• Hush Little Girl

  • Detective Josie Quinn, Book 11
  • By: Lisa Regan
  • Narrated by: Kate Handford
  • Length: 10 hrs and 13 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (739 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Dressed in pajamas covered with stars, the little girl’s body is perfectly still, her arms folded neatly over her chest. The wildflowers decorating her hair scatter across the grass in the sharp breeze. Her lips are parted slightly, as if to whisper goodnight for the very last time....

When 12-year-old Holly Mitchell’s fragile little body is found on the steps of a mountainside church in the small town of Denton, a doll made from pine cones clasped tightly to her chest, Detective Josie Quinn rushes to attend the scene. She knows this little girl’s angelic face; her mother had offered Josie help when she’d needed it most. 

Searching the girl’s house, Josie is devastated to find that Holly’s mother is dead, too, and her little sister is missing. But why has this family home been stripped of all sharp objects? Re-tracing her steps, Josie finally finds a secret hiding place with Holly’s sister inside, terrified, but alive. Moments later, another doll made of twigs turns up.  

Certain the killer is close by, Josie holds the little girl tight and tries to coax answers from her, but it’s clear the pile of burnt photographs and letters found in the greenhouse is her only lead. No one is safe until Josie can figure out the dangerous secret that has escaped this remote family home. 

Just when Josie is finally closing in on the killer, the unthinkable happens, a tragedy that shakes her to her very core. And on the windshield of her car: a third wooden doll. Could stopping this twisted monster from taking more innocent lives come at the ultimate price for Josie?  

An absolutely gripping roller-coaster ride of a crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal best-selling author. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine. 

©2021 Lisa Regan (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Hush Little Girl

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    586
  • 4 Stars
    109
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    536
  • 4 Stars
    99
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    530
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another good Josie story

I really enjoy the stories about Josie Quinn, but would someone please tell the narrator that produce is not pronounced PRAWDUCE, shone is not pronounced SHAWN, and it’s capillary, not ca-PILL-ary. I don’t know why, but that kind of mispronunciations drives me nuts when I’m listening to a book.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Tear jerker

Even more so than the usual Josie Quinn novel, each character is dealt a worse hand than the other. No happiness lies in these pages.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOOKING FORWARD TO THE NEXT RELEASE!!!!!

What a ride this series has been! None better than Lisa Regan. Her writing talents are superior and the ability to bring life into characters are surpassed by none. Kate Handford has played a significant part in making this series successful. With that being said...I have one and only one negative remark to make in this particular story. WTH is "praduce"???? Last I checked, it was "produce". What a simple word and yet she said "praduce" every time. If you can overlook that word in the story, it was excellent.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

hush little girl is a must read

I absolutely love this book

I must admit so far I love every book in the detective Josie Quinn series
in my opinion Lisa Regan is an amazing author

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Produce

Produce produce produce produce produce. Geez. Did nobody catch that ? Is this a dialect I don’t know about? Mispronunciation drove me crazy.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I got into this book quickly, didn't love end

I occasionally have a hard time getting into an audiobook (I listen while I work), but this one caught and kept my attention from the beginning. It was a great story, the end just fell a little flat for me. The reader was easy to listen to. Overall, I would recommend this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

a wedding interrupted!

It’s finally here! Josie and Noah’s wedding day! Until the body of a young girl is discovered outside the wedding chapel...and not just any girl, but someone known to Josie! Now Josie, Noah and the team are hunting for the killer...and this one will surprise you. There’s also a huge loss for Josie’s circle...but no spoilers. Good story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Detective Josie Quinn

Plot. The Detective Josie Quinn series consists of several police procedurals, most involving missing or murdered women or girls. The setting is a small town in Pennsylvania. Josie's childhood trauma is interwoven into each story; we watch her character struggle with her job, love life, and the brain-twisting murders traversing the series.

Liked, Characters. Stories are initially straightforward who-done-it murders that morph into complex mysteries to enjoy. Josie's circle of friends consists of her fellow cops, the medical examiner, and her boss, each with a unique personality. Her family is initially small, but you'll see it expand as the stories progress. Not too many characters to keep track of - as they are integrated into each story. You'll have fun getting to know the characters and puzzling solutions. You'll find yourself muttering, "Wait ... what?" near the end of most books as the plots twist and surprises abound.

Not so hot. The first three books were poorly narrated by Eilidh Beaton as diction and child-like pronunciation were annoying. But stick with it as the rest are well read by Kate Handford. Production is fine, bumped speed to 1.4 - a preference, not a criticism.

The series is written by Lisa Regan and released from early 2018 through today. Bookouture published iinitially, later picked up by Hachette.

Recommended murder mysteries.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth repeating…..

Some of the narrator’s mispronunciations stopped me listening cold and had me shaking my head. I live in the area where Josie Quinn’s books are centered and I’ve never heard anyone call produce “prah-duce”. Other words too were prah-nounced weirdly. Having a narrator who lives in the area would do much to enhance the listening experience. Earlier books in the series were really tough to listen to because sooooo many words, place names, etc. were wildly mispronounced. This narrator is a definite improvement but should be sharper with the pronunciations of words suited for the local area.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very riveting!!!

I couldn't wait to continue listening. It had its twists and turns. Getting ready to start a new one.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs CJ
  • Mrs CJ
  • 04-07-22

Great series

I really enjoy these stories and I’m always sorry to each the end and the long wait for the next title. This was a complicated plot, and it took me ages to work out who the killer is. As always, it was great getting to learn more about the characters and who they are. Although I do get a bit fed up with Super sleuth Josie Quinn, who always goes in without back-up!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 10-21-21

Entertaining

I find these long series difficult to review. I run out of things to say but the fact I’m still reading or listening speaks for itself.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-21-21

Simply the best

Loved it, another magnificent masterpiece by Lisa Regan. Will recommend her books to anyone.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vickii gallagher
  • Vickii gallagher
  • 05-20-21

i love josie

i love josie i love noah and above all i looove lisa regan. such a good listen

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JillyB
  • JillyB
  • 04-22-21

Mmmmmm

Overall I liked this story, thought it was well plotted, guessed the guilty party but never mind that! However, at two points in this book Josie acts in a ridiculous manner. One is compounded by Noah when he drops her off at a dangerous location, without back up or a car. And the second one is to the end of the book when she goes off on her own. Madness, and NOT I would imagine in the police manual. Lots of information regarding mental illness which was strangely interesting.
Will read the next book anyway, but I do hope Josie isn’t going to become even more of a superhero who knows all the answers. Don’t like male heroes who do it all the time and feel the same way about women.