• Last Place You Look. A gripping police procedural crime thriller

  • Butler & West 1
  • By: Louisa Scarr
  • Narrated by: David Wayman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 39 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.71

Buy for $18.71

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"The man you love has been murdered. You'd do anything to find out the truth. Wouldn't you?"

A man lies dead in a hotel room, and the police attend his home address to inform the widow. Nothing unusual, until DC Freya West realises that the victim is the man she has been having an affair with. The future she imagined has been snatched away.

Meanwhile, her new boss, DS Robin Butler, is preoccupied with his own problems. Mistakes he thought were buried deep in his past now threaten to be exposed. Before long, both Butler and West are keeping secrets that could end their careers – and worse.

When the detectives have a chance to tell the truth, they choose to keep quiet. But once that line is crossed, is there any going back? After all, breaking the law is easy when you know how to uphold it.

Don't miss this tense and compulsive police procedural thriller. Perfect for fans of Sunday Times bestselling authors Cara Hunter, Susie Steiner and Jane Casey.

©2021 Louisa Scarr (P)2021 Louisa Scarr

Critic Reviews

This is punchy, police procedural stuff: just as her protagonists don't play by the book, so Scarr takes the traditional set-up into darker, dirtier, more intriguing terrain.
-- Hampshire Living

A superbly crafted, perfectly paced thriller... The fact that Butler & West have just as much to hide as the people they hunt, makes this such a compelling read, and the start of a captivating new series that's hooked me in from the very first book.
-- Robert Scragg, author of All That Is Buried

The delicious joy of discovering a brilliant new crime series! ... Our detectives, Butler and West, are a duo for our days; bound by their troubles, loneliness and secrets into an unlikely alliance. You'll fall for them, and this novel, in a big way!
-- Jo Furniss, author of All the Little Children

Tightly plotted with superb characterisation... It's a book you won't be able to turn away from until you reach the very last page.
-- Alison Belsham, author of The Tattoo Thief

Fantastic story and characterisation with a pair of detectives who are battling their own demons amidst an apparent suburban suicide.
-- James Delargy, author of Vanished

What listeners say about Last Place You Look. A gripping police procedural crime thriller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • AR
  • 07-28-22

They are all guilty of something.

Even though it was a basic story, it was enjoyable and easy to follow. The killer wasn't a surprise to me, but with most of the characters being messy and out of order, it could have easily been anyone.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

oy vey

wooden, lifeless characters. predictable story with some poorly considered elements to the murder, which made it ridiculous. done with this author and.very glad this selection was free.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Camille
  • Camille
  • 08-03-22

Great story well written with surprising twists & turns

This was the first time I’d read a book by Louisa Scarr I thoroughly enjoyed it and will definitely read more of her work

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for joanne hursey
  • joanne hursey
  • 04-24-22

Good book

The only thing that is annoying is when the book has been edited the sound is completely different just a small thing that is a bit annoying

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-03-22

brilliant book

one of the best books I've listened to for a long time. The story is interesting and has twists and turns along the way. Good narration. Excellent book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 01-18-22

An absolutely brilliant crime thriller

This is so different from any other crime thriller I have read or listened to. Brilliant twists and good main characters . The audiobook narration was perfect. A great debut book and now about to buy the next in the series .