• Kiss Her Goodnight

  • Detectives Kane and Alton, Book 15
  • By: D.K. Hood
  • Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
  • Length: 9 hrs and 1 min
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (137 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She glances around as she locks the café door behind her. It’s growing dark, and the quiet street is deserted. Tired, she starts on her short walk home. She thinks she’ll be safe inside within minutes, but the person watching from the shadows has other plans for her tonight....

When the body of a young woman is discovered in a local playground in the center of Black Rock Falls, Sheriff Jenna Alton and her deputy, David Kane, rush to the scene. Jenna recoils with horror when she sees the body, dressed in a thin nightgown, her face covered by a terrifying Halloween mask.

When the body is examined, red puncture marks are uncovered along her spine. Jenna makes a connection with a cold case where the killer tortured young women for years and was never caught. If the murderer has started killing again, Jenna knows it’s only a matter of time before another body is found.

Days later, when another victim lays slumped against the fence of a local landfill site, with the same puncture wounds and macabre mask, Jenna’s fears are confirmed. A serial killer is back in town, and they’re picking off women one by one.

Then, as a third body is found, Jenna finally gets the breakthrough she needs. Dirt found underneath the women’s fingernails leads to a dangerous cave network in the mountains outside town. And once Jenna ventures into the dark, winding underground tunnels, will she find the person responsible for the deaths and take them down, or has she just walked into the killer’s trap?

Fans of Lisa Regan, Melinda Leigh, and Kendra Elliot will be gripped by this crime thriller from USA Today best-selling author D.K. Hood. Prepare to stay up all night!

©2022 D.K. Hood (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Kiss Her Goodnight

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    104
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Serial killer central!

Once again another serial killer has taken up residence in Black Rock Falls. The home of Jenna Alton and Dave Kane. This is book #15 in the series. Although each can be listened to as a standalone I prefer listening to the series in order. There are continuing relationships and I like listening to them in the correct sequence. But if you’ve never listened to any books in the series it’s fine to begin with this or any of the other books.
Black Rock Falls seems to be serial killer capital and more serial killers are drawn to this area then any other in the world it appears. I hope D K Hood decides to change her format in the near future as her books are beginning to sound redundant. I think Hood is a good author but aside from the name of the killer, his method and reasoning the books all follow the same basic template. I enjoy her books because they are pretty light and move along at a good clip. I like listening to her books in between listening to heavy more intense books.
There are a few twists in this book and a deputy that went missing a year ago (in the book) is finally located and she is lucky to be alive! Her means of survival is cringeworthy!!
Patricia Rodriguez does a good job narrating. I do find her to over dramatize and read a little on the slow side so I listen to any book she narrates on 1.3 speed.
I recommend this book for anyone looking for a light listen that is still a mystery.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh My!! Kane and Jenna. DK Hood

Absolutely love DK HOOD!! I didn't want this story to end or shall I say the boom to end. Oh and I can't wait to see what happens with the home wrecker on book 16!!! Keep the stories coming!!
If you're new to DK HOOD I would highly suggest starting with Book one and reading the series in order. You definitely don't want to skip books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Horrible narration idiotic story

I was extremely dissatisfied
The story is slow and rather absurd. The narration is horrible

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love Alton and Cain Series.

I love DK Hood’s Alton and Cain series. They are well written, easy to follow, keeps you guessing until the end. I can’t wait until the next release. The narrator does a fantastic job. I highly recommend all the books in this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great book

I really enjoyed this book as I have all of DK Hood's books highly recommend it and cannot wait for the next volume in the series

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great series!

Another hit story in the series! I love the character development, especially the supporting cast. Can't wait for the next book!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator…

Books would be so much better with a different narrator! She is like nails on a chalkboard!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • MB
  • 06-04-22

Just a bit to overly dramatic!

The bride doesn’t want to leave a murder with well trained people, the honeymoon couple don’t check the weather before they go away and people who live in florida know that hurricanes don’t happen like this! Jenna turns into a terrified wimp …….
Good murder mystery, but way to many unstable personalities! Dissapointed☹️

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A wedding and dead bodies

Black Rock Falls has been quiet for a while…no serial killers on the horizon so it’s time for Jenna and Dave’s wedding!!! Of course, that jinxed it…now Jenna, Dave and the team must solve some gruesome murders. We finally find out whatever happened to the new maneater deputy, Poppy…and it’s a doozy! Another great story in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 07-08-22

this will have you on the edge of your seat

great narrator for another great book by DK Hood. love the characters you really get to know them throughout the series you will not want to put the book down as it's reaches its exciting conclusion. bring on the next one!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Icing3
  • Icing3
  • 06-03-22

good series spoilt by performance

narrator spoilt it for me by over acting the characters. I change in narrator next time please