1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Hell Followed with Us  By  cover art

Hell Followed with Us

By: Andrew Joseph White
Narrated by: Shaan Dasani,Graham Halstead,Avi Roque
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $38.50

Buy for $38.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A furious debut novel from Andrew Joseph White about embracing the monster within and unleashing its power against your oppressors. Perfect for fans of Gideon the Ninth and Annihilation.

Sixteen-year-old trans boy Benji is on the run from the cult that raised him—the fundamentalist sect that unleashed Armageddon and decimated the world’s population. Desperately, he searches for a place where the cult can’t get their hands on him, or more importantly, on the bioweapon with which they infected him.

But when cornered by monsters born from the destruction, Benji is rescued by a group of teens from the local Acheson LGBTQ+ Center, affectionately known as the ALC. The ALC’s leader, Nick, is gorgeous, autistic, and a deadly shot, and he knows Benji’s darkest secret: the cult’s bioweapon is mutating him into a monster deadly enough to wipe humanity from the earth once and for all.    

Still, Nick offers Benji shelter among his ragtag group of queer teens, as long as Benji can control the monster and use its power to defend the ALC. Eager to belong, Benji accepts Nick’s terms...until he discovers the ALC’s mysterious leader has a hidden agenda and more than a few secrets of his own.

©2022 Andrew Joseph White (P)2022 Listening Library

What listeners say about Hell Followed with Us

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    91
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    73
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Powerful violent intense

I'm a parent who previewed this before sharing it with my 13 year old transgender kid who likes horror movies. It is definitely a gorey horror story with lots of death. NOT for the faint of heart. AND it is a story of queer youth surviving an apocalyptic hell scape through the power of love, authenticity, courage & friendship. In real life America, many queer youth, especially trans youth have unfortunately had to face the ugly reality that some people in power will make decisions and pass laws that harm or kill them in the thinly-veiled name of religion. The profundity of this real life hypocrisy and resulting actual horror stories are fictionalized and amplified in the dystopian world created by the author. An apocalyptic genocidal death cult with "angels" serving as its soldiers are the enemy the youth resist. The metaphor was tragically apt. Queer youth need to know they can survive by leaning on one another, despite the pain and seemingly endless violence the world has in store for them. And despite the ways they are demonized. The more I think about this story, the more layered and nuanced the meaning and metaphors become. Really brilliant. My one criticism: As a mom, I had hoped the author would invent a way to resolve the situation with the mother in a less violent way....idk...I might wait a year or two before endorsing this as a read for my kid because of that part, or at least have a good conversation about it prior. That probably would be wise anyway.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Queer Rage, Chosen Family, and Religious Reckoning

LIFE CHANGING for queer kids raised in Christian homes who, like our protagonist, are forced to reckon with religious trauma and learn to redefine themselves outside of others’ expectations. Hell Followed With Us feels so fresh, so right NOW, so unlike anything I have ever read (or listened to) before. It also feels much needed. The author has their finger on the pulse of Christian fascism, a very real movement that has thrived under the recent Trump presidency. It serves as a grim warning, yet it’s also a story about overcoming impossible odds. A diverse cast of characters rallies together in a genuine and relatable portrayal of found family. The characters feel authentic and complex. The writing is top tier. I found myself so invested in the dialogue that it sometimes felt like I was right there with Benji. I laughed, paced, and felt sick to my stomach at times. There’s so much praise to give, but I’ll just say this: Every once and a while you find a piece of media that resonates so deeply that you feel like it’s creator somehow shares your brain. Hell Followed With Us did that for me. At the end of the day this is a REALLY excellent book for anyone to read but especially if you’re queer. It did something to me that I can’t explain in words. Be unashamedly gay and full of rage!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

might be better as a physical book?

some of the action scenes are hard to follow and I had to relisten to them to fully comprehend what was happening in the plot.
otherwise, it's an awesome tale for anyone looking to see the trans experience so beautiful put to words (albeit within a dystopian, hell-like future)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

WHAT WAS THAT ENDINGGGG

ughhh it doesn't even feel like a cliffhanger just incomplete. 😭 but it was a cool story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Truly incredible

Absolutely amazing- read this and cry and laugh and appreciate just how incredible world building, characters and narrative.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-27-22

A must read queer apocalypse

This book has so much good representation and such a great story. I loved it!