1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.90

Buy for $20.90

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A clever, tender, and romantic "Nora Ephron romp for the modern ages" (Christina Lauren) for fans of Jasmine Guillory, Abby Jimenez, and Sophie Cousens, this laugh-out-loud debut is a perceptive reminder that fate can have a sense of humor and that love can happen...in a New York minute.

Franny Doyle is having the worst day. She’s been laid off from her (admittedly mediocre) job, the subway doors ripped her favorite silk dress to ruins, and now she’s flashed her unmentionables to half of lower Manhattan. On the plus side, a dashing stranger came to her rescue with his (Gucci!) suit jacket. On the not-so-plus side, he can’t get away from her fast enough.

Worse yet? Someone posted their (entirely not) meet-cute online. Suddenly Franny and her knight-in-couture, Hayes Montgomery III, are the newest social media sensation, and all of New York is shipping #SubwayQTs.

Only Franny and Hayes couldn’t be a more disastrous match. She’s fanciful, talkative, and creative. He’s serious, shy, and all about numbers. Luckily, in a city of eight million people, they never have to meet again. Yet somehow, Hayes and Franny keep running into each other - and much to their surprise, they enjoy each other’s company. A lot. But when Franny’s whole world is turned upside down (again!), can she find the courage to trust in herself and finally have the life - and love - she’s always wanted?

“Spins a catastrophic meet-cute into a richly realized romance that's surrounded by even more love stories - between friends, between families, and between New Yorkers and their city. You'll devour it.” (Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan, USA Today best-selling authors of The Royal We and The Heir Affair)

“A love story to friendship, discovering what - and who - makes you feel truly yourself, and New York City. I flew through this book and enjoyed every moment!” (Jasmine Guillory, New York Times best-selling author of While We Were Dating)

“A sparkling delight about found and chosen family, being brave even in the tiny moments, and the rewards we can reap when we put our authentic selves out there. What a sweet, hilarious treat.” (Christina Lauren, New York Times best-selling author)

“A frolicky, playful rom-com about finding Mr. Right when everything else goes wrong.” (Abby Jimenez, New York Times bestselling author of Life’s Too Short)

“A perfect New York romance, as sweet, steamy, and surprising as the city itself.” (Abbi Waxman, USA Today best-selling author of The Bookish Life of Nina Hill)

“If you’re looking for the perfect ‘meet cute’, look no further. Adorable banter and countless laugh-out-loud moments makes this charming romance a true delight.” (Farrah Rochon, USA Today best-selling author of The Dating Playbook)

©2022 Kate Spencer (P)2022 Forever
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about In a New York Minute

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    238
  • 4 Stars
    122
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    240
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    9
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    211
  • 4 Stars
    101
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    25
  • 1 Stars
    14

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Charming NYC Romp

A super fun read which somehow achieves being light, but still smart and well-written. I listened on my hot mom walks over spring break, devouring the whole thing in 2 days.

What I really like about this book is that the female protagonist isn’t unreliable or prone to questionable choices, which is so common in booked aimed at women. Franny is smart, charming and someone I’d want to be friends with. Hayes is obviously someone you’d want to boink, but with more depth than the love interests in some romcoms.

With relatable characters and a sparky plot line, this is a great summertime romcom. I could definitely see this being made into a movie!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great romance

This book really grew on me. I feel like you can hear some of Kate’s personality shining through. Definitely recommend!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful, fun and engaging

This book makes you feel like you’re IN New York City right alongside these characters. The writing is gorgeous and the plot is engaging and fun! Highly recommend.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Big Disappointment ! Expected more

I followed the reviews on this story and purchased based on those. This was a waste or money and time.

I am very disappointed in the performance voice overs. The storyline is very stereo-typical almost cookie cutter by design.

I will not buy another book from this author. I wanted to return it but was blocked from doing so.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a cute NYC love story!!!

So cute! The love story is real and the two sides of the story is perfect!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful story

This is so romantic and funny and so New York! Loved it, and really enjoyed the performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cute romance

Quick, delightful read. Recommend for anyone looking for an entertaining beach read. Just the kind of enjoyable distraction my rom com obsessed heart was looking for

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written, delightful rom-com, sweet not steamy

This is a story about how love can strike two people at any moment, even your worst moment. A charming story with well developed characters and an easy to follow plot that is not simple or predictable. I was so sad when it ended. If you want a light sweet read, get this book! I have already recommended it to others. Can’t wait for KHS to write another!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not Great

Cringey, slow, and bad narration. Did not care for the main characters, felt like some of the plots and characters were underdeveloped, and on a whole, this was difficult to finish.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It was fine

Not my favorite and not my least favorite. I will agree the narrators are tough to adjust to.. that wet speech is distracting at first. But this was a good book for multitasking. It didn’t require my full attention and kept me on task. Wish Franny wasn’t so clueless but.. cute plot for sure!

.