Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.95

Buy for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lisa Unger and Shalini Boland comes a propulsive short thriller about a mysterious attack and a young woman who must uncover the truth to protect herself. 

Marti Greenwood has just moved into a brand-new home after a bitter divorce from her husband Emery, and while she’s still not quite done with him - of course, some of her most cherished possessions are nowhere to be found once she unpacks her things - a fresh start in a beautiful LA neighborhood is exactly what she needs. 

But days after her arrival, Marti is attacked in her home. She's found shaken and beaten, and her neighbors who immediately call the police. She never saw the face of her attacker, and so there is little to go on as detectives open an investigation - but Marti will do whatever it takes to find her assailant. 

Please note: This audio contains strong language, distressing situations, and descriptions of violence that some listeners may find upsetting. Discretion is advised.

©2021 Rachel Howzell Hall (P)2021 Audible Originals, LLC.
Rachel Howzell Hall

About the Creator

Rachel Howzell Hall is the critically acclaimed author and Los Angeles Times Book Prize finalist for And Now She’s Gone. A New York Times bestselling author of The Good Sister with James Patterson, Rachel is an Anthony, International Thriller Writers and Left Award nominee and the author of They All Fall Down, Land of Shadows, Skies of Ash, Trail of Echoes, and City of Saviors in the Detective Elouise Norton series. She is a past member of the board of directors for Mystery Writers of America and has been a featured writer on NPR’s acclaimed Crime in the City series and the National Endowment for the Arts weekly podcast; she has also served as a mentor in Pitch Wars and the Association of Writers Programs. Rachel lives in Los Angeles with her husband and daughter. For more information, visit www.rachelhowzell.com.

Rachel Howzell Hall

About the Performer

Joniece Abbott-Pratt’s numerous audiobook narrations have garnered her Earphone Awards for Tiffany D. Jackson’s Grown and Jordan Ifueko’s Raybearer, for which she also received a 2021 Audie nomination in Fantasy.
Along with a full cast, she received a SOVA for Best Voiceover Audiobook Narration for Children (Infant-12) for Garbage Pail Kids by R. L. Stein.
In addition to her work as a narrator, Joniece has worked professionally as an actor, appearing on stage and screen.
Notable stage productions include The Good Negro at the Public Theater and The House That Will Not Stand at New York Theatre Workshop. On screen she has worked on Evil, FBI: Most Wanted and Law & Order to name a few.

Featured Article: Home Is Where the Harm Is—The Best Domestic Thriller Audiobooks


Every neighborhood has a story. It could be the tragedy that took place years ago, or maybe an urban legend about that creepy house down the street. Or perhaps it's the new couple on the block who seem to be hiding something. These tales of suspense and mystery are what drive the popularity of the fastest growing subgenre of thrillers: the domestic thriller. We’ve made this list to help you choose the best domestic thriller audiobooks out there.

What listeners say about How It Ends

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,103
  • 4 Stars
    953
  • 3 Stars
    431
  • 2 Stars
    141
  • 1 Stars
    58
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,268
  • 4 Stars
    725
  • 3 Stars
    259
  • 2 Stars
    82
  • 1 Stars
    51
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,862
  • 4 Stars
    859
  • 3 Stars
    428
  • 2 Stars
    152
  • 1 Stars
    69

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a Story!

listened from start to finish in one sitting.
unpredictable.
enjoyed the narrator.
looking forward to reading and listening to more books by Rachel Howzell Hall.

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Karma Will Getcha!

This was my first suspense noval, and it did not disappoint. I am more of the historical fiction type, but this book took me on a rollercoaster 🎢 of emotions!! I listened to the entire Novela in one sitting! I loved that in the end Karma peered it's little head.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story loved it

I hate having to write 15 words to get out. hey great book very lame audible!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible narrator

Listened for 2 minutes... that was enough for me...could not listen for 2 plus hours. Sorry

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Lifetime Movie Script

The story starts out pretty good but after the attack there is doubt about the one person who has the biggest motive and is the most obvious suspect. I lost interest in the book from that point on. I had to stop my eyes from spinning out of control over the judgey friends when she buys a gun and her reluctance to call the police on a man because of his race even though she could be in danger. This could have been a decent time killer.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If you ever had a cheating ex..

Quick, easy listen; entertaining all the way. Loved it! Just one cringey moment when the narrator pronounced dingy like a small boat rather than correctly (dingy bathrobe.)

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Horrible narrator

Made it 1:30 and had to flush because of narrator. Don’t even abuse your ears this way.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVED THIS!

This is one of the best entertainment books I’ve read in years! From the narrator to the story it was truly fun! Bravo!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Listen!

I am loving this story, especially the narrator. I have to look for more work from this author.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun fun fun

Very nice pace,funny without jokes. Very surprising ending. I love finding out the right one WON!

4 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Akilah
  • Akilah
  • 12-28-21

Great short story

My first book on audible. Good narrator. easy listen. kept my attention.
Good short story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for karen
  • karen
  • 02-10-22

Beautifully read

Engaging story, beautiful narration. Really enjoyed this short story. Will keep a lookout for more.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Martha_Bee
  • Martha_Bee
  • 01-06-22

Amazing!

I love Rachel Howzell Hall and this book was even more captivating than i hoped. Really beautifully written, empowering and unique. Selfishly i would have liked it to be longer (I didnt want it to end!) but the length was perfect and I enjoyed in one sitting. The narrator was also excellent with such a wide range! I cant wait to listen to more from both!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-29-21

It's just ok

Main character undergoes a change that is not believable. Little character development of others. Rest of the story is very predictable. Fine to listen to if you're bored or need a time filler, but don't expect much