adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.49

Buy for $17.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Joanna meets the perfect girl for her and must decide whether to break a promise that could change everything for her and her family or lose out on love in this charming young adult romance that's perfect for fans of Julie Murphy's Dumplin' and Becky Albertalli's Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda.  

Joanna Gordon has been out and proud for years, but when her popular radio evangelist father remarries and decides to move all three of them from Atlanta to the more conservative Rome, Georgia, he asks Jo to do the impossible: to lie low for the rest of her senior year. And Jo reluctantly agrees.  

Although it is (mostly) much easier for Jo to fit in as a straight girl, things get complicated when she meets Mary Carlson, the oh-so-tempting sister of her new friend at school. But Jo couldn't possibly think of breaking her promise to her dad.  

Even if she's starting to fall for the girl. Even if there's a chance Mary Carlson might be interested in her, too. Right?  

Contains mature themes.

©2016 Jaye Robin Brown (P)2019 Tantor

Featured Article: The Best Lesbian Listens by Queer Authors


Get to know lesbian literature’s past and present with these essential listens from the LGBTQIA+ canon. Anyone on the hunt for the best LGBTQIA+ audiobooks knows that it can still be a challenge to find stories centered on lesbian characters and experiences. Discover the best lesbian listens across fiction and nonfiction and in a range of genres and age categories, with one common factor: All of these stories are focused on lesbian characters.

More from the same

What listeners say about Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    80
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    67
  • 4 Stars
    22
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

such a sweet story

I loved this book. It was sweet and wonderful. The overall message was one that needs to be said and learned. The performance was great with just the right amount of Georgia drawl.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Straitest lesbian romance I’ve ever read

I was really excited to listen to a lesbian story that takes place in my home town. But I was really disappointed by this story. The dialogue was so bad it made me wonder if the writer was ever a teenager at all. The entire plot rests on a stupid premise that makes no sense at all. It’s frustrating to listen to the main characters thoughts about the main plot points because they also don’t make sense. The characters are one dimensional and catty and perpetuate harmful stereotypes.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Omg

This book was so good and made me squeal more than once. I thoroughly enjoyed the writing style and humor. It was well worth the listen. The characters gripped you and it was like they were your friends

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • J
  • 11-16-21

overall worth the listen

I did enjoy this book since it’s a nice YA coming-of-age story that focuses on finding and keeping your authenticity of self but also first love, faith, friendship, and family. However, there are some major conflicts within the story that I feel aren’t talked about with enough seriousness such as the vileness of an out person actively trying to dissuade a person newly coming to terms with their sexuality of coming out (and even being hopeful that fear and anxiety will keep them in the closet). Not to mention the horrors of the protagonist’s father ordering his daughter to hide herself as well. The book does touch on why these things are wrong but not with the gravity they deserve IMHO. I also wish it were a little longer and had gone into more depth about the lives of the characters being out in their small town. But I did still quite enjoy the book and its characters.

Narrator was fantastic with a variety of entertaining voices and an enjoyable cadence. My only criticism of the narrator is her inclusion of a number of very strange and long pauses at seemingly random moments.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet Story; Loved It

Beautiful coming of age story about young lesbians in the rural south, (Marjorie Taylor Green is the Congressional representative from the area). The central character Jo ana is asked by her father for an unreasonable concession to aid his new marriage and she accedes even though he's already forcing his daughter to move from Atlanta to Rome, Georgia for her senior year of high school. That was a little bit troubling though given the circumstances was probably necessary for the plot. Her relationship with her so very self-involved "friend" Dana, who's definition of friendship seemed to be a bit one-sided was a drag on the central story. Those two slightly negative situations didn't detract significantly from this excellent, YA leaning book.