1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.50

Buy for $28.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Opposites attract in this charming debut romantic comedy, perfect for fans of Beach Read.

Event planner Kate Sweet is famous for creating the perfect happily-ever-after moment for her clients’ dream weddings. So how is it that her best friend has roped her into planning a best-selling horror writer’s book-launch extravaganza? But the second Kate meets - or rather, accidentally maims - the drop-dead-hot Drake Matthews, her well-ordered life quickly transforms into an absolute nightmare.

Drake Matthews is tired of the spotlight and tired of his reputation as the Knight of Nightmares. He's really a nice guy! But he’s not prepared for Kate, a fearless agent of chaos in steel-tipped stilettos, or for that sweet sting of attraction he feels for her. She’s inspiring him to take his writing in a whole new direction - one that no one expects. Because now Kate and Drake are changing up the rules, and this plot twist might just surprise everyone...including themselves.

©2021 Dylan Newton (P)2021 Forever
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

More from the same

What listeners say about How Sweet It Is

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    145
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    149
  • 4 Stars
    58
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    128
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great summer listen!

I rarely read and then listen to an audiobook, but this one I did and I am truly glad that I did. Both performers were great with emotions and humor and really did a fantastic job bringing the characters to life. Listening to Kate's reactions and thoughts we're actually funnier and more emotional than the book was for me. Drake's voice had me melting. It is your typical RomCon book and follows the typical RomCom story line, but listening to the story was another layer on to Dylan's expressive and fun writing. This book made me realize, that at the end of the day, I'd rather listen to books now then read them.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Event planner meet horror novelist .. sweet

Kate Sweet is an event planner, an event planner that makes “Happy Every After” .. no detail is left to chance. When Kate’s book publisher and best friend, Imani Lewis, looks to her to step in and plan famous horror author, Drake Matthews, book launch party and she must do it in 30 days. Reluctantly she agrees especially when she hears that the book has already been bought to be made into a movie and the producer sits on the board that can get her a very big and important award.

So what happened when the “Queen of Happily Ever After” meets the“Knight of Nightmares”? Well .. sparks fly, some is accidentally maimed, someone ends up in an awkward position and Drake is not liking Kate’s book launch party ideas. Finally, Kate convinces Drake that she can give him a great book launch without turning the event into a circus. To find out what happens to these 2 people guess you will just have to read How Sweet It Is.

The is a cute but predicable rom-com story waiting to become a Hallmark movie. Kate is sweet and Drake is a little bit of a hunky dork. So why only 3 stars .. this was an audiobook and the narrators were just okay .. especially the male narrator .. his reading fell flat so it lost ½ star.

I see that in May author Dylan Newton has a new book coming out All Fired Up, it is the story of Imani Lewis and Zander Matthews (Drake’s brother) .. while at times I found Imani a little irritating I just might have to read it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This is her debut novel, and I really enjoyed it!

This is Dylan Newton’s debut novel, and I really enjoyed it!

Kate Sweet is such a quirky, lovable, real character. I could definitely relate to her. Drake Matthews was a dreamy horror writer having an existential crisis and writers block, all related to his writing - what he writes and what he wants to write. Meeting Kate helped him trigger a writing spree in a new genre, and sets in motion some interesting events connected to that, while she was planning an event for the launch of his next new horror release and connected movie.

They are a great match and the chemistry between them, the hilarious story and all of the fantastic shenanigans that arise are just a perfect mix. I can’t wait to read more from her - a great new author find with a promising career!

Two new-to-me narrators (a feat in a dozen years with Audible! Seems there's a whole new batch of narrators coming up recently), that were also very good, and great for these characters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very sweet story!

The book was very light reading with a very pleasant ending. Both main characters were likeable and interesting and listening to the story made a day of house work go by quickly.

The narration wasn't bad, although the narrator's voice didn't very much between characters, male or female, and made it a bit of confusing when trying to figure out which character was speaking. All in all the narration wasn't terrible but it could have been better.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fun

this is a new author to me, I can't wait to read thier other books. a quick fun listen.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I’m sorry I pushed to finish

Both narrators were bad. the female narrator when voicing other characters would just go nasal. The writing was bad, not just unimaginative, but poorly constructed. One positive, the story was unique and included what could have been interesting characters.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

sweet story that's easy to listen

Enjoyable listen for the commute. The characters are likable and the narrators did a great job! I enjoyed how the characters and how the story developed.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not for me

I believe the reviews for this book are inaccurate! It's a genuine challenge to finish the book. "Drake" has a terrible narrator!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book but not for me

I struggled to finish it. I never got to connect to the characters so it made it hard to care about what happened to them. It's a cute story and has all the elements of a book I would love but it just wasn't it. I needed more. It's hard to even put it into words. I just needed more.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A well worth your time book

I do not write many reviews. But this was one I truly will listen too again and enjoyed. Well thought out plot.