• In Five Years

  • A Novel
  • By: Rebecca Serle
  • Narrated by: Megan Hilty
  • Length: 6 hrs and 44 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (9,091 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.00

Buy for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A New York Times best seller.

A Good Morning America, FabFitFun, and Marie Claire Book Club pick 

In Five Years is as clever as it is moving, the rare read-in-one-sitting novel you won’t forget.” (Chloe Benjamin, New York Times best-selling author of The Immortalists)

Perfect for fans of Me Before You and One Day - a striking, powerful, and moving love story following an ambitious lawyer who experiences an astonishing vision that could change her life forever.

Where do you see yourself in five years?

Dannie Kohan lives her life by the numbers. She is nothing like her lifelong best friend - the wild, whimsical, believes-in-fate Bella. Her meticulous planning seems to have paid off after she nails the most important job interview of her career and accepts her boyfriend’s marriage proposal in one fell swoop, falling asleep completely content.

But when she awakens, she’s suddenly in a different apartment, with a different ring on her finger, and beside a very different man. Dannie spends one hour exactly five years in the future before she wakes again in her own home on the brink of midnight - but it is one hour she cannot shake. 

In Five Years is an unforgettable love story, but it is not the one you’re expecting. 

©2020 Rebecca Serle (P)2020 Simon & Schuster

Featured Article: Outstanding Authors Fans of Nicholas Sparks Will Swoon Over


Nicholas Sparks is a best-selling author who’s best known for his romance novels. His writing is beloved for its descriptive, emotional, and earnest style. There’s no other author exactly like Sparks, but if you’ve already made your way through his catalog and you’re looking for more romance listens of similar appeal, here are other authors you might enjoy while you wait for the next Nicholas Sparks novel. Your new favorite audiobook might be here!

Editor's Pick

Only time will tell
"What would you do if you had a glimpse into your future and nothing was as it should be? In Rebecca Serle’s latest novel we meet Dannie Kohan, a woman who has it all together: the high-powered job, the doting boyfriend, and the locked-in future. That is, until she falls asleep and wakes up in an entirely altered existence, with a different man, and a life that she did not plan fastidiously for. From the moment you lay ears on this one you’re hooked. Voiced by Megan Hilty (#smash4eva), Dannie’s spirit is perfectly embodied. You hear her calm assuredness alongside the intensity and desire of someone who didn’t know they were lost until they were found. I caught myself holding my breath several times as she recounts the tension of idling through status quo days and ruminating on this alternate reality she can’t shake and its implications. Cancel your plans for the weekend when you press play on this one, as you won’t be able to pause this unexpected, heartbreaking love story." —Kelley S., Audible Editor

What listeners say about In Five Years

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5,192
  • 4 Stars
    2,380
  • 3 Stars
    1,070
  • 2 Stars
    298
  • 1 Stars
    151
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5,908
  • 4 Stars
    1,419
  • 3 Stars
    418
  • 2 Stars
    98
  • 1 Stars
    58
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4,328
  • 4 Stars
    2,056
  • 3 Stars
    945
  • 2 Stars
    339
  • 1 Stars
    203

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

If you want a happy story, try another book

Well the story itself is well written and engaging, it was very heart wrenching. This is not something that I was expecting from the description or the beginning of the book. It was not what I was in the mood for. If you are looking for something happy and to brighten your day, this would not be it

94 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely beautiful!

This book really wasn't what I'd originally thought it would be. It was a lot deeper.
I'm going to be honest, I cried for the entire last third of the book. This was just the best book. I loved all of the characters. Especially Bella. While I typically don't like "Bellas", this one was just a very special person. So much deeper than your average "Bella". The friendship between those two was the most beautiful thing I've ever read about.
Read this book! Your life will look so much better afterwards.

The narrator, Megan Hilty was excellent!

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Takes a turn for the predictable, characters suck.

Well you won’t see it coming, but when it happens it’s very annoying. We now know where this is going and we don’t need 7 chapters to understand the vapid under developed character of Bella is basically a manic pixie dream girl martyr who can open up our main character to the love she deserves- I guess? What a bummer to have to sit through hours of victimization of the heroine as she grapples with Bella’s condition, and what an insult to Bella when we all know why and what’s coming. Yuck. Anything for love, right? Narrator is terrible, does this constant baby voice and blubbery shaky thing as if the characters giggle when they laugh, or shakey voices when they cry. Don’t bother with this one. It was so good and fun to read for about 15 chapters and then becomes trite.

27 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Beautiful Story of Fate

The whole time I was listening to this, I kept thinking - wow, this author can write! The story is lovely, chuck full of love and friendship, and well narrated. I highly recommend it!

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A page turner

It was a great story, predictable, but great. The one thing that I found to be a bit much was the repetition of two words throughout the book.
A good read for social isolation days!

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Cheesiest story!

This book was painful to listen to and the relationships between characters were unrealistic. The two friends had overly dramatic interchanges which was exacerbated by the narrator. For fans of telenovelas only.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Words can’t say...

This lovely book hit me in the gut. A love story with so much heart and wisdom. I cried throughout. A friendship that transcends fate. So poorly stated for such an amazing book. Thank you for a big heart opening...

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worth the Read

This novel was not exactly what I expected. To be honest, I was kind of bored the first two chapters. Then the story took a twist and I was pleasantly surprised. I listened to it quickly and was hoping for more when it ended. I think those are definitely signs of a good book. I wouldn’t exactly say this is romance novel. It’s definitely not traditional by any means, but it’s still what I needed right now. It was kind of realistic about relationships with some “darker” subplots interwoven into the story, but not depressing by any means. I thoroughly enjoyed it and it was easy to listen to. Was it the best book I’ve ever read? No, but I am very picky about what I include on that list. Would I recommend it to a friend? Yes.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Interesting and enjoyable

This is an interesting book that ties together friendship, ambition, love, and loss. I thought the narrator did a very good job as well. The story unfolds nicely and kept my interest, and it doesn’t turn out how I thought it would, which was nice. I would definitely recommend it.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

I listened to the book all in one day! It kept me wanting more! Love it!

7 people found this helpful