adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Can you be faithful to God when your experiences don’t match your expectations? 

Based on the true story of the charismatic leader of the Sunshine Rescue Mission, Larimer Street is the triumphant, epic tale of one man’s courage and redemption through his weaknesses and failures. There is power in going through - in surviving. And in the final analysis, losing some battles but winning the war. 

Larimer Street, downtown Denver, 1907 - Jim Goodheart, a tall and handsome man, loses everything. Staggering in drunkenness and desperation on a dark night in November, he decides to drink a bottle of carbolic acid and make room in the world for a better man. Jim stumbles onto the doorstep of the rescue mission on Larimer Street, Denver’s skid row. 

In spite of Jim’s lifelong battle with alcoholism, by divine redemption, he becomes known as the captivating leader of the Sunshine Rescue Mission. Through World War I and the horrific 1918 influenza epidemic, the mission serves the destitute in an era without safety nets or social programs. The pain of WWI and his personal war against alcoholism brings him to the point of losing it all again, except his loving wife, Ada, and his faith. 

Larimer Street is a story of courage and redemption. It is not a story of Jim’s success over his challenges, but a story of triumph through his weaknesses and failures.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, faith, and love.

©2021 Timothy Browne (P)2021 Timothy Browne

What listeners say about Larimer Street

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I laughed and cried both!

I laughed and cried both! As a Denver Metro resident that loves the history of this area I saw much of my grandpa in this story that also lived in Denver in the early 1900's. I drive many of the streets daily including Larimer and pass the Denver Rescue Mission. I thoroughly enjoyed listening. Thank you for writing this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I wish I could give a ten star review

Don’t read (or listen to) this book unless you are prepared to be swept away in the true story of a man who trudged through the storms of life while feeling unworthy, not knowing he was leaving footprints behind him.
This book has everything. It is a bit earthy (I was a little uncomfortable at times.). It is historical. It reads like a novel and yet is a biography. It is insightful. And you can’t read this book without being inspired. Everyone who reads this book will be a better person for it. I consider it a masterpiece because it has all the elements of a truly well written book. The narrator is amazing and even has a good singing voice. His pace and inflections are some of the best I have heard on Audible.