Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $35.99

Buy for $35.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An uplifting and inspiring World War II saga for fans of Nancy Revell and Annie Groves.

1942, Manchester.

World War II is in full swing, and Lily Mullins is determined to do her bit for the war effort. Her friends and sweetheart have all joined up, and Lily's sure there must be a role for her that goes further than knitting socks for the troops!

When she decides to volunteer for the Women's Auxiliary Air Force, Lily soon discovers that she has a talent as a wireless operator. Helped along the way by a special gang of girls, she finds strengths she didn't know she had and realises that the safety of the country might just be in her hands....

Meanwhile, Danny is determined to marry Lily, but his letters home become more and more distant. Will a long separation mean the end of their love story?

An uplifting and inspiring novel of women on the home front.

©2020 Shirley Mann (P)2020 Bonnier Books UK

Critic Reviews

"An impeccably researched and uplifting story of love, loss and courage: a heartwarming read that will captivate all those who love a good war story." (Clare Harvey, author of The Gunner Girl)

"A wonderful, inspiring story. I can't wait to read more from Shirley Mann." (Sheila Newberry)

What listeners say about Lily's War

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    190
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    194
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    168
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

History lesson charming and retro

I was able to understand more of my parents' lives through this book. Some of the morals and social rules of the times rang true with the stories my mother had told me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Lily’s War

An excellent rendition of life for young folks coming of age in Britain during WWII. As I followed Lily while she learns new skills, makes new friends, and travels all as a result of the opportunities presented to women during the war, I realized how much changed for women during WWII & led to the women’s movement of the 1960’s and 1970’s. Very enjoyable and entertaining story. Look forward to the author’s next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A gifted story teller

Loved this story. Brought back mem from my parents stories and I also found it encouraging to see the way people, under extremely difficult times, managed to make the very best of this time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Decent story

It was a little too easy compared to other WWII stories I have listened to. Enjoyable nonetheless

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

darling story

narrator performed the story beautifully. her accents were right on! it was easy to identify all the characters. great job all around 👏

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thoroughly enjoyed

I truly enjoyed this book. I think the author for sharing the story. The storyline was engaging and the narrator was easy listening. Darlene joined this book and highly recommend it.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good first book

I have published three books so far. You nailed it first try. Your story was good and relatable especially for listeners familiar with British accents.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story!!

This is almost creative non-fiction. It is a story with it's roots in the author's parents love story. Beautiful.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written and read

Well written book giving amazing insight into life in WWII in Europe. Accents and languages by Lucy Dixon made this book even more enjoyable.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Insightful

A lovely story of war time women. How their strengths the human came to the for front & how they fought to become the future independent women in the ever changed world after WWII

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 09-23-21

Lovely …. Just lovely!

I got this book free and had a real difficulty getting in to. The narrator was not right …. The book was ……. simple. But as I started I meant to finish. I am so glad that I did. This is a lovely book.

The story is simple and told by a first time author but it is engaging and I lived Lily’s war with her every step of the way.

If you are looking for a sweet, gentle and lovely story this is it!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 01-03-22

Excellent book

Normally I like regency romance novels but this book based in the 40s 2nd WW was really good and I thought the story was captivating and engaging. Well worth a listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs Angela Mary lewis
  • Mrs Angela Mary lewis
  • 10-07-21

excellent book

couldn't stop listening only took 2 days to finish. lovely story well written looking forward to reading her second novel.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amber
  • Amber
  • 10-06-21

could not put it down

Loved all the details of the second world war period along with a great story .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for V_Nerdbooks
  • V_Nerdbooks
  • 09-30-21

lily's war

Struggle to finish it .Not the the of story's .I found the narrator very bland .

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gaynor MM
  • Gaynor MM
  • 09-18-21

It's not often I give up on a book, but...

It's not often I give up on a book but I couldn't finish this one. Sorry but what a load of drivel - poorly written and poorly read. It was akin to a Janet and John book - for those who remember them.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rubee
  • Rubee
  • 09-15-21

Narrator spoiled this for me, couldn't finish it

Disappointed that I could not finish this book as the style of the narrator I found awkward and the story did not flow. Too jerky in her performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-22-22

Part of my past too.

I really enjoyed Lily’s War, I was a war baby, but I classed this book as my era,my uncles and aunt were in the war, so had stories told to me,while experiencing rationing, and a Polish refugee living with us temporarily.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LJ Knox
  • LJ Knox
  • 06-18-22

A Great Listen

This was so easy to listen to, I didn't want to stop. I think the narrator was great, I could actually picture and imagine everything in my head, the places and people, the feelings This is a new author to me and i was sucked in from the first few pages. I would definitely recommend this and I wouldn't hesitate to one click this authors books!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bea M.
  • Bea M.
  • 06-13-22

Shirley Mann's debut novel

I thoroughly enjoyed this heartfelt story and I'm looking forward to listening to the author's next book. Lucy Dixon brought the characters to life and I was captured from the start. I felt immersed in the time of WW2 and even when I wasn't listening I thought about the characters and what they were going through. Despite it being a war story it was very uplifting to listen to and easy to digest, just what I needed.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-10-21

Lovely/Gentle

This was a lovely gentle story enjoyable from start to finish. well written with good narration. Makes you realise what young people went through the war. even from a novel .is worth a read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for julee latimer
  • julee latimer
  • 03-18-22

Wonderful

I really enjoyed every minute of this book The characters were so believable and the narration was perfect.
Hearing how the war affected those on home soil was a different perspective and very interesting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-10-22

Great story

Really liked this story and narrative. Good research into life during this era of WW11..
Loved the friendship of the girls, highly recommend

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for "gillibnz"
  • "gillibnz"
  • 02-01-22

An easy listen

An easy to listen story that takes you through the period of WW2 from the perspective of Lily and Danny. I enjoyed!