• Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches

  • By: Kate Scelsa
  • Narrated by: Stacey Glemboski
  • Length: 8 hrs and 23 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (36 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A witchy, atmospheric lesbian contemporary romance set in Salem—from the acclaimed author of Fans of the Impossible Life. Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Becky Albertalli.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor is the last person in Salem to believe in witchcraft—or think that her life could be transformed by mysterious forces. After losing her best friend and first love, Chloe, Eleanor has spent the past year in a haze, vowing to stay away from anything resembling romance.

But when a handwritten guide to tarot arrives in the mail at the witchy souvenir store where Eleanor works, it seems to bring with it the message that magic is about to enter her life. Cynical Eleanor is quick to dismiss this promise, until real-life witch Pix shows up with an unusual invitation. Inspired by the magic and mystery of the tarot, Eleanor decides to open herself up to Pix and her coven of witches, and even to the possibility of a new romance.

But Eleanor’s complicated history continues to haunt her. She will have to reckon with the old ghosts that threaten to destroy everything, even her chance at new love.

Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches is a romantic coming-of-age about learning to make peace with the past in order to accept the beauty of the present.

©2022 Kate Scelsa (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

More from the same

What listeners say about Improbable Magic for Cynical Witches

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly Layered and Engaging

Honestly, I thought this would just be a fun romance book mingled with a bit of fantasy. It turned out to be so much more. The characters are well developed. It ended up being suspenseful. I couldn’t put it down. Great book with a great reader.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OOF. So much teen angst

the descriptions of places put me right back onto the streets of Salem, it felt like I was walking right next to Elenore.
The author did such a great job conveying all those deeply felt emotions of a bad break up and the adter affects, while the narrator really translated that. There were times when I had to stop listening because it dragged up too clear memories of similar emotions.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely fantastic

I love this book. There was not one moment where I wasn’t completely enthralled in the story. The characters were all very interesting and diverse. One of the best queer love stories I’ve yet to read, very sweet, definitely tugged at my heart strings. I may have cried once or twice as well. Also one of the most real depictions witchcraft I’ve come across and as a fellow practitioner I really appreciated the accuracy. I would highly recommend this book to all my fellow queer witches out there, or anyone looking for a good read. Absolutely beautiful. I think I’ll be reading more from this author.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cute but just okay

Cute book. I enjoyed it, truly; but I’ll be honest and say it was just okay. This isn’t one of those stories I’ll ever read again, and I don’t think it’s one of those stories that will stay with me, either.
SPOILERS AHEAD: will say that while I enjoyed the story, I will say that Eleanor is definitely one of those characters that has a lot of maturing to do. She has a hard time taking responsibility for her actions and feels really sorry for herself for 90% of the book. A lot of the biggest parts of her story are not her fault, but she did influence their eventuality. It was difficult to have sympathy for her, such as when she stalked Chloe; she 100% stalked her and while she admits it was wrong and creepy of her, she never truly or directly apologies for it either.
Overall, just okay.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

intriguing and atmospheric

Really great story and compelling characters! I loved the personalities of all the girls in the coven, and Eleanor was (unfortunately? fortunately?) very relatable. Well written and well worth a listen!