1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.00

Buy for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the international best-selling author of Unraveling Oliver, an “unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page” (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed.  

My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it. 

On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life - wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia’s son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax. 

For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a “seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre” (Sunday Mirror).

©2018 Liz Nugent (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about Lying in Wait

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    326
  • 4 Stars
    216
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    12
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    403
  • 4 Stars
    141
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    8
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    286
  • 4 Stars
    192
  • 3 Stars
    94
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    15

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply amazing...

Wow. So so well written and interesting. Really broke the dry spell for me. This book will go in my top 20 for 2018 so far.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Terrible ending

This book started out well. Overall I thought it was a decent story and was well- paced, and entertaining enough. However, the ending was absolutely terrible. I don't need a happy resolution to enjoy a story, but I can't handle an awful, nonsensical ending. It ruined the whole book for me. Proceed at your own risk.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fun ride but

it was a really fun ride and i didn't want to stop listening but the ending really pissed me off. unsatisfying in every way.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best audiobooks I've ever heard.

This is me reading the first chapter: Omg. O.m.g. OMG! Then the story develops like the Matterhorn ride at Disneyland, pulled uphill in the dark and come whirling down again screaming OMG! It's a psychological thriller with gothic elements. The three actors who narrate it are engaging and talented and bring this otherwise insanely well-written book to life. It should be a movie. A really good movie. And I hope everyone buys all Liz Nugent's books and she keeps writing for years and years.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Good up to a point

I enjoyed the book but was disappointed in the resolution. The narrator was good though.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

EXEMPLARY!!!!!

This book is in the top five of the hundreds of books I've listened to on audible. There isn't a wasted word. I'm now a fan of Liz Nugent and I marvel at her ability to draw you in to her devastating imaginary world.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent and Daring!

NO SPOILERS! This book has many twists! It has people you love and people you love to hate. It grabbed me right from the beginning. I love authors who take risks and Liz Nugent did that in spades. Great narrators too!

I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a great twisty story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

Blown out of the water by this gripping drama.
Liz Nugent is my new favorite author;narration was superb.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Whoa

Can't say much more than whoa without a spoiler, but this is a vicious, twisted little gem of a novel. Enjoy it.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So crazy

While, there are clues as to what is lying ahead... it still shocks you. A well written story and it was performed very well.

2 people found this helpful