• Her Deadly Touch

  • Detective Josie Quinn, Book 12
  • By: Lisa Regan
  • Narrated by: Kate Handford
  • Length: 10 hrs and 53 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (585 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The woman is kneeling at a gravestone, her hair blowing in the breeze, a bunch of wilting yellow daffodils on the grass beside her. Her eyes are fixed on the ground and her mouth is parted in a silent prayer. But the wax dripping from her cold blue lips means it’s already too late to save her....

On her first day back with the Denton PD after a major trauma, Detective Josie Quinn is on the hunt for a missing woman, Krystal Duncan, the mother of one of five children killed in a devastating school bus crash. Hours later, Josie finds Krystal’s body beside her daughter’s grave, her lips sealed together forever with wax.

Forensics match the wax to one of the candles lit in memory of the sweet little souls who died, giving Josie her first lead to a support group made up of the parents who lost children in the crash. Painstakingly dissecting the lives of these grieving couples, it’s clear to Josie that each of them is hiding something about the day of the accident - but whose secret is worth killing for?

The case takes an agonizing turn when the body of another young mother is found near the site of the bus crash. Someone connected to the accident is out for revenge. As the members of the support group are picked off one by one, every second counts for Josie to save the lives of these loving parents who have already suffered the loss of those they treasured most

An absolutely gripping crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal best-selling author. Be warned, this book will keep you up all night! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine.

©2021 Lisa Regan (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Her Deadly Touch

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    459
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    443
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    410
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of my favorites!

This is now one of my favorites of the Josie Quinn series. It was super sad and kept me guessing on what actually happened with the day of the bus crash. It’s a long way from that audio version of the first book where the narrator sounded like a teenager and pronounced everything wrong. I look forward to the next book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic read in the Josie Quinn series

If you love a good mystery with an amazing back story, this is the series for you. Can't wait for the next mystery Josie finds herself thrust in.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good story but...

Warning. Book is about several parents who are suffering the death of their children.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Detective Josie Quinn

Plot. The Detective Josie Quinn series consists of several police procedurals, most involving missing or murdered women or girls. The setting is a small town in Pennsylvania. Josie's childhood trauma is interwoven into each story; we watch her character struggle with her job, love life, and the brain-twisting murders traversing the series.

Liked, Characters. Stories are initially straightforward who-done-it murders that morph into complex mysteries to enjoy. Josie's circle of friends consists of her fellow cops, the medical examiner, and her boss, each with a unique personality. Her family is initially small, but you'll see it expand as the stories progress. Not too many characters to keep track of - as they are integrated into each story. You'll have fun getting to know the characters and puzzling solutions. You'll find yourself muttering, "Wait ... what?" near the end of most books as the plots twist and surprises abound.

Not so hot. The first three books were poorly narrated by Eilidh Beaton as diction and child-like pronunciation were annoying. But stick with it as the rest are well read by Kate Handford. Production is fine, bumped speed to 1.4 - a preference, not a criticism.

The series is written by Lisa Regan and released from early 2018 through today. Bookouture published iinitially, later picked up by Hachette.

Recommended murder mysteries.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read!!

Love all these books. Always excited when a new book is released. Cant put the book down

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I’m loving Josie Quinn, but this one isn’t my fave

Reading all of the JQ books in a binge-read session (over a very short time period of just a couple of weeks), there is bound to be one that was my least favourite - sadly, this is the one. I realize this one was written and published around the time Lisa lost her father... so that probably contributed to some tough writing days and less enthusiasm while she put this one together, and I definitely didn't feel the same care in the story and love she has in all of the other books. I'm also coming back and writing this review after finishing 2 further books (I've completed book 14 at this point), so it's safe to say all of this!

This is still a solid 4-star and necessary in the progression of all of the characters and the underlying storyline, but I feel it didn't capture my attention as well as the other 13 have, didn't have the tension and the "where is Lisa taking us next" and the drama.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

I love these series, I feel like I know the characters, I get so into it. I feel like I’m there!!great job!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic

loved it as always!!! Keeps you on the edge of your seat. Great mystery writer

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Starting at book 12

I love the characters in this book. They are not perfect, which makes them believable and easy to relate to. i like the connections between Josie's struggles with loss and parents who lost their children. if only.....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ANOTHER HIT BY LISA!!!

I don't remember Lisa Regan offering a "bad" Josie Quinn story. This one is absolutely no exception. The narration is great and the story is very entertaining. Looking forward to the next release.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jaye22
  • Jaye22
  • 08-01-22

*Silencing Victims*

**4.5 Stars**

This instalment see Josie trying to move forward with her life after the devastating murder of one of her loved ones. Due to some of her actions in that case she was suspended.

Her first day back at work sees her looking for the mother of one of the victims of a school bus crash. Later that day Josie finds the woman’s body by her daughter’s grave, the woman has been posed as if in prayer, her mouth has wax dripping from her lips.

As Josie and her team try to unpick the case another body is found and the link between the victims and the surviving parents become clear. Now they need to hunt to protect the other surviving relatives and secrets about each victims are being exposed by the murderers

The race is on and at the same time Josie is struggling with her inner demons, will she ever come close to cooperating with the help that is given? …..

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs CJ
  • Mrs CJ
  • 05-24-22

An excellent addition to the series

I really enjoyed this episode, and for once JQ wasn’t required to be a physical superhero. This was a more subtle story, dealing with grief, depression and revenge, and as such I found it way more interesting. It was complicated of course, lots of twists and turns, likeable characters turning out not to be, and unlikeable or weak characters shown to be the opposite. Another great addition to this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 10-21-21

Entertaining

As I said previously, I find these long series difficult to review. I run out of things to say but the fact I’m still reading or listening speaks for itself.

That said, I think this was the best. It took a very long time to like the main character and it was the connection I was able to feel with other characters which kept me going. This time she became more human to me with some humility. The crime was also the most interesting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • Mr. S. M. Elliott
  • 08-25-21

usual quality

Another Josie Quinn tale once again the connection you feel to the characters bring this to life. Even after so many books there's still an air of freshness to each as the relationships continue to evolve.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for sarah
  • sarah
  • 08-23-21

Where’s Harris

Enjoy the DC Quinn series, yet this book was slightly different. Except for a few mentions Harris and his mum weren’t mentioned. When they had been almost living together. Also no real wedding which might have changed josie’s grief.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-20-21

Great book 📙

I loved this book. It had interesting elements to it and I enjoying it overall.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Micky
  • Micky
  • 09-26-21

How do these writers get into the head of the perpetrator

I had the think about each character carefully. The writer brought different plots and information to keep the suspense. I thoroughly enjoyed this book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tania Cusack
  • Tania Cusack
  • 08-15-21

Awesome as ever

Absolutely love Regans books as always which slowly unfold in an unanticipated way keeping me guessing til the end who did it - I never quite know - what a fabulous author and narrator too