adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B0821SC3ZP

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.99

Buy for $29.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Humanity falls...

Trapped in the shower by her undead husband, Morgan prays for rescue but quickly realizes she's on her own. She escapes, only to find that the horror has spread and now threatens everything she holds dear. With each passing moment, death becomes more certain.

Logan returns to his childhood home and teams up with Max, an army deserter racing against the clock to save his family. When the infection outruns them, they face the real possibility that everyone they know is already dead. Or worse, undead.

All it takes is one mistake. As the sun sets against the backdrop of the African veldt and living nightmares walk the streets in the shape of their loved one's bodies, humanity's last hope rests in the hands of ordinary men and women called to do extraordinary things.

For fans of The Walking Dead, Dawn of the Dead, and all things zombie comes your next obsession, a thrilling series that you won't want to end. This is book 1 in the Dangerous Days series and packs a serious apocalyptic punch!

©2016 Baileigh Higgins (P)2018 Podium Publishing

What listeners say about Last Another Day

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    290
  • 4 Stars
    103
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    11
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    285
  • 4 Stars
    80
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    259
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    11

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

I really wanted to like this book.

I gave this book more of a chance than most books. Mainly because it was by a foreign author, and set in South Africa, but unfortunately it was a let down. I could not finish it.
Now it started off good, with a lot of potential, but drifted away further, and further. I love this genre, and all the Morality Tales they tell, but it's a story still, and needs to be told properly.
Terrible character development, who's who, nobody knows.
The straw that broke this story's back was the sex scene.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Great start to a new series, I do love all things zombie. I was hooked in right away and didnt want it to end. I hope they release the books close together.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story bad accents

Good story but the South African accents were very bad. Why not just get a South African to read it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really enjoyed it

This is a very enjoyable listen. Great zombie outbreak entertainment! Well told story with good character development. Non stop zombie action. I cannot wait for the next in the series! I recommend listening to the prequel in this series as well. I really like this author's writing style. The narrator did a great job with a wide range of characters and accents. His voice is pleasant and adds to this audio book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Usually not something I like but

I originally got a free exclusive audiobook that was released through another company that is a prequel to this story and I absolutely enjoyed it which is strange because I dont like post apocalyptic stuff or zombies. I like my vamps but not this so I had to pre order this one. I believe if you look on the on the page under the authors name where you see the title and click the title series link on audible it shows any books listed or soon to be listed including this one and as the one right under this one which I believe is book 1 you'll see that prequel I was talking about hopefully Audible will get in gear an get it for everyone so you can enjoy it as well!!!:)

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

They are all right......

Killing the one character that is actually interesting is not a good career move. Great story until like the other reviewers said- it just died. Stupid waste of time. I’ll definitely listen next time!! Don’t waste a credit!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t make it till the end

This story was just so all over the place I couldn’t follow it. I tried but it was just irritating so I returned it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It's OK

It's ok. If you have something else in your wish list you might want to go with that.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Snooze

Very slow. Poor character development. Not sure what I can say other than I wish hadn’t wasted my time or money.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I think I'll look elsewhere for...

... a different story.

This is just another Zombie story.
Same type of story, different location.
Truly a sleepy time book, that will make you snooze.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for dee
  • dee
  • 09-25-21

Zombie soap, complete with clothing obsession!

I quite liked the short stories of the prequel, but this full length novel isn't good.

The narrator's voice is annoying, with pauses at strange moments and oddly emphasised words. I tried speeding up the reading to 1.05 and that helped a bit.

The writing is full of purple prose, whilst the focus on what women are wearing is both ridiculous and annoying, (kitten heels in the apocalypse, anyone?) I was also confused about where Julienne would get a black dress from, not to mention why on earth dresses would be appropriate attire under any circumstances in the ZA!

People behave in ridiculous and contradictory ways that are both foolish and lack realism. Women are consigned mostly to caring and domestic roles, apart from the odd obligatory 'Lara Croft' stereotype and an unconvincing psychopath. Black characters, meanwhile are reduced to nothing more than background fillers, with brief descriptions of 'ebony' skin so we know, 'hey, that person is black'!

To sum up, this is written like something a half-bright teenager would create and is, likewise, full of adolescent fantasies. (The sex scenes are so cringeworthy that I actually fast-forwarded!)

It's a shame, because there are odd moments that are quite good - the episodes at the kindergarten and the refugee camp are well done. Sadly, however, these flashes of better writing are few and far between.

I am even more frustrated by the fact that I may feel compelled to waste a credit on the sequel as I hate leaving a series unfinished, no matter how awful. I am currently exercising restraint, but I will only have myself to blame if I actually spend good money to read the next instalment of this badly written zombie soap opera!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicole Roberts
  • Nicole Roberts
  • 03-18-22

Loved it.

As zombie fiction goes, this audiobook was fantastic. Engaging. Frightening. Fast paced. The narrator breathes a compelling life into the various stories and characters. Highly recommend

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-30-22

Great book. Already bought the sequel!

Don’t need me to say anymore!! Great characters and story lines. Looking forward to a long drive to listen to more.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tamsin
  • Tamsin
  • 12-28-21

bad accents, brilliant story

It loses points for the awful accents, but apart from that, the overall performance is good. Really enjoyable story and I love that it's set in South Africa rather than the US. I enjoyed it otherwise.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mr peter a r pryde
  • mr peter a r pryde
  • 12-13-21

meh

bit slow, typical story. if you get it for free it's worth a listen but I would have probs given up halfway through if I had used a credit

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard Winnington
  • Richard Winnington
  • 12-01-21

Compulsive listening but…

A good gritty story, it's always good to hear tales from elsewhere. Quite gory, which is expected from this genre. Irritated by this current trend to label each chapter after a character.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denise field
  • Denise field
  • 11-16-21

zombies with serious body odour!

what a fabulous 👌 second part.
yes it's ANOTHER zombie story to add to the already over flowing zombie apocolylpse genre. but its a simple story with characters you go "ooh when something awful happens"
Well, at least I do.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rheanna Gibson
  • Rheanna Gibson
  • 11-06-21

enjoyed this

over all I enjoyed this but there are a few issues.
I still can't decide if that soldier was Irish or Scottish and as a Scot its so annoying hearing a muddled attempt.
it's predictable in places but I still enjoyed it but wasn't pleased with the last death twist. hopping the next will be a better.

1 person found this helpful