1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.27

Buy for $27.27

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the August Derleth award, Last Days is a chilling and terrifying novel from master of horror Adam Nevill.  

The Temple of the Last Days. The brutal cult with a history of murder, sex and occult dealings destroyed itself during one night of ritualistic violence decades ago. Or so they thought....

Kyle Freeman is an indie filmmaker with no money and few options, so when he lands a commission to make a documentary about The Temple of the Last Days he jumps at the chance. Little does he know that his investigation into the cult's bloody history will lead him into the darkest places he's ever been. As they travel from London and France to Arizona tracing the path of the cult, uncanny events, out-of-body experiences, ghastly artefacts and visits by the merciless 'old friends' plague Kyle and his one-man crew. They soon discover the power of the cult's terrible legacy and that it may be too late for them to escape....  

©2012 Adam Nevill (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

“His previous novel was the superb The Ritual, but with Last Days he's gone one better. This is riveting, and Nevill is fast becoming Britain's answer to Stephen King.” (The Guardian

“Taking its cue from real-life cults Last Days is an effectively creepy novel that will leave you sleeping with the lights on.” (SFX)

What listeners say about Last Days

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pointlessgods
  • pointlessgods
  • 12-21-19

On par with the ritual if not better.

Hooked from start to finish a great story dark and disturbing great narration nevill has a fantastic knowledge of the ocult and it shows in all his work by far the best out of the 3 books he has released recently..

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Munny
  • Munny
  • 01-12-20

Genuinely frightening

It’s not very often a book has me on edge throughout each chapter, I could not stop thinking about what is going to happen next and to whom! Narration by Chris Dickens is superb as Kyle’s building fear and desperation is felt with each location he travels, this book really has it all and is definitely one of the best horror fiction, if you’ve read The Ritual you certainly enjoy this.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for a.k.
  • a.k.
  • 09-23-20

Ruined by narrator

I really should have returned this but I was filled with ennui. The story is passable even if the characters have absolutely zero internal lives but the whole experience was ruined by the narrator. Everything from the nasal, thin tone of his voice to his utter inability to distinguish between the two lead characters; apparently a young film director and aged film producer can share the same exact voice. And I won't even go into his inability to pronounce certain words (listen to his 'raison d'etre) or terrible French... accent, if we're to call it that. I will have to make a note to check and avoid anything narrated by this person in future.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ms. Ruth Messenger
  • Ms. Ruth Messenger
  • 02-01-20

I slept with the light on for three nights

I really enjoyed this horror, genuinely scary! Fingers crossed I can go to sleep tonight...

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam Jones
  • Sam Jones
  • 09-13-20

A good horror story

A great story and a great narrator. A few odd pronunciations made me laugh but all in all the narrator brought the story to live.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ann
  • Ann
  • 11-01-21

Epic!

God, this was so immersive! not only was it a feast of words that was so enjoyable to listen to; but it was epic in depth of story. I was bereft when it ended. This is a fantastic listen!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rod
  • Rod
  • 02-27-21

I liked it a lot

Worth it for the parts that scare. It takes a real master to conjure scary scenes in modern world where we are all over exposed to intense horror ranging from movies to social media.

I think the late James Herbert would have struggled writing for the audience of today. When he wrote there was still an innocence in the world which longer exists.

Adam perfectly describes our primal fear which is the dark, the unknown and lack of control of our surroundings. Extremely well captured,

Aspects of the story though were slightly muddled and there was scope for further character development.

There are gaps in the who, what and why. But I think it’s because I was so engaged with the book I found myself wanting to learn more.

I don’t want to be over critical of the ending as it is incredibly difficult to create the perfect conclusion. It left me feeling that there should have been more.

The narration was superb and really brought out the atmosphere and emotions with the story exceptionally well. I’ll listen to more books read by this narrator.

Definitely recommend this book to seasoned horror fans down to someone looking for a different genre.
In unlikely realm that the author reads this review, I would ask Adam if he can write an apocalyptic book similar to 28 days later. I think he would be perfect in that space and his imagination is unreal.



1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Damien Burke
  • Damien Burke
  • 09-10-20

Slow progress, strong finish

Over descriptive sometimes which dragged scenes on for longer than necessary. The latter stages of the book however, were very good and gripping. Redeemed itself.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kit tinsley
  • kit tinsley
  • 01-03-20

Awesome book

A really great and creepy novel by Adam Nevill, brought wonderfully to life in this audiobook. Highly recommended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JM
  • JM
  • 04-07-22

Really gets under your skin

This book genuinely gave me the creeps and I'm not one that gets scared easily. This is definitely a slow burner but really enjoyable and it kept me hooked throughout. My only grievance with this book without spoiling anything is that the ending is really abrupt, not just abrupt but jarring.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-03-21

Brilliant creeping horror

Loved the narration and was so refreshing to read a horror book set in the UK. Really enjoyed it- for fans of King, Lovecraft, Laird Barron, Nick Cutter.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-18-21

Even better than The Ritual

A great read for any fan of supernatural horror. The drip feed of exposition about the cult kept me entertained and there were plenty of tense, chilling moments.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marina Schnierer
  • Marina Schnierer
  • 12-18-20

Chilling from start to finish!

Last Days was a great book to listen to on my evening bush walks. The narrator did a fantastic job of creating, mood, atmosphere and dread from start to finish. I now want to listen to more books by Adam Neville, hopefully with the same narrator.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-23-20

Dissapointing ending

Starts off so promising but the ending just gets ridiculous. I love this author and the narrator was great, but ending really let it down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alex
  • Alex
  • 06-10-20

genuinely good book

I listened to "the ritual" first after watching the movie and really loved it so thought I would give this one a go, was definitely not disappointed! good pace and scary from start to finish. Adam Nevill is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-22-20

Chilling,simply a must for Creature Horror lovers.

This is my second Nevill novel after the Ritual and was wondering if the terror I felt for the characters and love for his style of horror in that one a fluke or a one off, boy was I wrong. I'm an avid reader of horror fiction and not much really gets to me or is genuinely different when you read/ listen to a lot. However in "Last Days" Nevill has a genuine talent for not just presenting a well constructed and skillfully written narrative but for the believable lore and chilling characteristics of the mysterious horrors he portrays including completely original details and ideas you discover along with the characters as they make the documentary that genuinely made my eyes open wide. Nevill has a gift for letting you see, feel, smell the atmosphere of tension which is often gritty and claustrophobic in some cases, or detailed and information filled in others, Nevill puts you in this story, (Perfectly narrated by Chris Dickens) I couldn't help but think I was part of making this documentary after many hours in, the 3rd Crew member. I empathized every moment with what they were going through. It kept my headphones glued to my ears and my heart racing throughout.

My only fault would be I'd say it could have been slightly shorter, but aside from that this was a truely gripping, terrifying and in parts disturbing read into firstly a Disturbing Cult, its sociopathic leader and her and the followers grizzly end and it's documentary investigation which leads to much more under its necrotic and rotting surface ....
Well recommended for lovers of Creature Horror, Occult Horror and Investigative Thriller/ Murder Mystery genre fans . Not for those seeking lighter reading/ ie no violence