adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.70

Buy for $15.70

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Three Women and Everything I Know About Love comes a refreshingly original memoir about self-discovery, loneliness and love. A guarded young lawyer reluctantly joins a psychotherapy group where she has to share her innermost thoughts with six complete strangers. In turn she finds human connection and herself.

'What’s going to happen to me when I start group?'

'All of your secrets are going to come out.'

Christie Tate has just been named the top student in her law school class and seems to finally have got her eating disorder under control. So why is she driving through Chicago fantasising about her own death?

Desperate, she joins Dr Rosen’s psychotherapy group, and through his unconventional methods, he challenges everything she thought she knew, about herself and others. In group, secrets are not allowed. This means telling a group of strangers everything - about her struggle with bulimia, her failed sex life, her overwhelming sense of loneliness and acute longing for a relationship. And as she keeps sharing her thoughts and feelings and listens to the others doing the same, her life slowly begins to change.

This is a deliciously compelling listen and an intimate journey through the daring, exhilarating, painful and hilarious journey that is group therapy - a process that breaks you down and then reassembles you so that all the pieces finally fit.

©2020 Christie Tate (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic Reviews

"This unrestrained memoir is a transporting experience and...most startlingly hopeful.... It will make you want to get better, whatever better means for you." (Lisa Taddeo, New York Times best-selling author of Three Women)

"This book will remind you how to come back to yourself even when you want to give up, make you laugh, make you cry, help you breathe. This book will save lives." (Lidia Yuknavitch) 

"Real transformation is not for the faint of heart.... Christie Tate captures her evolution in all its misery and hilarity, along with the beauty of bearing witness to one another as we grow." (Sarah Hepola)  

More from the same

Author

Narrator

What listeners say about Group

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Honest journey to intimacy

I enjoyed every moment of this honest account of Chrities’ journey to finding herself, her sheer longing for intimacy, the driving force to mental health- what a beautiful testimony to our inherent need to understand ourselves and to be seen by the other. As a therapist, I want to start a group myself after listening to this wonderful account of groupwork

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-04-21

Vulgar

Really hated it I am afraid, just found it vulgar and extremely unlikeable. Could only get half way through and could take no more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Rayner, author
  • Sarah Rayner, author
  • 06-23-21

I LOVED THIS!

I felt as though I with a total kindred spirit throughout the entire book. I love that Christie narrated it herself and having been in the same women’s group since 1997 it resonated and resonated and resonated again. Wonderful storytelling too. The perfect narrative arc - shall be recommending it to many author friends.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Balmer
  • Sarah Balmer
  • 06-22-21

Wonderful Memoir

Stunning memoir and story. Christie’s honesty will stay with me forever and can imagine in months to come I’ll look back and think about this book and her experiences.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Judimaxx
  • Judimaxx
  • 06-04-21

honest portrail of a young female finding herself

loved it and appreciated the honestly in her story. touching memoir to her youth

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lucinda
  • Lucinda
  • 05-19-21

Insightful and entertaining

This was actually a really useful book. Would recommend to anyone interested in understanding more about attachments and how to become more emotionally available.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-22-21

Loved it

Great book, full of hope, interesting to read to understand more about therapy, although not all therapy is anything like this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andie Broomfield
  • Andie Broomfield
  • 03-08-21

Excellent.

Absolutely loved this book. Moving & entertaining , I laughed & cried in equal measure.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-30-21

Loved it!!

Refreshing and honest
An interesting insight into group therapy.
Well read and enjoyable to listen to

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary
  • Mary
  • 01-03-21

Thoroughly enjoyed!

Brutally honest account of the importance of self reflection and awareness to lead a happy and fulfilling life.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-12-20

Good, if you find it relatable to your own life.

I enjoyed this book. I have to say that throughout the book I found myself wondering if the group therapy was a thing of fiction as have never heard of therapy like it before, so it wasn't always easy for me to understand BUT I enjoyed the candidness of the auther and did find myself relating and feeling her pain.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-04-21

Great read!

I was in tears at the end! loved the characters and their development. Thank you for sharing your story!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MrsBoaden
  • MrsBoaden
  • 01-10-21

Heartwrenchingly Relatable

A wonderful story filled with honesty and relatable lows. Thank you to the author for sharing this with us.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-10-20

Terrible! selfish! Boring!

This is a terrible, selfish and boring book that details explicit sexual relationships but fails to explore how the therapy sessions helped her. Actually she never improves or works on herself. Don’t insult your intelligence with this memoir. The narrator was boring! And it’s Christie Tate herself.