1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $0.87

Buy for $0.87

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Maples Stories consists of eighteen classic stories from across John Updike's career, forming aluminous chronicle of the life and times of one marriage in all its rich emotional complexity. In 1956, Updike published the story "Snowing in Greenwich Village," about a young couple, Joan and Richard Maple, at the beginning of their marriage. Over the next two decades, he returned to these characters again and again, tracing their years together raising children, finding moments of intermittent happiness, and facing the heartbreak of infidelity and estrangement.

The fifth story in this collection, "Marching through Boston," finds Richard and Joan Maple still holding on to the tattered threads of their marriage. As Joan is caught up in the civil rights movement, an unwell Richard joins her at a march in Boston.

©1979 John Updike (P)2014 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about Marching through Boston

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.