• Her First Mistake

  • An Utterly Gripping Psychological Thriller with a Breathtaking Twist
  • By: Carey Baldwin
  • Narrated by: Meaghan Martin
  • Length: 8 hrs and 29 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (78 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Her First Mistake  By  cover art

Her First Mistake

By: Carey Baldwin
Narrated by: Meaghan Martin
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Mia covered her mouth to stop herself crying out. She hated the dark, but her mother had made her promise. But what was the point of being a good little girl if she couldn’t help her mother? She’d promised her mother not to scream, but she hadn’t promised not to escape....

To the world, Mia Thornton is invisible - a quiet, timid preschool teacher. People would never guess that she found the will to dig her way out of a locked shed when she was just six years old. That she never saw her mother again. 

Now, all Mia longs for is a normal life and friends to call her own. But when she runs into a group of colleagues one evening, she discovers that, once again, she’s been excluded. Stung at the rejection, she pockets the keys of one of the women in a petty act of revenge. Celeste Cooper is fearless, pretty, popular - everything Mia wishes she could be.

The next day, Celeste is reported missing. And Mia realizes that it might have been her fault. Wracked with guilt, she joins the search, determined to make up for her mistake. But as she grows closer to Celeste’s family, Mia can’t help but feel she’s being watched....

What if Celeste’s disappearance has more to do with Mia than she realizes? And if she keeps digging, does she risk being dragged back into the dark forever?  

Prepare to be gripped by the pulse-pounding new psychological thriller from USA Today best-selling author Carey Baldwin. Fans of The Wife Between Us, The Girl on the Train, and Gone Girl will be totally addicted to Her First Mistake.

©2021 Carey Baldwin (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

More from the same

What listeners say about Her First Mistake

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    39
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Boring!

The story was boring enough but the narrator almost put me to sleep! Her voice was monotone and she had no emotion in telling the story- I could only get through an hour or so and had to quit reading.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

started out awesome

Ended horribly. Unrealistic that the killer would confess everything. Hates the last couple chapters. Couldn’t finish them.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great driving book

It had a good story line. Some of the events were foreseeable, but others were very surprising. There were a few days when I arrived at my destination bit didn't want to get out of the car.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Unfortunately, i cannot give this book high praise

because the hype did not.live up to my expectations.perhaps i am a person who expects "a thrilling twist' is more than is given. this is some thing the author & publisher need to consider. i found the narration kind of boring, a little adolescent, & therefore doesn't meld like people thing it should, i.,e., police pause the public. Someone invested in psychology i did't find the expertise necessary to complete the plot in a believable way. this is the book i ever read where everyones input clashed.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Anything BUT "utterly gripping"

I always prefer to tell someone when they're doing something well, but in this instance, I just cannot. This book was THAT bad. The main character's choices were SO implausible that I finally gave up listening one hour, twenty minutes into the book. In addition to that, Ms. Martin's narration greatly contributed to my dislike of this book. She sounds like a little girl, which was akin to the main character's poor choices despite the fact that the main character is a grown adult. And the writing: "She said..." constantly, short sentences, and with little to no description that would lead the reader to understand any characters' feeling / depth. The whole thing fell short on every level.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

decent story

Not to heavy, decent story, several twists and turns. Nothing with alot of depth or intrigue.