adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Named a best beach/summer read by O, The Oprah Magazine, Cosmopolitan, Parade, PopSugar, Marie Claire, Bustle, and more!

From the author of the Love at First Like and Playing with Matches, an electrifying rom-com set in the high-stakes world of competitive gymnastics, full of Hannah Orenstein’s signature "charm, whimsy, and giddy romantic tension" (BuzzFeed).

The past seven years have been hard on Avery Abrams: After training her entire life to make the Olympic gymnastics team, a disastrous performance ended her athletic career for good. Her best friend and teammate, Jasmine, went on to become an Olympic champion, then committed the ultimate betrayal by marrying their emotionally abusive coach, Dimitri.

Now, reeling from a breakup with her football-star boyfriend, Avery returns to her Massachusetts hometown, where new coach Ryan asks her to help him train a promising young gymnast with Olympic aspirations. Despite her misgivings and worries about the memories it will evoke, Avery agrees. Back in the gym, she's surprised to find sparks flying with Ryan. But when a shocking scandal in the gymnastics world breaks, it has shattering effects not only for the sport, but also for Avery and her old friend Jasmine.

Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jasmine Guillory, Head over Heels proves that no one "writes about modern relationships with more humor or insight than Hannah Orenstein" (Dana Schwartz, author of Choose Your Own Disaster).

©2020 Hannah Orenstein. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Head over Heels

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    46
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ended short

I would have enjoyed knowing what happened at the olympics. The ending seemed rushed and just seemed to not stick the landing.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

First Summer Read

It was a nice book to listen to and the narrator, Joy Osmanski did a great job. I like the story overall. It get a little weird since it was set in 2019 - 2020 and I’m not like it’s a pandemic lol. Gymnastics is one of my favorite sports to watch during the Olympics and this story had a great setting. Looking forward to more reads like this.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Sweet but...

This is a sweet story, easy to listen to but predictable. If you are really “in” to gymnastics you would love this book. There is a great deal of detail about competitions, etc. it is definitely a “light” read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

Struggled to finish this book. If you're looking for a romance book, I would rate this 1 star. The love interest makes a huge mistake that I could forgive, but would absolutely kill any chance of ever getting back together. 2 stars because the elite gymnastics storyline was actually interesting, but the abuse storylines were straight from the news headlines and felt stolen and not original, like she was literally telling an actual person's story but changing the names. The narrator wasn't generally bad, but wouldn't be my first choice for a young girl's perspective.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Eh

I felt like the whole time I was waiting for something bigger to happen. Was interesting to hear the dynamics of elite gymnastics but I often tuned in and out. Narrator isn’t bad, but I wish she was more distinctive during dialogue.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyed it

Overall loved this one. The narration was OK. I thought the storyline and the main characters were strong and well-developed. Loved the insight I to elite gymnastics too.