and a rollercoaster at times, Rae comes off even more enigmatic and really lays it on the line so the reader can feel the highs and incredible lows of his journey. Feels like a sacrifice and a heroic tale at the same time. Honestly magnificent work for any fan of the Chef to get closer to those early days in Shaolin and beyond.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for wee willy winky
  • wee willy winky
  • 02-11-22

Cooked up greatness.

Well, what can I say? I strongly recommend this book not just to Wu Tang, Raekwon or hip hop fans. This is for all audiences. The smallest fault is The Chef not narrating it. The guy who narrates it does a solid job bit to hear Chef with his strong assertive voice talk would’ve been the cherry on top of the cake. #olnybuiltforcubanlinx

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-07-22

Ice Water 💯!!

Great insight into Wu & how money sent them all mad, the struggle for getting money & how it has dominated the group! great honesty from Rae & great humility to see his own faults in it all.Love it, been bumping all of Rae's work to remind me since! Blaaaaow!!!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew Hill
  • Andrew Hill
  • 01-28-22

Wu and Chef fans will enjoy

Good audiobook for fans the formation of the Wu. Great to get an insight into the things Raek was doing leading up to recording 36 chambers. Later career was breezed over without going into much detail but I guess that's not what people are reading/listening for.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Screen Touch
  • Screen Touch
  • 01-08-22

The Chef, The Rapper, The Scholar.

I've read all of the books written by Wu-tang members so far and it's always great to hear stories from each person's perspective. Raekwon has always been a stand out character in the Wu so it's nice to hear his story from the foundation to now. This is a real rags to riches tale.

I didn't realize how much of a business man The Chef actually is as he seems to be so low key about it. I have so much more respect for him now. The narrator did a very good job reading this one too.

The only gripe I have is that somebody needs to let Rae know that kung-fu and karate are two completely different martial arts!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Spinolaola
  • Spinolaola
  • 12-31-21

Interesting

A lot of things I didn't knw about, specially the ways of the RZA ego, the chef seems like a genuine brother, I'm glad he came trough

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Honest Tooth
  • Honest Tooth
  • 12-21-21

Raekwon writes as hard as he spits

Must read for any Wu fan. Great to hear the Chef’s story in the context of the Wu as a whole. When usually anything you hear about the Wu is so heavily curated by Rza, nice to hear a different perspective. The interviews with him and his son at the end of every chapter are also great. Rae really doesn’t hold back on his criticism of Rza and Divine which to be fair, he isn’t the first member of the Wu to do this.

Rae does always portray himself in the most positive light but that’s to be expected. I’d also like more ODB and GZA stories as they seem to be lacking especially as we all know how crazy was. There could also be more Masta Killa stories but this book is generally a pleasure to read for any Wu fan.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-06-22

The Chef

A great incite into the world of a true Hip Hop legend. Well articulated, which you can't really get from interviews. It has reignited my love for the Wu, Rae and Hip Hop. I had my initial considerations of the narration because I would of loved to hear Rae narrate it himself but Landon Woodson proved a great listen and in hindsight I couldn't see anyone else doing it.
Ka nui te mihi