1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Life's a Beach  By  cover art

Life's a Beach

By: Portia MacIntosh
Narrated by: Karen Cass
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Sun, sea and inescapable exes....

Peach is excited to hear that her sister, Di, is getting married. Of course, she would have preferred her little sister to be engaged to someone she's known longer than a week - and the fact that his name is Charles doesn't bode well - but who is she to judge? After all, her own love life is non-existent, and who doesn't love a destination wedding? 

Whisked away to the gorgeous Italian coast, Peach assumes her role as chief bridesmaid and, despite her reservations about the groom, she tries to ensure everything goes to plan. 

But weddings are never straightforward affairs...throw in some unexpected guests in the form of ex-boyfriends and one night stands, and soon enough there is more drama than a reality TV show. 

Can Peach keep the show on the road, or might she end up in a whirlwind romance of her own?

Escape to the stunning Italian coast with best seller Portia MacIntosh. Perfect for fans of Sophie Ranald and Mhairi MacFarlane.

©2021 Portia MacIntosh (P)2021 Boldwood Books Ltd

What listeners say about Life's a Beach

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    177
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    185
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    163
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So fun!

I love her lighthearted stories. Sweet characters that you just want to be friends with. Such a fun read!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The perfect rom-com

I enjoyed this book so very much. Absolutely perfect in every way. The author writes a great story with terrific characters and the narrator is pitch perfect cannot wait for my next Portia Macintosh listen!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

silly and disappointing

I love the narrator, Karen Cass, but even she couldn't save this silly book. Absurd situations and ridiculous behavior can't cover for lackluster writing and lack of depth. I didn't care much for any of these characters. Various characters slept around and then tried to figure out if they could have a relationship. Characters lying to the people they "love" isn't romantic or amusing, just sort of shallow and pathetic. There is nothing subtle or underplayed here. To me, the book was like a series of situational gags. The ending was sweet, but it felt like it took forever to get there. Save your Audible credits for something with more heart.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved it!

What a cute and sweet story with lots of twists and turns. I absolutely loved the ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved Karen Cass Narration

Wonderful rom-com. I loved the pace of it and characters. Fun story. Couldn’t stop listening.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sooo entertaining!

I kept thinking how this would be an amazing movie! I’m really impressed! Such an entertaining book!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It’s a good story to fall asleep to.

I love the narrator but the storyline on this book is so boring and ridiculous.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun sweet book

This is the fourth book of Portias that I have read. I love the characters, and the love and grace that the family members extend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

light hearted and funny

I love her books just a light hearted, funny quick listen. give then a try

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

You're in Italy. Why aren't you out site seeing?

That had to be the dumbest story ever. The characters were so flat and no personality what so ever. I've listened to other books by Portia MacIntosh and they have been good. What the heck happened? The narration was good but when you're working with junk what can you do.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-14-21

I couldn’t put it down

Absolutely amazing. Very well read and a beautiful story! I listened to the whole thing in a day!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Chantelle
  • Chantelle
  • 07-21-21

Life's a beach

Love love loved it. Very funny and made me laugh out loud. Did not want it to end but I did because I wanted to know how things were going to end. First book of hers and gas certainly given me an appitite for more. ❤️❤️❤️

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs K Tonkins
  • Mrs K Tonkins
  • 10-26-21

Wedding Farce

Listened to the very end, but didn't warm to the characters. Found the foul language unacceptable. Shame as I have enjoyed her other books.
Sweet ending .....but other than that not a great book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LJ Knox
  • LJ Knox
  • 07-04-21

Great!!

I have listened to a few of this authors books now, they're just so easy to listen to. Nothing to heavy and makes you feel good. This is no exception, the characters are great and there is a bit of light hearted humour that I found myself chuckling to. It does help if the narrator is good and I have to say she definitely is!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for penelope
  • penelope
  • 05-31-21

Another fabulous Portia Macintosh book

Lovely fun story to lose yourself in. As usual Karen Cass is a delight to listen too . Loved the journey back to San Valentino too

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for carly munroe
  • carly munroe
  • 05-08-21

Portia Macintosh hasn’t let me down yet again!

LOVE her style of writing , proper LOL moments but also with a beautiful storyline.

Easy read/listen .. couldn’t put it down!

Definitely recommend x

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa Jane
  • Lisa Jane
  • 04-25-22

Love, love, loved it, didn't want it to end !

A really fun story, good characters, and a fantastic narrator, I was hooked instantly

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Cole
  • Mrs Cole
  • 04-03-22

PORTIA + KAREN = A FANTASTIC BOOK

I have to say Portia Macintosh books are pure escapism. I love these stories, romcom and Chicklit are so light and fluffy but always with a good life lesson to be told and this book did not let me down.

There were plenty of twists in this book and Karen Cass did a brilliant job at narrating as usual, she is one of my favourite narrators.

Please release ALL of Portia Macintosh books on AUDIBLE

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A
  • A
  • 11-06-21

Great read

laughed , cried then cried with laughter was a very good read highly recommend it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for alice a.
  • alice a.
  • 10-02-21

Good holiday read

Nice easy read , narrater very good. My only criticism was that it was a bit converluted and drawn out at times but I happily recommend .

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Denise Johnstone
  • Denise Johnstone
  • 11-20-21

WOW!

I’ve listened to numerous audiobooks and this one’s so good I’m leaving a review. Love the upbeat & unusual storyline. Narrators voice is soothing & a pleasure to listen to. Already researching more from this author. Highly recommend.