• Hidden Bones

  • Detective Ellie Reeves, Book 6
  • By: Rita Herron
  • Narrated by: Tanya Eby
  • Length: 8 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (63 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The girl trips over branches, losing her footing. The darkness swallows her, and she grabs thin air as she falls, her scream piercing the night. When she slams into the bottom of the pit, her heart hammers. She can’t believe what she’s seeing—a pile of perfect white bones....

In the small town of Crooked Creek, where the Appalachian Mountains climb into the clouds, 19-year-old Mandy’s Spring Break takes a sinister turn. Detective Ellie Reeves races straight to the scene, driving through the winding roads to the abandoned orphanage.

Ellie saves the teenage girl but discovers human remains that have been there for 30 years, ever since the home for children closed down. Her heart shatters at the thought that they might belong to the helpless orphans.

Working day and night on the case, Ellie searches for the orphanage’s files, but they have been stolen—somebody is clearly trying to cover their tracks. As she interviews the residents of the mountain community, Ellie finds out that almost everyone connected to the children’s home has disappeared.

Then a woman is found dead, her body marked with a strange symbol. When Ellie learns that the victim used to work at the orphanage, it’s clear that a twisted killer is trying to stop the truth coming out.

Ellie vows to solve this case that spans decades, and, when her research into the meaning of the symbol leads her to a local business at the heart of recent controversy, she’s on the right track. Can she bring the secrets to light before another innocent person is murdered? And when she gets too close to uncovering the truth, will she survive?

A totally gripping and pulse-pounding crime-thriller that will have you holding your breath! Perfect for fans of Lisa Regan, Kendra Elliot, and Melinda Leigh.

©2022 Rita Herron (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Hidden Bones

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A pretty good listen

I was so relieved that this book attempts to treat sex workers as human and the violence is not as gruesome and exploitive as so many books. It’s told in little snippets of information that are so clipped it only barely moves the plot forward. The result is a story with very little depth but an interesting premise. I felt cheated in the end when the perp turns out to be a character that was only barely mentioned. Still, for it’s attempt at a more modern take on violence against women I’m giving it 4 stars.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wish she would fi d a different narrorator

I absolutely love this series but it had been awhile since I listened to the last one and I forgot how hard it is to push through the narrator! she speaks so perfunctory and like she is reading a script. it takes me over half the book to tolerate it and it still grates at me to the end. But Luke I said I LOVE this series. buti may have to actually read the next one instead of listen.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Author/ Bad Performance

I love Ms. Herron's stories but the performance is SO stilted that I almost completely passed on this book. So much of the story is performed in a monotone and sounds like an automaton is doing the reading.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Never disappointed in Ellie Reeves and the series. I can't wait until the next episode.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

there were so many twists and turns in this book I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. the narration was excellent and I just love this series!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love this series!

Detective Ellie Reeves is hunting a serial killer…the victims are all connected to a defunct orphanage, where human bones have been found. Can Ellie and team catch the killer before he hits close to home? Another brilliant story! Love the chemistry between Ellie and FBI agent Derrick…but feeling bad for Cord. Need next story soon!!!