adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $42.20

Buy for $42.20

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Evil always seeks a foothold. We must not give it one.

The electrifying conclusion to the New York Times and Indiebound best-selling Serpent & Dove trilogy is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Kendare Blake.

Lou has spent her whole life running. Now, after a crushing blow from Morgane, the time has come to go home - and claim what is rightfully hers.

But this is no longer the Lou her friends knew. No longer the Lou who captured a chasseur’s heart. A darkness has settled over her, and this time it will take more than love to drive it out.

From Serpent & Dove to Blood & Honey and concluding with Gods & Monsters, Shelby Mahurin's stunning fantasy trilogy delivers thrills and romance.

©2021 Shelby Mahurin (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Gods & Monsters

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    338
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    318
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    296
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Decently Satisfying End to the Series

I’ll admit that after the 2nd book(which I thought was pretty bad) I didn’t have very high hopes for this one but I was decently surprised. I don’t think it’s as good as the 1st book but it is miles better than the 2nd.

The main story arcs with Lou and Reid have definitely been done before and I’ll say that I didn’t like what the author did with Reid’s character in this book. It does all come back together in the end but still it felt like going backwards and I would have much rather seen Reid’s character moving forward for once. Book 2’s cliffhanger for Lou takes up about the first 3rd of this book and after that till the near end, Reid’s story takes over. However, despite that I still enjoyed this book and I thought Reid and Lou had some great scenes together(especially the steamy scenes 🔥).

The side characters don’t feel as prominent in this one but I still enjoyed them, even the new additions. Without spoiling who the new ones are I will say that I didn’t except to like them but I actually did and thought they rounded out the group quite nicely.

The main plot line is still the same. Trying to unite the kingdom to defeat Lou’s mom and such. However, it didn’t drag as much in this book as in the 2nd and because of their side quests it felt like things kept moving. The final battle wasn’t anything great but it was good enough to kept me interested and I thought it brought a decently satisfying end to the overall story.

In the end I’m glad I listened to this series and would definitely be interested in checking out more from this author. 🖤

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Impeccable Story

This was a riveting story with incredibly well developed characters. I loved every bit of it. My only hangup is I actually had a hard time keeping track of placing characters to names because they span the whole series and I guess my memory isn't the best.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Absolutely amazing. Emotional, action packed, nonstop from start to finish. The narrators did character voices so well, and this was a perfect ending to the series. ❤️

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book.

Great story great characters.
This book list an overall star because I think calling this a ya/teen book is very misleading.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Satisfying Ending, but "meh" Journey

Overall a good series but not great. So many awful things kept happening to keep our main couple away from each other that we never really got to enjoy their happiness. The first book had things spicy, but the 2nd and 3rd fell pretty flat and just dragged on. At least we got our ending and some funny moments in between.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This ending was masterfully done!!

I really enjoyed both the story and the narration. I am so pleased with the character arc and growth, especially of the supporting cast of characters. I will absolutely be auto-buying anything Shelby publishes!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narration was tough.

I enjoyed this book more than I expected to after book two kind of let me down. I have other books by Holter Graham and I'm really not a fan. The story I enjoyed, but I found myself grumbling every time the narration switched back to Reid's perspective.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The 1st book is the best

I was very excited with the title of this book. Neither the second or third book come close to the first book. Similar to the second book, there was a lot of “filler” content. I was excited to see the allies of the second book play a larger role in this book but was disappointed that their presence was sparatic and forced. Reeds digression was also frustrating because the whole first book is about his acceptance of witches and it was for a majority of this book as well. The ending feels so drawn out and I felt like I was listening to a director pitching a scene in a movie. The best part of the book is the attention to mental health and closure.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Gods and monsters

first two books were amazing Gods and monsters is just kind of thrown together. I frequently felt lost but it wraps up nice I guess

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

there's a lot we have to go through to find love and then in the end it's worth it such a great story

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-15-21

Love a book which finishes without leaving anything untied!!!!

Get ready for the roller coaster ride!!! Many times I found myself wanting to race ahead and see what’s coming next. So many twists and turns but a fabulous, complete ending to the series. Another book to add to the collection to read again later. I loved it

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-03-21

I am SOOO disappointed!

I absolutely hate doing reviews like this. I really wanted to love this book. Also, after Blood and Honey, I was hoping we would get a strong and solid finale. That, unfortunately, is not the case here. I wasn´t too happy when I learned that S&D would be made into a trilogy in the first place. It is very rare for a series that is expanded while the story is already on the way to maintain the quality it would have had using the original outline.

Serpent & Dove is one of my favourite YA fantasy books. It is a bit tropey, but the clichés in it work perfectly, the characters are loveable, and the overall story makes sense. While I quite liked Blood and Honey as I read it, none of the actions and plotlines in it contributed to the story in any significant way, and the characters basically wandered around without accomplishing anything. I genuinely thought it would all change in Gods & Monsters; the storylines would merge and it would all start to make sense as the bigger picture would emerge. I was so very wrong about that. The whole book feels like someone turned on the shuffle function. It just proves that there is a finite amount of ingredients one can use before a delicious dish turns into one hot mess. The author threw everything into the final book, and even though it´s a chunky one, not one of the elements is explored properly. We barely skim the surface of this world and its peoples. Most of it should have been introduced in the second book or cut out altogether, and it would probably not have been as confusing and exhausting.

To be a bit more specific, here are some of the things I couldn´t get past:
1. The plot armour was incredibly thick in this one. It reached the point when there was no logic to some of the events whatsoever.
2. The sheer amount of new information was simply overwhelming and almost none of it went beyond the surface level.
3. The individual plotlines played virtually no role in the overall story and therefore felt like padding.
4. The humour. I loved the humour in S&D. However, it felt completely misplaced here. The situations where it was used were far too serious to add a comic relief element. It made no sense.
5. THE LANGUAGE! I don´t mind cursing in books at all. I love feisty characters with foul mouths. But this just wasn´t consistent with the previous books, I´m sorry. The cursing in S&D had a purpose and was used very well. Here, it was overused by everyone, and therefore very jarring.

I really am heartbroken because I loved the original premise. The characters are very dear to my heart and the world is lush and magical, but when you don´t have a plot, the story has no heart. And without a heart, there is no story, no matter how beautiful the shell is. Were it not for a fact that I simply don´t DNF books (especially if it´s a series finale), I would have given up within the first 150 pages. I got to the end only through sheer willpower, and I had a distinct feeling both narrators felt the same way because they were overdoing some of the scenes horribly, which is very unlike either of their other performances.

I honestly hope others will love this book. For me, Serpent & Dove will remain a standalone I will always love to revisit.