1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

One night in December, twenty-two year old Ted Green makes his way to Waterloo Bridge determined to end his life. Lonely, despairing and utterly hopeless, it seems the only choice to make.

That same night in December, Marianne Cooper is running away from a party. Having found her boyfriend in a passionate clinch with someone else, Marianne can’t get away fast enough. But as she makes her way along London’s South Bank, a figure catches her eye on top of the bridge.

Then she sees him, a man ready to jump.

When Marianne saves Ted’s life, this night in December becomes one they’ll never forget, but as Ted watches Marianne leave in a black taxi, all he can think is he should have asked her name.

In a story spanning twenty years, join Ted and Marianne as they navigate life’s twists and turns, joys and heartbreaks, while all the time wondering—will fate ever bring them together again… Perfect for fans of Sophie Cousens and Isabelle Broom.

©2022 Clare Swatman (P)2022 Boldwood Books
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

Critic Reviews

"A beautifully written tale of enduring love" (Rowan Coleman)

"I loved How to Save a Life by Clare Swatman. Warm, romantic and wonderfully written, it's an emotional and thought-provoking read with such relatable characters." (Debbie Howells) 

What listeners say about How to Save a Life

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 07-22-22

How to save a life

Well!!
Quite different to the previous novel.
It centres on two people. Basically losers in life who for 20 years (more or less)hold out for each other while at the same time getting married and having children. But then giving them up-the marriages, not the children. In truth they are losers as they love and lose some wonderful people along the way-particularly Sam. But in the end they……well, you’ll have to read it to find out. It’s well worth a listen as long as you can overcome his somewhat dry tone. She on the other hand-and her friends-are absolutely full of life. A joy to listen to.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs K Tonkins
  • Mrs K Tonkins
  • 06-27-22

Not exactly a great love story

Listened to the end but rather painful to listen to. narrators were OK but not stunning. Rather meandering story not really love story as such.