1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The explosive true story of America's most corrupt police unit, the Gun Trace Task Force (GTTF), which terrorized the city of Baltimore for half a decade.

When Baltimore Police Sergeant Wayne Jenkins said he had a monster, he meant he had found a big-time drug dealer - one who he wanted to rob. This is the story of Jenkins and the Gun Trace Task Force (GTTF), a super group of dirty detectives who exploited some of America’s greatest problems: guns, drugs, toxic masculinity, and hypersegregation. 

In the upside-down world of the GTTF, cops were robbers and drug dealers were the perfect victims, because no one believed them. When the federal government finally arrested the GTTF for robbery and racketeering in 2017, the stories of victims began to come out, revealing a vast criminal enterprise operating within the Baltimore Police Department. 

Cops planted heroin to cover up a fatal crash that resulted from a botched robbery. They stole hundreds of thousands of dollars, faked video evidence, and forged a letter trying to break up the marriage of one of their victims to keep his wife from paying a lawyer. And a homicide detective was killed the day before he was scheduled to testify against the crooked cops. 

I Got a Monster is the shocking history of the rise and fall of the most corrupt cops in America from Baynard Woods and Brandon Soderberg.

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press 

©2020 Baynard Woods and Brandon Soderberg (P)2020 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about I Got a Monster

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    209
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    189
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    190
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This aint Pablo Escobar! It’s the police!

What a book! As a retired cop reading this sent a wave of emotions through me. Cops turned dirty violate the trust of the people they are sworn to protect while also creating discord and disharmony not only their communities but because the trust in policing is so critical in a Free Society it spreads throughout our nation. This book is a must read for all, the people we police and the good police officers no work tirelessly daily to do it right.

Conspiracy, theft, Robbery, home invasions and even murder by Dirty Cops who turned into monsters themselves. Well written and gripping. Read it and try to Understand the impact bad cops have on society and the profession sworn to serve and protect.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

A bit one sided...

If this narrative had been more objective I may have enjoyed it a bit more.
Im a resident in the Baltimore area and having seen these officers working and trying their hardest to follow the guidelines of their jobs as well as trying to engage the neighborhoods they patrol, I see the bias they (the collective) must be experiencing.
They want to honor the law abiding citizens of these neighborhoods, but their positions place them in a Catch-22.
This story. albeit, may be true, does not reflect the majority of officers that have joined the underpaid and overworked force that is attempting to protect the citizens they are sworn to serve.
I feel this narrative is a disservice to the officers, men/women of all races and colors working to try to keep safe the residents and visitors of this amazing city.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Tonys review

As a retired Baltimore city detective Sergeant this book appear to be accurate in its depiction and help people understand that this job is about honor integrity and truth. And this is what happens when people lose their focus. And our job is to make people feel comfortable and safe in their environments.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Suspenseful

Very interesting read...wonder how many GTTTF cases will be overturned. Really should be a movie made from this. Seemed unreal.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Only In Baltimore.

If you live in or around Baltimore, this is a book you will get a much better understanding of what the Gun Task Force of Baltimore PD was really like.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mind blowing and entertaining

A crazy story performed really well. I culdn't put it down. It's hard to believe that this all happened so recently.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

True story that reads like a crime novel.

True story that reads like a crime novel. very well researched and written.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW !!!!!

Wow! Excellent reporting/writing. Punctuates police corruption and those allowing it to continue. I would highly recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Get Justin Fenton’s ‘We Own This City’ If You’re Interested In This Story

This book is an incoherent, confusing, and poorly read version of the same story told in Fenton’s ‘We Own This City’. Conflicting facts mentioned within a few words of each other make for a frustrating listen along with the poor reading. For fans of HBO’s The Wire and We Own This City Justin Fenton’s version of this story is reminiscent of David Simon’s writing while this book is a frustrating listen that comes across as a campaign tool for Baltimore attorney Ivan Bates.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow!

I am from Baltimore and know some of the family of one of the officers indicted. Wow. I cannot believe they committed these crimes for so long without getting caught. I'm glad they are serving time. This book gives many details that were not in the news.