1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Alex Verus is tracking down dangerous magical items unleashed into the world by Dark Mages - however, when the Light Council decide they need his help in negotiating with the perpetrators, Alex must use all his cunning and magic to strike a deal.

The ninth novel in the urban fantasy series which began with Fated - the Alex Verus novels are magic-filled fan favourites, perfect for fans of Jim Butcher and Ben Aaronovitch.

©2018 Benedict Jacka (P)2018 Hachette Audio UK

What listeners say about Marked

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wow!

Really WOW!! I'm so glad Benedict wrote this book, there really is nothing like it out there. I won't even try to compare it to any book I've ever read or listened to. Thank you Benedict for this wonderful adventure, it was one of a kind.

The naratorion was perfect, I don't think anyone else could have done it better.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Verus kicks ass as ever

I don't think I will ever grow tired of the concept of limited foreknowledge of the possible futures, but the formula is getting a little stale...
Verus cannot trust anybody, Verus trusts, Verus wins

Still a fun book though

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Elaine O.
  • Elaine O.
  • 08-18-18

Great read - just need the next one now

Great read and good continuation of the characters. Just need the next one so I can find out what happens!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for John
  • John
  • 07-09-18

Fantastic

Thoroughly enjoyed the book and the narrator - he did the voices very well indeed

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D. Clough
  • D. Clough
  • 07-07-18

Further adventures

This review of the ninth Alex Verus book is inevitably also of all the others which I've consumed as fast as possible in the last couple of weeks; just as I'll be consuming ten, eleven and twelve, when - and if - they come along in due course. A thoroughly entertaining read and a well constructed and convincing story world. Gildart Jackson is also well suited as a reader, with a slightly donnish quality to his reading which makes the magical anti-hero sound a bit like Inspector Morse at times.

If comparisons are invidious, it's also safe to say that, if you liked Jim Butcher's Dresden books or Kevin Hearne's Iron Druid series, then these books will be your cup of henbane. It's the same formula as those books, a Chandleresque outsider going down the meaner streets of magic but this time in a London setting. (Despite this, I'd say that the books have more in common with the American writers than, say, Aaronovitch's Peter Grant who comes from a different genre stable. There's more noir touches for one thing, and a 'scooby' crew who back up Alex when he gets in a jam.

All these heroes have a tough time with authority but Jacka scores special points for his depiction of the vicious, hypocritical officials who rule his magic world. Somehow that rings true. Perhaps JK Rowling should take notes as she climbs into the ring with Trump?

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrei
  • Andrei
  • 07-06-18

finally, he told her his feelings!!!

I've been waiting for this for a long time, but now I really need to see what's going to happen 😁

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Magbug
  • Magbug
  • 07-08-18

More of the same

It's fine but after 9 books, I'd appreciate a bit more plot development. Verus doesn't really have much depth and the Light council are increasingly unbelievable. I will plough on with book 10 when it appears but without much anticipation.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 12-11-18

too short by far.

Good narration. issue is that it is not long enough. too much is missing. Stop leaving cliff hangers.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karin
  • Karin
  • 11-30-18

A bit repetitive but still very good

I enjoy the political drama as well as the information on the history of magic and magical creatures, but the story is getting a bit repetitive with Alex being sent out on yet another quest while everyone thinks he is playing for the other team. And indeed by the end of it, morally he is taking another step in this direction.
Surely we are slowly entering the final stretch of the story and I hope that the author can really make it come together.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 11-19-18

Brilliant series

Brilliant book series, I listened to a full book a day every day until I finished it. Can't wait for the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr J R D Lash
  • Mr J R D Lash
  • 11-18-18

what a cliffhanger - but a good one

several exciting twists; excellent display of the growth of the characters from the first and second books. And a much more in depth dive into the politics of the world. let's just hope Alex and Caldara can get on...

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-03-18

Boring

I wish I could say, this latest book was worth the wait, bit sadly, it was not, Alex has become a whining bore, and I was actually rooting for the dark side to win!

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-29-18

Excellent as usual

Arguably the best Alex Verus novel yet, and that is saying a lot. Excellent reading as always.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-26-18

Doesn't disappoint

Oh I loved this one. This story has plenty of twists and turns. Keeps you guessing till the end.

I love that its not only Alex 's character that grows but the other three are all doing things as well.

Hope it's not a gazillion years to the next book....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helene
  • Helene
  • 07-14-18

Superb

As always Benedict Jacka writes and excellent story which is expertly brought to life by Gildart Jackson. I can't wait to hear more.