• It's Better to Be Feared

  • The New England Patriots Dynasty and the Pursuit of Greatness
  • By: Seth Wickersham
  • Narrated by: Richard Poe
  • Length: 19 hrs and 21 mins
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Sports & Outdoors, Coaching
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (208 ratings)
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.49

Buy for $38.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Over two unbelievable decades, the New England Patriots were not only the NFL's most dominant team, but also - and by far - the most secretive. How did they achieve and sustain greatness - and what were the costs?

In It's Better to Be Feared, Seth Wickersham, one of the country's finest long form and investigative sportswriters, tells the full, behind-the-scenes story of the Patriots, capturing the brilliance, ambition, and vanity that powered and ultimately unraveled them. Based on hundreds of interviews conducted since 2001, Wickersham's chronicle is packed with revelations, taking us deep into Bill Belichick's tactical ingenuity and Tom Brady's unique mentality while also reporting on their divergent paths in 2020, including Brady's run to the Super Bowl with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Raucous, unvarnished, and definitive, It's Better to Be Feared is an instant classic of American sportswriting in the tradition of Michael Lewis, David Maraniss, and David Halberstam.

©2021 Seth Wickersham (P)2021 Recorded Books

More from the same

What listeners say about It's Better to Be Feared

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    153
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    121
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    130
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t bother if you’ve read other patriots books

If you’ve read “Dynasty” or “Brady & Belichick” don’t waste your time reading this one— it’s a carbon copy but with several factual inaccuracies. Ie: tributing credit for the trick play “fight song” to Lane Kiffin when a simple google will tell you it’s Gus Malzahn. Even worse— saying the 2018 “miracle in Miami” play was a kick return touchdown. Unbelievable how something like this can clear publishing and be so blatantly incorrect.

Lastly, expect 95% of the household player’s names to be pronounced incorrectly.

I highly recommend reading “Dynasty” as it’s the far better version of this book. Don’t waste your money on this.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

O is a letter and 0 is a number!

The content was GREAT, however the reader constantly used O (letter) instead of 0 (number). Example, "they were nine and O (oh)" instead of "nine and zero".

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Seems like a love story

I can’t help but feel that TB12 funded this book, with “Tommy” as Seth’s hero and Belichick ad his villain.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Brady good. Beliciek bad.

Decent. Lot of mispronunciations of names and the such by the narrator. Didn’t like how skewed the book seemed. Heard most of it before. It’s entertaining though.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love

A well written book that kept me engaged throughout. I was so sad when it ended.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen for any football fan!

The book is a great and easy listen. As a Patriots fan I loved hearing the backstory of the building of the dynasty. I knew many of the stories but I even gained some insight to Brady’s mindset. The only complaint I have with this audiobook is the performer. He mispronounced player names and had an awkward delivery with team records. This is the only flaw in an otherwise wonderful book. I fully recommend to any football fan, or anyone that loves to gain insight to the dynamic relationships between driven and successful persons.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible

As a 75 year old lifetime football fan & also a fan of Tom Brady, Bill Belichick and the New England Patriots I couldn’t quit listening,… what an amazing history lesson,… and the good news is that history will be made a few more years before Tom Brady and Bill Belichick hang up their cleats for good.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Tedious use of unnecessary political opinion

This would be excellent. It’s insightful, interesting and in-depth. It would have been 5 stars across the board but the writer insists on taking shots at Trump where ever he can. Even citing stories that have since issued clarifications or retractions. I don’t even like Trump, but this dudes political axe grinding wore me out. He just couldn’t help himself, and the woke politics are a bit distracting to an otherwise fascinating story. It’s still worth suffering through it, but it could have been so much better.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The inside scoop for Pat's Nation and the haters!

Awesome read and very insightful into the greatest sports team in history!!! The author hit all of the highlights about the Patriots and gave so much inside information. A must read for any football fan!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RR
  • 11-02-21

Most Recent Info since Brady left. Good Book

This book is the most recent Patriots book since Tom Brady left the team for Tampa Bay. The author has a long history with the team and states he had access to emails, team officials, and other coaches. I enjoyed this but have heard a lot of the information before from other sources. I did learn some previously unknown information about Brady, Kraft, Bellicheck, and the team/NFL. I've played, coached, broadcasted football. throughout my life and have studied/followed the game and this team since childhood. I definitely recommend this book.