1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A gripping science fiction thriller where five women task themselves with ensuring the survival of the human race - if you mixed ". . .The Martian and The Handmaid's Tale, this sci-fi novel would be the incredible result" (Book Riot).

“Best of 2020” (Library Journal)
“Best of 2020” (Kirkus)
“Best of 2020 - runner up” (Polygon)
“[One of] our favorite books of 2020” (GeekDad)

Despite increasing restrictions on the freedoms of women on Earth, Valerie Black is spearheading the first all-female mission to a planet in the Goldilocks Zone, where conditions are just right for human habitation. 

It's humanity's last hope for survival, and Naomi, Valerie's surrogate daughter and the ship's botanist, has been waiting her whole life for an opportunity like this - to step out of Valerie's shadow and really make a difference. 

But when things start going wrong on the ship, Naomi begins to suspect that someone on board is concealing a terrible secret - and realizes time for life on Earth may be running out faster than they feared....

"Goldilocks is a thrilling, character-driven space opera", perfect for fans of The Martian, The Power, and Station Eleven (Shelf Awareness). 

©2020 Laura Lam (P)2020 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Each member of the crew has a well-developed voice and her own drives and ambitions, which makes the novel increasingly difficult to put down as betrayals and double-crossings play out aboard the claustrophobic ship.... A slow-burning fire of a novel that begs the reader to keep turning the page." (Kirkus, starred)

"A compelling, character-led SF tale. With a perfect balance of beauty, thrills and hope, Goldilocks conjures up the twisty claustrophobia of space-travel, untrustworthy relationships and what we're doing to the planet." (Nick Clark Windo)

"If The Martian and The Handmaid's Tale had a book baby, this feminist environmental sci-fi thriller would be the incredible result.... If you've been looking for your next favorite science fiction novel, this is it." (Book Riot)

What listeners say about Goldilocks

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

terrible

I bought this on a trusted recommendation. It was awful. poorly developed characters. Bad, unbelievable science. Lack of originality. The narrator was boring and kind of schmaltzy. It might have been better as a written book, but I doubt it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A good book, but

the reader’s voice is nasally and it’s super hard to focus on for more than a few minutes at a time.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Great book, the best I’ve read this year. I’ll be checking out the author’s other works.