adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $35.00

Buy for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A heartfelt, witty, and thought-provoking YA love story about two teens who fall for each other while forced apart during quarantine, written by two New York Times best-selling authors, and for fans of Five Feet Apart, Anna and the French Kiss, and My Life Next Door

Maxine and Jonah meet in the canned goods aisle just as California is going into lockdown. Max’s part-time job as a personal grocery shopper is about to transform into a hellish gauntlet. Jonah’s preexisting anxiety is about to become an epic daily struggle. As Max and Jonah get to know each other through FaceTime dates, socially distanced playground hangs, and the escalating heartbreaks of the pandemic, they’re pushed apart by what they don’t share and pulled closer by what they do.

As thoughtful, probing, and informed as it is buoyant, romantic, and funny, Hello (From Here) cuts across differences in class, privilege, and mental health, all thrown into stark relief by the COVID-19 pandemic. Here’s a novel that looks at the first two months of the quarantine, and adds falling in love to the mess.

"Hello (From Here) isn't just a book about the pandemic." (PopSugar)
"It's also a funny, poignant romcom about the unpredictability of love in chaotic times..... Excellent." (BCCB)
"Satisfyingly banter-filled." (PW, starred review)
“Sweet.... Effectively rendered.” (Kirkus)
"Realistic." (SLJ)
"Not your typical romantic comedy, [it's] a timely update of the genre." (Booklist)
"Witty, entertaining...endearing and relatable.” (Common Sense Media)
"An unputdownable story that YA readers will adore.” (Brightly) 
“Funny, romantic, and eerily familiar.” (author Kelly Loy Gilbert)
“Witty, hilarious, heart-filled, and romantic.” (author Jeff Zentner)
"In a category of its own.... Wonderful.” (Postmedia)

©2021 Chandler Baker and Wesley King (P)2021 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"Much more than just a pandemic story, it's also a funny, poignant romcom about the unpredictability of love in chaotic times. The romantic leads are enjoyably complex, with authentic, relatable strengths and weaknesses, and their different backgrounds offer a window into how class impacts one’s ability to cope.... Ultimately hopeful while acknowledging the unknowability of the future, it’s an excellent option for romcom readers who want a realistic romantic romp for our times." (BCCB)

"A satisfyingly banter-filled rom-com told in alternating voices.... Max and Jonah’s struggles with romance, their families, and their individually complicated circumstances make for a timely story that offers a creative take on how hope and romance can persist in difficult times." (Publisher's Weekly, starred review) 

“Sweet.... Effectively rendered.... A quiet exploration of two teens going through some heady times.” (Kirkus

What listeners say about Hello (from Here)

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Recommend - humor, wit and emotion

Did this bring me back to the beginning of the pandemic? Yep. All the feels with this book - Chandler and Wesley do a fantastic job tag teaming on the story. I honestly didn’t want to work so I could listen instead. They captured teenage angst and love, the craziness and uncertainty of the beginning of the pandemic, the social and emotional issues that have always been there but are easier to ignore for some than others, all with wit, humor and emotion.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice Idea.. Could've Been Better

I was really interested to read this book because I wanted a story that can make our reality a better place to live .. it was a nice try but needed more tweaking
So the story is about Max and Jonah, both of their lives stops (and their story begins) when the pandemic hits, they meet at a supermarket and they have a strange encounter .. after that fate ( in the shape of Jonah's sister) throws them together in this weird time and their relationship blossoms during all this
I know it's a vague summary but the story had nothing going for it except that .. all of it was focused around Jonah's complaining about his dead mother (not from Covid) and Max hating this situation .. I liked Max more than Jonah but toward the end I stopped caring about them at all .. and the ending didn't help .. it was really open in the air like the authors couldn't be bothered with a real ending .. I have to say this was a really missed opportunity and I will be looking more into books like this

The narrators were nice enough .. but I preferred the girl's performance more