1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

When the danger is already inside, nowhere is safe… Highton prison sits nestled within the moors of western Cumbria, close to the coastal road. When two former inmates turn up dead, DI Kelly Porter is tasked with finding out why. It soon becomes obvious that she is hunting for one killer and the place where both victims were incarcerated holds the key. As Kelly delves into life at Highton she finds more questions than answers. A web of corruption and deceit emerges within the prison walls. As Kelly gets closer to unpicking the relationships between the officers and their wards, a full scale prison riot explodes - with police caught in the middle. Kelly now faces a hostage situation with a well-loved member of her team caught in the middle. An unforgettable addition to the DI Kelly Porter series from one of British crime fiction's rising stars. A must-read for fans of Carol Wyer, L. J. Ross and Angela Marsons. Readers are loving Lying Ways 'Once again Rachel Lynch has written a book where you keep turning the pages to find out what happens next. I enjoyed reading this book and would recommend it as a must read.' NetGalley Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'This book has it all, murder, violence, prison life and military involvement. I read it in one sitting.' NetGalley Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'I have enjoyed all the Kelly Porter novels to date and this one did not disappoint. Fast paced storyline and great team dynamics make for a great read. ' NetGalley Review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

©2021 Rachel Lynch (P)2021 Rachel Lynch

More from the same

What listeners say about Lying Ways

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Probably the best one!

All of the characters were well thought out and solidly presented. Some very good insight here.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

I really live this series, and I think this one pushes some of the characters to their limits. No spoilers here, but hoping for reconciliation.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • MB
  • 04-14-22

Kelly Porter has changed

Somehow, I found Kelly very offensive and self-centered right from the first chapter- her self important attitude to exclusion of everyone else really made made this book unsatisfying. It also made the investigation very unprofessional. I hope this isn’t what the future of this series is like . This may be the last I’ll listen to. To bad!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue Horner
  • Sue Horner
  • 09-24-22

Fast moving

Fast moving story line hope that's not the last we hear from Kelly porter PLEASE

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oops 66
  • Oops 66
  • 07-16-22

Excelent

I really don’t understand the negative reviews I’ve read on Amazon. I am pleased, I ignored those negative reviews. I enjoyed this book, looking forward to the next Kelly Porter book now.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pensioner
  • Pensioner
  • 03-24-22

not as good as previous in series

I have loved all the other books in this series and this one was ok but let down by the narration. Several mistakes which weren't erased but left in ,with the sentence just started again. Also lots of mispronunciations, terrible Dorset and Irish accents and most annoying in the second half of the book : " he said ," she said", 'they said" all snapped out in the same way every time with no expression.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-19-22

Not Great

Nowhere near as good as the other books in this series unfortunately. I hope the next one is better

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-08-22

Least favourite of series

I've enjoyed all the books in this series except this one. It took a long time to get going and once it did it then became rushed

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for missp
  • missp
  • 02-26-22

Dodgy accents!

I love this series and this did not disappoint but the irritating accent for Dan did not even remotely resemble Scottish and was downright cringey, there were also several mispronounced words which spoiled the listen for me

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-15-22

wonderful

Rachel Lynch's books always keep me hooked until its finished, so usually 2 days and it's done.
They are gripping and well read.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for denise p.
  • denise p.
  • 01-29-22

Just awful

I love the Kelly Porter series, however this story was a non starter and the behaviour of the character “Johnny” unlikely.
Regarding the narration, the recording could be heard to stop and start on many occasions and in addition, many words have been mispronounced. Very disappointing!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Shona Sangster
  • Shona Sangster
  • 01-16-22

Enjoyed the book but...

Enjoyed the book until the end as felt a bit deflated by ending . Left me feeling same as Line of Duty ending last year . Just sort of fizzled out .

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeanette NORMAN
  • Jeanette NORMAN
  • 02-25-22

It has just occurred to me why l am so disappoint!

Call me stupid and l would have to agree!
This series Kelly Porter is so like the Bronte sisters stories and those of Dickens - l suffered through them and was so bored at these same old same old outings - everyone knowing everyone else.
I used to live in a rural town in Aus of 66,000 people and couldn't wait to get out of it as if was too small for me, particularly as my family forever had their names 'on jam tins'.

Another thing who calls a man at 50yrs Johnny - babies may be but NOT men in my book.

If you like the comfort of all that what l call incestuous intertwining stuff - enjoy, but if not skip it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-19-22

Lying Ways Review

As usual a great storyline from Rachel Lynch.
Narration mostly good, but please, Clare, practice your Scottish accent or refrain altogether from it, it is really cringe worthy.

.