adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Featuring an exclusive interview with Raekwon the Chef and his son!

Legendary wordsmith Raekwon the Chef opens up about his journey from the staircases of Park Hill in Staten Island to sold-out stadiums around the world with Wu-Tang Clan in this revealing memoir. Perfect for fans of The Autobiography of Gucci Mane and Hustle Harder, Hustle Smarter.

There are rappers who everyone loves and there are rappers who every rapper loves, and Corey Woods, a.k.a. Raekwon the Chef, is one of the few who is both. His versatile flow, natural storytelling, and evocative imagery have inspired legions of fans and a new generation of rappers. Raekwon is one of the founding members of Wu-Tang Clan, and his voice and cadence are synonymous with the sound that has made the group iconic since 1991.

Now, for the first time, Raekwon tells his whole story, from struggling through poverty in order to make ends meet to turning a hobby into a legacy. The Wu-Tang tale is dense, complex, and full of drama, and here nothing is off-limits: the group’s origins, secrets behind songs like “C.R.E.A.M.” and “Protect Ya Neck”, and what it took to be one of the first hip-hop groups to go from the underground to the mainstream. Raekwon also delves deep into the making of his meticulous solo albums - particularly the classic Only Built 4 Cuban Linx - and talks about how spirituality and fatherhood continue to inspire his unstoppable creative process. 

A celebration of perseverance and the power of music, From Staircase to Stage is a master storyteller’s lifelong journey to stay true to himself and his roots.

©2021 Corey Woods. All rights reserved. (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about From Staircase to Stage

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    420
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    334
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    379
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must listen

Yes, i am a huge Wu fan and read all their books. With that said you don’t need to be a huge wu fan to enjoy this story. And if you are a wu fan its a no-brainer.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dope, origin story

I’d love if Raekwon narrated the story. Even thought i hear his voice i do t hear it in the story. It’d be 100% better. No disrespect to the narrator, because I’m hooked, but Rae voice is what i wanted to hear,

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A+

Great story coming from one of the greatest rap groups & artist. Loved hearing all the story’s.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It was a good listen

I wish I was able to hear his story in his own words. but it was interesting 🤔 I thought his story was real and I'm glad to know he is doing well. You never know someone's struggle

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Book

This is it! Well written. great way to tell the story. Wu Tang Clan anit nothing to Fxxx with!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Storytelling from one of Wu's Finest

Stories about the chef are always received as a blessing. Good storytelling, and the convos with Rae and his son were the icing on the cake. Hip Hop fans don't miss this one.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read

I enjoyed hearing Rae's story and the Wu's from his perspective. However, i personally fell that the narrator should've been the Chef, i wasn't a fan of his voice for this story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Vantage point

Good picture painting vantage point from Reekwon side. we need all points of view so we can form our own opinions

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Raw gritty and real that's Raekwon baby!

So real and knowledgeable I'm going to keep this short, knowledge is power. this book is heartfelt enlightening take something from it don't just listen. Peace to the Gods and Earths.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love from Texas

I'd always been a fan of Wu-Tang but never enough to want to learn about their history. I'm so glad I downloaded this book. Raekwon, Meth were always my favorite...I can't wait for The Purple Tape Doc to drop.