1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Life in the space lanes isn't the easiest, but for Trigg Donner, commander of the space freighter Rosebud, it's more than a steady paycheck - it's home. But when a routine landing on San Pedro unearths a mystery simmering on his own ship, Trigg comes face to face with his own fears and distrust.

After spending several years stranded on a distant mining colony, former graduate student Cassandra "Lucky" Luckenbach finally has enough money saved up to catch a spaceship back home to Earth. She boards the Rosebud unaware that she is walking into the middle of a life-altering interstellar conspiracy. Mystery, adventure, and romance await her on the flight home. Before she arrives on Earth, she will be forced to ask herself what it is that she really wants, and who she wants to be.

©2018 RH Webster (P)2020 RH Webster and Outer Boundary Press
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about Lucky

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a fun book!

I don't typically read romance novels. I'm more of a Stephen King, Mark Tufo kind of gal but I really enjoyed this book! I really didn't know what was going to happen or who the the antagonist(s) were until right before the reveal. I am usually able to guess so the surprise was an added bonus and made an even better story! I figured it out a few chapters before it was revealed and I sucked in a breath and said 'That b****' out loud =)
This is a fun read/listen and I look forward to listening to Webster's next book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

The performance is sometimes difficult to keep up with due to different accents and dialects attempted by the narrator, but the story is awesome! Keeps great pace and the plots twists keep you on your toes!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A classic in the making!

I read this with almost no prior knowledge of what I was getting into, but what I got is a really fun Sci Fi novel in the vein of Firefly or TriGun. The characters are all multileveled and distinct. The story is gripping and well worth the read, and the stories two primary dialogue characters are fun and filled with quirks and backstory that is only just dug into. I cannot wait for further novels in the series. A classic in the maing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love and mystery

I knew this was a love story so I kept anticipating when the main characters would fall in love. what kept me intrigued was the mystery! Why are they following Trigg and Lucky? Why are they shooting at them? WHO is shooting at them?! Overall a fun and interesting read.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too much romance for my liking

Lucky starts as a space opera western. A man from the Rosebud crew is killed on a planet, and his job needs to be fulfilled by one of the passengers. Cassandra Luckenbach, Lucky, offers her assistance and she gets a temporary job among the crew. The spaceship continues its voyage, amidst very strange phenomena like issues with the gravity plates and lost objects.

I found this a pleasant and light reading, but the story turned quite fast into a romance novella set in a spaceship, which is not my cup of tea. I don’t mind romance in a book but when it becomes the main topic, I tend to lose interest. Here the romance came down pretty fast, even before we knew the characters well, and also before they really knew each other. Losing each other in the other’s eyes just after they met is not a realistic way of beginning a durable relationship in my opinion. There’s a mystery subplot that I would have liked the story focused on, but it was so underdeveloped that it was difficult to get invested in it.

We don’t know much about the crew of the Rosebud, and I’m not even sure we’ve met all of them. I think more character development would have helped in the mystery subplot to get the reader more engaged. I found the crew to be a more homogeneous bunch than in similar books of the genre, even more homogeneous than the current population of the United States. There’s little world-building, that could have helped to give depth to this story, and maybe open the door to a sequel. The Rosebud is a transport ship between colonies, but apart from poor conditions and totalitarian regimes in some of them, we know nothing about how humanity has reached this point in history. There’s also a general lack of technology description, apart from a mention about how spaceships take off, and something about the gravity plaks, but nothing about the speeds a ship as the Rosebud can reach.

I can’t say if we have met all crewmembers of the Rosebud, as this was not explicitly mentioned. I was also confused about the figure of the commander and why it was different than the captain, especially as the Rosebud seemed to be a civilian vessel. The commander’s responsibilities are not mentioned at any point, and the captain barely makes an appearance in the book, so I think as a writer I’ve focused more on delineating the characters better and maybe blending two into one like in this case.

I was bothered by how much the commander and Lucky ground their mollars. This was also mentioned using different words, but this exact expression appears so many times in the book that I had the urge of going back and counting them all to check if they were more than ten.

Daisy Fair delivered a pleasant narration but I observed some small issues that we often see in not very experienced narrators. In general, Fair did a good job at giving each character a distinctive voice and style, but in some voices sounded quite similar, which made following dialogs a bit difficult. I’ve also noticed a couple of times that Fair didn’t change her tone to show the difference between a narrative paragraph and words said by a character, using the character’s voice for the narrative part. Something that bothered me a bit, especially at the beginning, is that some of the characters’ interactions with Lucky were described as kind and cordial, but most of the time they sounded dry and even annoyed. The audio production was correct and there were no audible issues with it.

I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Norma Miles
  • Norma Miles
  • 01-25-21

"The shining beacon for humanity."

A bar shooting on San Pedro leaves the space freighter, Rosebud, short of a crew member. Rather than try to hire a replacement on that desolate station, Commander Connor opts instead to temporarily employ one of the passengers to act as his secretary until Newport, the next and larger port, is reached. Cassandra, 'Lucky', is grateful for the financial help the job will give her. An university research student, she'd been stuck for months on San Pedro after her grant has terminated. Now she just wants to get back to earth and try to find a job. But over the four weeks of the journey the coffee is vile, some little things go missing, the gravity plate needed realignment and Lucky starts to fall in love.

Lucky is a fun, lightweight who dunnit? set in space. Mostly centred around the key crew members of the Rosebud, there's a homely feeling of camaraderie which makes for pleasant listening. The romantic frisson tingles gently through it all but in the background rather than full frontal. The mystery? Not very mysterious but still adds intrigue. Narrator Daisy Fair reads with good pace and modulation and her personalized voicing of the protagonists helps add to their character development, which is otherwise fairly slim.

I did enjoy this book very much until the final few chapters when I became less involved : the story seemed a little rushed as if the author wanted it over.. No great piece of literature, western, or even mystery or space opera. However, the overall impression was good, more a sort of space romp. My thanks to the rights holder of Lucky, who, at my request, freely gifted me a complimentary copy via Audiobook Boom. It was fun.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diane Reynolds
  • Diane Reynolds
  • 01-23-21

Romance on a spaceship

This is a romance novel set on a spaceship. There is nothing explicit in it. There is no bad language.

Our protagonists meet on a spaceship. They are not in the military but a freighter. There are mysteries to solve, evil villains (without any graphic violence).

Overall, it’s an entertaining listen. It tells a good story of spaceships and falling in love.

I received this audiobook for free at my request and volunteered this review.