• If I Never Met You

  • A Novel
  • By: Mhairi McFarlane
  • Narrated by: Sara Novak
  • Length: 11 hrs and 16 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (1,702 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Best-selling author Mhairi McFarlane returns with another heartfelt romantic comedy perfect for fans of Josie Silver, Sophie Kinsella, or Sally Thorne.

If faking love is this easy...how do you know when it’s real?

When her partner of over a decade suddenly ends things, Laurie is left reeling - not only because they work at the same law firm and she has to see him every day. Her once perfect life is in shambles, and the thought of dating again in the age of Tinder is nothing short of horrifying. When news of her ex’s pregnant girlfriend hits the office grapevine, taking the humiliation lying down is not an option. Then, a chance encounter in a broken-down elevator with the office playboy opens up a new possibility.

Jamie Carter doesn’t believe in love, but he needs a respectable, steady girlfriend to impress their bosses. Laurie wants a hot new man to give the rumor mill something else to talk about. It’s the perfect proposition: a fauxmance played out on social media, with strategically staged photographs and a specific end date in mind. With the plan hatched, Laurie and Jamie begin to flaunt their new couple status, to the astonishment - and jealousy - of their friends and colleagues. But there’s a fine line between pretending to be in love and actually falling for your charming, handsome, fake boyfriend....

©2020 Mhairi McFarlane (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about If I Never Met You

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,096
  • 4 Stars
    406
  • 3 Stars
    146
  • 2 Stars
    29
  • 1 Stars
    25
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,057
  • 4 Stars
    306
  • 3 Stars
    100
  • 2 Stars
    29
  • 1 Stars
    28
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    940
  • 4 Stars
    381
  • 3 Stars
    137
  • 2 Stars
    37
  • 1 Stars
    22

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • tj
  • 04-13-20

such a good romance?!

I'm a little picky about romance novels, so this one ended up being really special to me. it's so smart and witty and managed to pack in a lot of dynamics about women in the workplace and misogyny and men who are players... and follows through really well on all of them?! the romance was hot and I loved their power/relationship dynamic, though I could have done with more time spent with them as a couple... I loved listening to this performance too, the actress was soooo good at every accent and I was absorbed the whole time. I would recc it to anyone who digs a good, smart rom-com.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

In the vein of her other books, Total flop at the end

This is the third I have listened to by this author, and it is my least favorite. I still enjoy her amusing language and light romcom plot, but this one was too disjointed and formulaic.

This book started strong with the dissolution of the old relationship, but totally fell apart at the end. The climax and resolution made very little sense, and there were a number of loose ends. The ending didn’t receive the care that the set up did, and it made for a uneven read.

In the end, it was still a relatively enjoyable light listen, but you might want to stop before the end and just imagine the rest for yourself. It will be better than what McFarlane came up with.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

The narrator is killing me

The narration of the this book is killing me. I honestly can’t get into it...

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cute light read

I was looking for a book that was a light/soft read. This was just what I needed! Great story, narration and an all over feel good book. Worth the credit for sure!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hard to understand

It seemed like an interesting story but I couldn’t get past the accents and colloquiums. I guess it wasn’t written for Americans.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved every minute of this book

Really enjoyable read! I was laughing and upset...a little sad and i fell in love!! So good

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Give me more!

Overall, I did enjoy this book. I tried reading the text first, but with a slower start I had to move over to audible to listen. My only “negative” is that I was there was MORE information after Jaime and Laurie move to the official status. There was so much detail then it fell short as if she was just ready to finish writing. The ending also rather abrupt but leaves you curious still.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Reflective Read on Starting Over

Didn’t get all of the English colloquialism and sometimes the accents. It took untitling Chapter 10 for the humor to kick in and and universal story of relationships that made the book enjoyable and worth completing.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Definitely a must to read!!

if you’re a crazy romantic this book is definitely for you. this book had my emotions all over the place and i’m so glad i took the time to listen to it. 10/10 recommend!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Why This Book is Hard to Listen To/Read

I only made it a quarter of the way though. I am a voracious reader and wanted to like this. But the narrator was hard to listen to from the start. She did not differentiate between characters making it hard to tell who was who. Good fiction narrators don’t just read the book, which is what she did- making it bland and boring. Her emotions rarely changed and she didn’t read the characters like they were written. For example, when the character is to have spoken in a forced whisper, she read it in full voice just as loud as the rest of the narration. While her accent was a little hard to listen to, it was her invariability that made it so hard on the ears. Thus the performance was one note and detracted from the text.

Having gotten 25% of the way through this book, I feel like I could still be only on the first chapter with the small amount of info I have on the characters. The story moves soooo slowly and I’m bored. So far, the story is all set-up and little activity. Not a fan of how this author writes.

I don’t recommend this book or performance. Looking for excellent reads and narrators? Check out Abby Jimenez. In love with her novels in audiobook form.

1 person found this helpful