• Letter from the Dead

  • Detective Inspector Declan Walsh, Book 1
  • By: Jack Gatland
  • Narrated by: Robin Laing
  • Length: 8 hrs and 59 mins

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

By the time you read this, I will be dead....

When Victoria Davies was pushed off her stately home's roof in 2001, all evidence pointed to her husband Michael. But now, 20 years later a letter has appeared, written by Victoria before her death; a letter that was never received and a letter that brings new suspects into the fray; Labour MPs Shaun Donnal, Andrew MacIntyre and Charles Baker.

But two decades on, life has changed for these men. Donnal is now a paranoid alcoholic living on the streets of London, 'Andy Mac' is a popular YouTube Evangelist and Charles Baker is the current Conservative Home Secretary and the bookie's choice for next Prime Minister in the upcoming Leadership Election.

Now Detective Inspector Declan Walsh, saved from permanent suspension and newly transferred to the Temple Inn 'Last Chance Saloon' Crime Unit, must navigate a minefield filled with political intrigue, adulterous affairs, social activist aristocrats and brutal, bloody murder, as each suspect leads his new team to another problem, and skeleton to fall out of the closet....

The debut book in a new series of procedural crime thrillers featuring DI Walsh and the team of the Last Chance Saloon, Letter from the Dead is perfect for fans of J.D Kirk, L.J Ross, J M Dalgliesh, Ian Rankin, Damian Boyd, Alex Smith and Ann Cleeves, among others. 

©2020 Jack Gatland (P)2021 W F Howes

What listeners say about Letter from the Dead

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard
  • Richard
  • 11-18-21

A Thrilling Story

A thrilling, page turning and clever read. Great characters and superbly paced story. A real master of writing action and suspense. Can’t wait to find out what waits for Declan Walsh and his team next in the saga. The narator really brings each character to life.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marion G.
  • Marion G.
  • 01-07-22

You will need to concentrate

This is an easy listen just so long as you pay lots of attention. Supplied with myriad characters and an extremely complicated plot, I needed to repeat a few chapters when my concentration lapsed - even for more than a few moments. Lots of action, nothing gory and many red herrings, so heed my warning. As this is only book 1 of a new series, you will need to ration your listening (as I think I will) to avoid brain swelling. I will look forward (given time) to the next novel. As for the narrator, do not fear, Robin Laing narrated all of Helen Fields magnificent series featuring DCI Callanach to perfection and he does the same here.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 03-02-22

Good gripping story

enjoyed got into the storyline quickly liked the characters..hope there is more about the main character









1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K J W
  • K J W
  • 02-01-22

Good

Good story I enjoyed it and the narrator made it enjoyable,I will look out for more from this author

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-29-22

A relief to listen to something I enjoyed

Best book I have listened to in a while. A pacey and engaging story, with an interesting main protagonist

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denise Smaron
  • Denise Smaron
  • 03-26-22

Enjoyable in every aspect

Excellent. Loved everything about it ,the storyline, the characters and the reader who brought it all to life.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 12-15-21

Not bad

I must say if the narrator had been different I would never have enjoyed the story so much.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-03-21

Great story great narrator

Everything about this book was enjoyable, Ribin Laing is a wonderful narrator. I hope there are more coming

.