1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

They told her the fae weren’t real. She pretended she couldn’t see them. When she met him, everything changed…

Catherine’s first memories were of the fae and the misfortune they brought. No one believed her and told her she was insane. When Catherine arrives the country estate of Thornwood, she is determined to put her past and the fae behind. That is until she meets Ray Thorn. He challenges her prejudices and sways her heart. But can she trust him?

Ray introduces her into his world of the mesmerizing and deadly faery. Then a woman is murdered by one of the fae. She knew she shouldn’t have trusted a fae. But as more bodies turn up, Catherine realizes they’re targeting women like her, and she is their next victim.

She cannot find the killer alone, but is trusting Ray worth the price? Can Catherine find the killer in time, or will she lose her heart?

Dive into the slow burn romance of Heart of Thorns, the first in this gaslamp romantic fantasy trilogy. Fans of Carnival Row and Jane Austen will not want to miss this tale steeped in fae intrigue, romance, and mystery.

©2020 Nicolette Andrews (P)2022 Nicolette Andrews

What listeners say about Heart of Thorns

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story!

This was a good story. I enjoyed the charters and their interactions. The narrator does a wonderful job telling the story as well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, Terrific narration!

Heart of thorns was engaging from the start. The story had a good arc and got even more engaging as it progressed.

Narration by Mia Hutchinson-Shaw was stellar. Keep an eye on this narrator, as she will be going places! Her accents were spot on, her characters had depth, and felt true. I felt connected to their experiences and inner thoughts. In that way that I hope for in audiobooks, her performance had me forgetting that I was listening to a book and instead had me totally immersed in the story.

Looking forward to more by both the author and narrator.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Baskerville Book Reviews

I’ve spent half my day trying to figure out how I want to word how I feel about this story. It’s a good story that I didn’t enjoy. The difficult part is explaining why without spoilers. I previously listened to book 0.5, it seemed like a fantasy romance to me. The protagonist married out of desperation, but her guy seemed genuinely interested in her.

It was a lot darker than I expected. I’m totally fine with dark stories, don’t get me wrong, it just felt like it took a drastic left turn from where I thought it was going. Maybe I’d have known that if I read the summary prior to listening (I still haven’t read it). The whole reason I avoid summaries is to avoid spoilers, misleading summaries, and to not have expectations.

I enjoyed the psychological aspects of it. I was wondering what was real and wasn’t as much as the protagonist. When she was in her home, I was getting some heavy Dracula’s castle vibes where nothing was as it seemed. Everybody seemed to have an agenda and you never knew who to trust. I think more than anything, I liked it as a story but not as a sequel. I found myself wishing there was another book with a different ending so I could choose the version that most suited me.

One thing to add is I’ve previously listened to and absolutely loved the prequel. I will say to anybody reading this, do yourself a service and read that first. I had context for this story. I totally forgot to listen to it and try to put myself in the shoes of somebody who hasn’t read the prequel. I can’t really say much in that regard, I don’t know how it works as a book 1 without the context.

The narration was excellent. I didn’t take any notes which for me, means the narration was great, without issues. I never had trouble telling who was speaking or anything else.

NOTE: This copy was provided to me free of charge as a digital review copy. The opinions stated in this review are mine and mine alone, I was not paid or requested to give this book a certain rating, suggestion, or approval.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating Gaslamp Fantasy

I enjoyed this Gaslamp fantasy written by Nicolette Andrews. I found the juxtaposition of a historical setting populated with paranormal beings to be interesting and engrossing. I liked the character of Catherine from the prequel titled, "Pricked By Thorns". This continuation of her story was entertaining. I am looking forward to the next book in the series. I recommend this book to others who enjoy this genre. Mia Hutchinson-Shaw's narration was vivacious and added to the story's enjoyment. I was given a free copy of the audiobook and I have voluntarily posted this review.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mangankillarney
  • mangankillarney
  • 05-22-22

Fae

I enjoyed the narration of Mia Hutchinson-Shaw

This book is full of twists and turns. Catherine was tormented, detained in a mental hospital and put through untold misery because she could see and hear what others couldn't.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Krystle Smith
  • Krystle Smith
  • 04-08-22

Loved It

This one picked up right where the prequel left off. Again, this era is intriguing to me and to have the author include fae and magic and the ability to see dead people had me at the edge of my seat wanting to know what would happen next. Even I kept wondering who did it. The answer not being revealed till the very end but fingers pointed at the wrong characters throughout the book. It kept you on your toes. The magic and adventure and the jumping between the fae world and the human world and murder and who did it, I couldn't get back to listening fast enough. I'm definitely looking forward to book two to see what happens next, sorry no spoilers here.

The narrator was amazing and I absolutely love her accent. Her emotions from the characters made you believe how they felt and had you feeling it as well. I'm looking forward to her in the next book but would also love to see what else she narrates.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 🎧Mandy🎧 Sawyer 🎧Audiobook 🎧Obsession🎧 Reviewer🎧
  • 🎧Mandy🎧 Sawyer 🎧Audiobook 🎧Obsession🎧 Reviewer🎧
  • 03-13-22

Gripping

Wow this is a fantastic world. With a well built universe for these characters to live in I really did escape from life. With a Magical whirlwind the storyline was gripping and I can’t wait to see what happens next. A fantastic performance from Mia.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for trufriends
  • trufriends
  • 03-12-22

intriguing

this story was intriguing from the start and I want to see what is in store.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tota
  • Tota
  • 03-12-22

Story well written and great narration

Story well written and great narration.

I am voluntarily reviewing a copy I received free from the author.