1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
In the Shadow Garden  By  cover art

In the Shadow Garden

By: Liz Parker
Narrated by: Jeremy Carlisle Parker,Xe Sands,Patrick Zeller,Christian Drerup,Nancy Linari
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $29.65

Buy for $29.65

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The richly atmospheric and luminous debut about three generations of women whose magic is as much a part of life as love, death, and the rich, dark earth beneath their feet—perfect for fans of Practical Magic and Midnight at the Blackbird Cafe. 

There’s something magical about Yarrow, Kentucky. The three empathic witches of the Haywood family are known for their shadow garden—from strawberries that taste like chocolate to cherry tomatoes imbued with the flavors of basil and oregano. Their magic can cure any heartache, and the fruits of their garden bring a special quality to the local bourbon distillery. On one day every year, a shot of Bonner bourbon will make your worst memory disappear. But the Haywoods will never forget the Bonners’ bitter betrayal.

Twenty years ago, the town gave up more than one memory; they forgot an entire summer. One person died. One person disappeared. And no one has any recollection of either.

As events from that fateful summer start to come to light, there must be a reckoning between the rival Haywood and Bonner families. But untangling the deep roots of this town’s terrible secrets will expose more than they could ever imagine about love, treachery, and the true nature of their power.

©2022 Liz Parker (P)2022 Forever

Critic Reviews

"The perfect blend of magic and mystery.”—Rory Power, New York Times bestselling author

“This beautiful, remarkable book drew me in deep with its rich, soulful atmosphere and intriguing story. Imbued with a fascinating, wonderfully unique magic, and with relationships that feel really authentic, it is at once dreamlike and genuine. In the Shadow Garden is a powerful debut and a true gift for anyone who loves a mix of witchiness, mystery, and romance.”—India Holton, author of The League of Gentlewomen Witches"

"In the Shadow Garden is an enchanting tale of witchery and wonder, of herbs and whisky, and especially of the persuasive magic of memory. A delightful debut!"—Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches

What listeners say about In the Shadow Garden

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.