adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A Good Morning America Buzz Pick
A Can’t-Miss Beach Read For Summer 2021 from The Skimm

A Best Beach Read of 2021 from Bustle
A Best Summer Read of 2021 from PopSugar

A family reunion for the ages when two clans convene for the summer at their beloved getaway in the Catskills - perfect for fans of Dirty Dancing and The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel - from the acclaimed author of The Floating Feldmans.

In its heyday, The Golden Hotel was the crown jewel of the hotter-than-hot Catskills vacation scene. For more than sixty years, the Goldman and Weingold families - best friends and business partners - have presided over this glamorous resort which served as a second home for well-heeled guests and celebrities. But the Catskills are not what they used to be - and neither is the relationship between the Goldmans and the Weingolds. As the facilities and management begin to fall apart, a tempting offer to sell forces the two families together again to make a heart-wrenching decision. Can they save their beloved Golden or is it too late?

Long-buried secrets emerge, new dramas and financial scandal erupt, and everyone from the traditional grandparents to the millennial grandchildren wants a say in the hotel’s future. Business and pleasure clash in this fast-paced, hilarious, nostalgia-filled story, where the hotel owners rediscover the magic of a bygone era of nonstop fun even as they grapple with what may be their last resort.

©2021 Elyssa Friedland (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Two families agonize over whether to sell their once-successful Catskills resort. Last Summer at the Golden Hotel promises snark, sass, and sunshine-filled fun." (Bustle

"Friedland brings two families full circle over the fate of a storied hotel they've owned together for three generations.... Old tensions and new romances arise as they decide if the nostalgia and storied legacy of the hotel can save it, or if they're having their last summer at the Golden.... Episodes of intergenerational disconnect contrasted with unshakeable family bonds make Last Summer at the Golden Hotel a great choice for fans of Schitt's Creek and feel-good family dramedies." (Shelf Awareness) 

“You will laugh out loud at the antics of two delightfully dysfunctional families as they fight, share secrets, and fall in love in the once-prosperous Catskills hotel that they own. Once again, Friedland brilliantly wields her rapier wit - if Dorothy Parker and Joan Rivers wrote a book, this would be it!" (Fiona Davis, New York Times best-selling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue

What listeners say about Last Summer at the Golden Hotel

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    426
  • 4 Stars
    210
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    517
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    352
  • 4 Stars
    200
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    8

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very frustrating and confusing

I appreciated how this story was very warm, nostalgic, and reminiscent of a bygone era. The setting was so vivid that I felt like I was actually at the Golden Hotel throughout the entire book. That being said, I honestly did not find one character likeable. I was especially annoyed with the way the millennial characters were described, I felt that they were more so depicted as caricatures. Phoebe is described as the woefully out of touch with reality "influencer", always snapping photos of random things for her insta feed. Zack is the "pot head" that lives in his parents basement and spends his days playing video games. His mother once described him as "always hungry, probably because of all the pot he smokes" which just leads me to believe that the writer doesn't actually know anyone that smokes pot and just made Zack into a stereotyped pothead. Michael is the only gay character that just so happens to be a theater major. Because apparently gay people ALWAYS love to sing and dance. Why couldn’t his character have been the one working hard in med school? I found myself rolling my eyes over and over every time one of the "millennial" characters said something idiotic or acted entitled. I also found a huge discrepancy in the character development. Certain characters were described to be one way and then would just show up in the scenes acting 100% different. For instance, Greta, secretly called “greeda” by her in laws is described as being a money hungry trophy wife that is addicted to plastic surgery. She literally shows up with bandages on her face from her latest surgery and in the next scene she is suddenly the most selfless characters with deep, wise advice to share? Make it make sense!! I was disappointed because I really felt like this could have been a good story but it fell flat for me.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Dirty Dancing Nostalgia at it's best!

I'd give 10 stars if I could. Julia Whelan is on point, as usual, and the story flows effortlessly. So much love for the Catskill's, Kellerman's Resort is still inspirational after all this time!  This family's love, honor, and tradition radiates through Julia Whelans portrayal of the characters. This author is new to me but this book has made me a fan! Smile on my face, laughing out loud, and tears in my eyes kind of book, I didn't want to stop listening. Oh how I wish this was a Series and there was a continuation of this beautiful story. God I love Grampa Amos and Grama Fanny! Amos, Fanny, Bernie, Louise, Amy, Brian, Peter, Greta, Maddie, Zach, Michael and Phoebe I will miss you all!! Buy this book, you will be so glad you did!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Laughed out loud!!

This book is Funny, heart warming, and a
lovey read!! I definitely recommend reading it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Necessary Nostalgia

Personally, I am wishing for simpler times, when families could afford a vacation (even camping) and there was a true sense of community and tradition. It would be amazing to have a week in the Catskills, learn the foxtrot and fall in love.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great easy fun read

Loved listening to this audio book. There were unexpected laughs throughout the book. Great storyline.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Light-hearted summer read

Nothing spectacular but it was fun. I had a little trouble keeping up with all the characters which is always more challenging with an audiobook. As always, Julia Whelan does a remarkable job as narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I want to this on the screen!!

I really liked this book a lot more than I thought I would of, I also would absolutely LOVE to see this as a movie or series. I can see this as a laugh out loud dramady or romantic comedic. I just either really liked or hated each character. I will be reading more from this author!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not worth the credit

I found narrator Julia Whelan great, as always. Story was all about segments of unlikeable people’s lives & the hotel. The story could have been great. However, I found it week & disjointed. Wish I had returned it as it never got any better... wasted a credit on this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun family tale

As “light” reading goes, this book had plenty of things to ponder. It had lessons throughout in a non preachy way. I really liked it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • SB
  • 05-30-21

Didn't care for it

I'm sure many will enjoy this book, but it was not for me. I found most of the characters annoying or obnoxious and the various storylines were silly. I didn't find it humorous or like Marvelous Mrs. Maisel. Stick with Mrs. Maisel, this is no substitute.

1 person found this helpful