• Huntress

  • Life After, Book 1
  • By: Julie Hall
  • Narrated by: Vanessa Moyen
  • Length: 8 hrs and 48 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (139 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Huntress  By  cover art

Huntress

By: Julie Hall
Narrated by: Vanessa Moyen
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Death was only the beginning. 

No one's afterlife is as depressing as Audrey's - at least that's what she believes after waking up dead without her memories and being promptly assigned to hunt demons for the rest of eternity. She's convinced there's been a cosmic mistake; after all, she'd rather discuss the color of her nails than break them on angelic weapons. It doesn't help that her trainer, Logan, is as infuriating as he is attractive.

When an ancient weapon of unparalleled power chooses Audrey as its wielder, attracting the attention of the ruler of Hell, Logan is the only one she can trust. With the Satan's eyes now fixed on Audrey, a battle for the safety of the living looms in the shadows.

Fans of The Mortal Instruments, Supernatural, and This Present Darkness won’t want to miss this epic story of unfailing love and adventure. 

What others are saying: 

"The romance is sweet, mysterious, frustrating, and perfect." (Jaymin Eve, USA Today best-selling author)

"Julie Hall is destined to be one of the great fiction writers of our time." (Rebecca Hagelin, best-selling author and columnist with The Washington Times)

"Huntress will have you holding your breath and falling in love." (Kelly Oram, best-selling author)

©2017 Julie Hall (P)2018 Julie Hall

What listeners say about Huntress

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    84
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    88
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    82
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not my cup of tea

There was to much religious preference in this book for me to really enjoy or like it, if it was a more neutral fictional story it would have been better but it just seem like the author was putting to much of her beliefs into the book for it to be enjoyable and fictional.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

This was such an amazing story! And the Narrator did a fantastic job bringing the story to life. I truly enjoyed experiencing this in audio format. Highly recommend.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It was really great!

It was an amazing book! Hard to put down and had a great message. Would highly recommend!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The brilliant start to an amazing series

Having read all the books in this series back when they came out on Kindle, I was THRILLED beyond compare to find out it was now on audio.

I'm always a little apprehensive about audio versions of books I love jut because I worry it won't match up to my imagination. But I wasn't disappointed. The narration is amazing. Her demon voices are great and some of her other voices (like one she does for a little girl) are so spot on, it's like she read my mind!

The first book in the series is epic, but each book that follows is better than the last. So buckle up, cuz you've only hit the first hill of this roller coaster ride!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Even better as an audiobook!

Loved this book when I read it. But it's even better with Vanessa's performance. Amazing!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing

Huntress is simply amazing. Julie Hall knocked it out of the park with this book. I could not listen to if fast enough. It was very well read and preformed. I loved it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unique & Faithful

The story line is well written and the author clearly enjoyed writing the novel. The characters were well distinguished and interwoven. The book was a bit more Faith based than I thought it would be, but in no way was it a bad thing. Definitely worth a listen or read for middle school to high school teens.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I freaking love this book

I’ll start by saying this is hands down my favorite series and I’ve read huntress several times. It took a while for me to warm up the narrator for this audio book - she could get a little robotic at times but by the end of the book she had really brought the characters to life. It was amazing being able to listen to my favorite book while driving and Cleaning the kitchen!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Must Listen

This book is a must listen to!!! I could listen to it over and over. Love the storyline. Love the characters. Love the world building.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Interesting ideas, cool premise!

Narrator did a good job; she fit Audrey’s character well, and the recording was of good quality.

Cool idea! Audrey “wakes up” in the afterlife with a sort of selective amnesia, and finds herself assigned to the hunter/huntress department. Audrey feels like she’s been assigned to the wrong department because she’s small and weak looking, seems to be of the overly girly persuasion, and it seems like she’s really bad at the training/athletic aspect. Plus, it doesn’t help that she was supposed to go through some orientation to learn about some very important aspects of the afterlife, and instead of someone telling her these important things, they just let her bumble along; those in charge of the afterlife seem very unorganized. People just don’t come clean with her; they talk in riddles, so it puts Audrey in the damsel in distress role. Audrey is likable and I can see her becoming more fierce in the future, but for now, she can be a bit bratty and naive, so that can be annoying. I tried not to be too annoyed with her since it’s not her fault that she’s clueless; the people just really suck. Overall, I found the whole premise entertaining and am looking forward to continuing on with this series. There is some entertaining actions scenes too, and there’s some interesting magical things going on in the afterlife. I would’ve liked more romance; there’s only a pinch in this book, but the story is an enjoyable one. A fun read! Hope to see Audrey growing more kick butt in the future books!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Matipufu
  • Matipufu
  • 01-22-20

hmmm

the world seems interesting and the story has potential but I'm not fond of the whole divinity thing. too much accent is placed on it. the main character seems a moany brat although she's 18. sorry but bot my cup of tea.
I've got a code from Facebook's group audiobx

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Candace
  • Candace
  • 06-07-19

So unique!

I absolutely loved this story! The story and world are such a unique concept and I loved the Christian aspect of it. It was funny, mysterious, thought provoking and challenging. I loved the authors unique take on the after life and how it blended fantasy with belief. I really enjoyed traversing this world with a very relatable main character Audrey.
The story has lots of mystery, action and a touch of romance and there is still lots to be unveiled about Audrey’s story. The writing was also great, describing the imagery with lots of detail and adjectives really helping you get into the story.
However the narrator was not my favourite, I just struggled with the tone of her voice.
But definitely a great read, I recommend to anyone who loves fantasy and is looking for something a little different.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nisareen Khan
  • Nisareen Khan
  • 05-14-19

Intriguing first instalment

‘After all this time, could it be that a mere girl would be the key to his freedom? Oh the irony. He smiled to himself. Deceiving a girl had been the start of his imprisonment. Perhaps it would also be the end.’

Audrey wakes up in the afterlife with no memory of her previous life. Before she can adapt to her surroundings, she is promptly assigned to the enigmatic Logan to be trained to hunt demons. When an ancient weapon of unparalleled power chooses her as its wielder, Audrey finds herself under the scrutiny of Satan himself who needs the weapon to escape his bondage.

Huntress is the first instalment in the After Life series and was my first compelling introduction to the author. From the offset, she drew me in effortlessly with a glimpse of a stunning world consisting of the afterlife where angels and demons battle for the souls of mortals.

The strength of the book lies in the fascinating world building that the author has managed to create. The process that humans go through after death, the empathy link that allows them to feel the emotions of others and the bond that forms as a result of one kiss.

Audrey is a flawed, relatable and appealing protagonist who the reader easily identifies with. Her journey of self discovery and spiritual awakening was a revelation to read. The chapter in which she meets God was my favourite and I genuinely welled up in places. The message being clear; that God’s love knows no bounds and that we need to have faith in the fact that everything He does is for a reason.

The secondary characters were equally likeable. Romana, Kaitlyn and in particular, the prophetess, Deborah were intriguing. I suspect we’ve only scratched the surface of Logan’s personality and I look forward to learning more about his past as well as Audrey’s new mentor, Hugo.

Huntress was a well executed and intriguing twist on the usual angels versus demons lore that I have become accustomed to. With themes of love, redemption and salvation, this was an encouraging start to what looks to be a promising series.

I received a free advanced audible copy of Huntress and I am voluntarily reviewing it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ona
  • Ona
  • 05-05-19

Love this new line of books after life

Interesting read, the characters is full of emotion and you cannot wait to find out what is next. Now I need book 2 need to know what is happening next. Also love the idea of and afterlife not waisted but something for us too look forward too