1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A furious debut novel from Andrew Joseph White about embracing the monster within and unleashing its power against your oppressors. Perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and Annihilation.

Sixteen-year-old trans boy Benji is on the run from the cult that raised him—the fundamentalist sect that unleashed Armageddon and decimated the world’s population. Desperately, he searches for a place where the cult can’t get their hands on him, or more importantly, on the bioweapon with which they infected him.

But when cornered by monsters born from the destruction, Benji is rescued by a group of teens from the local Acheson LGBTQ+ Center, affectionately known as the ALC. The ALC’s leader, Nick, is gorgeous, autistic, and a deadly shot, and he knows Benji’s darkest secret: the cult’s bioweapon is mutating him into a monster deadly enough to wipe humanity from the earth once and for all.    

Still, Nick offers Benji shelter among his ragtag group of queer teens, as long as Benji can control the monster and use its power to defend the ALC. Eager to belong, Benji accepts Nick’s terms...until he discovers the ALC’s mysterious leader has a hidden agenda and more than a few secrets of his own.

©2022 Andrew Joseph White (P)2022 Listening Library

What listeners say about Hell Followed with Us

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Powerful violent intense

I'm a parent who previewed this before sharing it with my 13 year old transgender kid who likes horror movies. It is definitely a gorey horror story with lots of death. NOT for the faint of heart. AND it is a story of queer youth surviving an apocalyptic hell scape through the power of love, authenticity, courage & friendship. In real life America, many queer youth, especially trans youth have unfortunately had to face the ugly reality that some people in power will make decisions and pass laws that harm or kill them in the thinly-veiled name of religion. The profundity of this real life hypocrisy and resulting actual horror stories are fictionalized and amplified in the dystopian world created by the author. An apocalyptic genocidal death cult with "angels" serving as its soldiers are the enemy the youth resist. The metaphor was tragically apt. Queer youth need to know they can survive by leaning on one another, despite the pain and seemingly endless violence the world has in store for them. And despite the ways they are demonized. The more I think about this story, the more layered and nuanced the meaning and metaphors become. Really brilliant. My one criticism: As a mom, I had hoped the author would invent a way to resolve the situation with the mother in a less violent way....idk...I might wait a year or two before endorsing this as a read for my kid because of that part, or at least have a good conversation about it prior. That probably would be wise anyway.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-27-22

A must read queer apocalypse

This book has so much good representation and such a great story. I loved it!