• Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting

  • A Novel
  • By: Clare Pooley
  • Narrated by: Clare Corbett
  • Length: 8 hrs and 38 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (217 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Nobody ever talks to strangers on the train. It’s a rule. But what would happen if they did?

From the New York Times bestselling author of The Authenticity Project comes an escapist story that will transport you, cheer you, and make you smile—and make you, too, wish you had Iona’s gift for bringing out the best in everyone. 

“A not-to-be-missed read in the mode of Gail Honeyman's Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine.” —Booklist, starred review 

Every day Iona, a larger-than-life magazine advice columnist, travels the ten stops from Hampton Court to Waterloo Station by train, accompanied by her dog, Lulu. 

Every day she sees the same people, whom she knows only by nickname: Impossibly-Pretty-Bookworm and Terribly-Lonely-Teenager. Of course, they never speak. Seasoned commuters never do. 

Then one morning, the man she calls Smart-But-Sexist-Manspreader chokes on a grape right in front of her. He’d have died were it not for the timely intervention of Sanjay, a nurse, who gives him the Heimlich maneuver. 

This single event starts a chain reaction, and an eclectic group of people with almost nothing in common except their commute discover that a chance encounter can blossom into much more. It turns out that talking to strangers can teach you about the world around you—and even more about yourself.

©2022 Clare Pooley (P)2022 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

“A soothing story where bad things happen yet are overcome, and friendship leads the way to personal acceptance and rebirth.”
Kirkus

“Why don't I ever meet people this delightful on a train? This feel-good ensemble story will bring joy to readers who loved Anxious People and Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine—not to mention fans of quirky London-set fare such as Ted Lasso. Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting is a warm, fun pick-me-up of a book.” —Mary Laura Philpott, bestselling author of I Miss You When I Blink and Bomb Shelter  

“Pooley's grasp on the constraints and longings of the human condition proves immensely entertaining. Readers will be charmed by this uplifting, hopeful story rife with tender insights. Traveling with Iona Iverson is a literary journey well worth taking!” —Shelf Awareness  

What listeners say about Iona Iverson's Rules for Commuting

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    166
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    175
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    146
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Charming!

Really fun characters make this cozy story a must read! The narration is perfectly British.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Charming

Iona and her train gang stole my heart! Interesting characters with great story arcs. There’s something for everyone here. Excellent narration.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fantastic story with vivid characters!

I really loved this author! vivid storytelling great craft such fun characters. I would read anything by her.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lovely story!

Highly recommend! Wonderful story, lovely characters and the narration is superb and a pleasure all its own!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Story and Narration

Well written story with well developed characters. I enjoyed their individual and collective journey.

One of the best narrations I've heard

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful satisfying humorous book!

I cannot say enough about how much I enjoyed this book! Claire’s writing is witty and sharp. Her characters are well developed and you care about everyone of them. The storyline continues to unfold to encompass and connect everyone. I was sorry when the story ended.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another delightful novel by Clare Pooley

Just like The Authenticity Project, I got lost in each of the characters of Iona Iverson’s Rules for Commuting. I’m left with the feeling of knowing each character and long for one more chapter as the story comes to a close. This novel is wonderfully written and narrated perfectly. Congratulations and Bravo, Clare Pooley!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Didn’t want it to end

Great read from Clare Pooley! I just finished the Authenticity Project and was excited to read this new release. It didn’t disappoint! I loved the book. It was an easy and uplifting read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book!

Believe all the great reviews; this is a very good book! Well written, beautifully narrated.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely delightful!

Absolutely loved it! Charming, witty, and real. A engaging look at modern life and the importance of breaking out of your bubble. Highly recommend!