1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
It Will End Like This  By  cover art

It Will End Like This

By: Kyra Leigh
Narrated by: Justis Bolding,Victoria Villarreal
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $32.20

Buy for $32.20

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"...If you think you know how this one will end, I promise, you don't." (Kara Thomas, author of That Weekend and The Cheerleaders)

For fans of They Wish They Were Us and Sadie comes a propulsive thriller that reminds us that in real life, endings are rarely as neat as happily ever after. A contemporary take on the Lizzie Borden story that explores how grief can cut deep.

Charlotte lost her mother six months ago, and still no one will tell her exactly what happened the day she mysteriously died. They say her heart stopped, but Charlotte knows deep down that there's more to the story. 

The only person who gets it is Charlotte's sister, Maddi. Maddi agrees - people’s hearts don’t just stop. There are too many questions left unanswered for the girls to move on.

But their father is moving on. With their mother’s personal assistant. And both girls are sure of one thing: She's going to steal everything that's theirs for herself. She'll even get rid of them eventually.

Now, in order to get their lives back, Charlotte and Maddi have to decide what kind of story they live in. Do they remain the obedient girls their father insists they be, or do they follow their rage to the end? 

©2022 Kyra Leigh (P)2022 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

It Will End Like This is startling, propulsive, and creepy as hell. Kyra Leigh lures you into the slow-burn nightmare of two sisters navigating a family tragedy that quickly intensifies into a twisty wild ride. This book is an adrenaline-charged thriller you won’t be able to put down.” —Jennifer Moffett, author of Those Who Prey

"Fantastically twisted, with shocking reveals up until the very last page—if you think you know how this one will end, I promise, you don't." —Kara Thomas, author of That Weekend and The Cheerleaders

“It Will End Like This is heart-wrenching and honest, and I wanted to protect these characters with my life. Leigh is a talent to watch.”—Victoria Lee, author of A Lesson in Vengeance  

What listeners say about It Will End Like This

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Psychological thriller

I absolutely loved this novel. It’s a little out of my typical genre but this book changed my perspective. I love how the author made you feel for each character. Even the bad guys. It’s exciting, full of emotion and suspense. The author paints a wonderful picture of the town and people. This book will keep you riveted until the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not my favorite

I really wanted to enjoy this book, as I love the Lizzie Borden theme, but I just didn’t. The narrators weren’t bad, but their voices were so similar that it was a good thing that the chapters told you who was was who. Now, onto why I didn’t care for it.
SPOILERS:

Really, stop reading if you don’t want to know!


The whole thing could have been avoided with some basic communication. I get it, Mom was mentally I’ll and couldn’t/wouldn’t talk to the girls, but Dad could have saved himself a lot of effort (and an axe to the head) if he had had them down and talked things over.
I didn’t hate the book, it just annoyed me.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Save yourself the time

This story was not horrible, but was extremely repetitive. The constant internal dialog was so annoying. We get it, she is crazy. The ending lacks finality and leaves the reader feeling like they wasted hours of their life. Performance was okay. This was not realistic as far as the mean teen angle is concerned. No one goes that far to mess with someone. Disappointing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well! I am shocked!

I mean, I figured Charlotte always had it in her. The way she used to fight with her thoughts but Maddi? . . this was probably her breaking point. And honestly, Amber was WAY out of line. Their father should have shut that shit down early! I truly believe that no one around them REALLY cared for them in the end 🤷🏾‍♀️

4.5 stars

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read.

I really enjoyed listening to this book. I hope she writes a sequel soon.