1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

What happens when the person you find most impossible becomes impossible to resist? The Hating Game meets The West Wing in this hilarious across-the-aisle romantic comedy debut about America’s least likely couple.

There's just one thing standing between liberal Senate staffer Kate Adams and passage of the landmark legislation she's been fighting for all year: Ben Mackenzie, intimidating gatekeeper for one of DC's most powerful conservative senators. After Kate and Ben lock horns in a meet-not-so-cute, they vow to take each other down - by any means necessary.

Their ensuing power struggle gives new meaning to the term office politics: prank mail, spying, bets gone awry - nothing’s off limits in their battle of wills. She thinks he’s arrogant (and doesn't deserve those gorgeous green eyes). He thinks she's too quick to judge (and irresistibly distracting). But as their endless game of one-upmanship becomes Kate's favorite part of the day, she starts to wonder if her feelings for Ben are closer to attraction than animosity...and maybe their sparring is flirting. When Kate realizes there's more to Ben than meets the eye, she's forced to confront her biggest fear: In her sworn enemy, she may have found her perfect match.

Perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Jasmine Guillory, Meet You in the Middle is a modern, heartfelt and hopeful romance that hilariously explores what happens when you fall in love with your political polar opposite.

©2020 Devon Daniels (P)2020 Penguin Audio
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

Critic Reviews

"Sharp, clever repartee propels this irresistible, very modern, wonderfully warm and optimistic romance that asks the eternal question, do opposites really attract?" (Jayne Ann Krentz, New York Times best-selling author)

“...[M]ore timely than ever...it's the kind of book that will leave you feeling gleeful.” (USA Today

“Daniels has written one of those romantic comedy masterpieces that makes your stomach flip, your heart explode, even as you can’t help but laugh out loud at the sheer cleverness of the writing. Absolute perfection - the best romantic comedy I’ve had the pleasure of reading, ever.” (Lauren Layne, New York Times best-selling author) 

What listeners say about Meet You in the Middle

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    152
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    133
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Jo
  • 06-01-21

Overall Not Good

I finished listening to this book, but if I knew how bleh it was, I wouldn't have started reading it. It's entertaining enough, but the characters don't act like real real people, and I thought it had a "man writing women" problem until I found out the author is a woman. I also thought the main character was supposed to start unlikable and grow as a person, but no, the main character really is just that unlikeable.
However, the main issue I have is that completely valid reasons to be hesitant about a relationship were treated as if having an issue with them was a character flaw to overcome, instead of a valid concern. If you're really into politics, this is definitely not the book I'd recommend.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a story of unity during a time of discord

This was such a good story. At this time in American history where folks are so focused on why they’re divided and forgetting to acknowledge their commonalities, this is story is a great example of seeing past those differences. I truly enjoyed getting to know these two striking characters. The writer did a great job of creating a dislike-to-love story, with sweet and truly hilarious moments woven in.

Also, 99.9% of this story is read by Brittany Pressley, and she’s such a brilliant narrator. I mean, seriously, she’s one of my favorite voices to listen to. She does an excellent job of southern accents and male voices. Kudos to whatever tea she’s treating those vocal chords with. Haha, but seriously, she did a wonderful job.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Delightful, Witty and Engaging!!!

What a delightful, witty and engaging true to life tale! It was fun enough to just run straight through with only a break to sleep! Not too short, and not too long! Loved the depth of characters and the twists and turns along the way. Devon's a very insightful and talented author whose personal depth and insights created a story worth reading!

Great character voices and flawless production!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

perfect for the crazy bipartisan times we are living

I love everything about this book!
wonderful story, really developed characters that you relate to in route four. The narration is fantastic, and in a time where we are so divisive over politics, this was a breath of fresh air and a reminder that we all need to come back to center. Cannot wait to read another one of her books, and I hope there is a follow up to this story

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Timely

I loved the characters, I loved the way the different political parties were portrayed. Using a sense of humor and compromise in today’s environment is refreshing, humorous, clarifying, and very much needed. Their relationship was entertaining, Intriguing and deliciously descriptive. I think adults of all ages would enjoy this book!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

meet in the middle

This is a great story and I laughed some much. Politic should never stand in the way of love.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I get it Ben

A great understanding of a woman's process. Thanks Kate.
Very entertaining and enlightening!
Every woman being courted should read this.
Guys..... don't give up!

Man's perspective

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Nicely done!

Loved the story line. Classic chick lit novel perfect for summer! The narrator Brittany Presley was fantastic. Can’t wait to read more novels narrated by her as well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fan Fiction

Ok, so it’s not that I didn’t like this book— It was ok— but it is so obviously fan fiction based on The Hating Game. Same premise (enemies at work), same conflicts (work competitors/secret relationship/petty jealousies), same “getting to know each other” scenes where the cedar-scented hunk thoughtfully holds the narrator’s hair while she vomits. And the male protagonist is the same sensitive, frustrated, restrained man who pines for the perky girl. Even the cover art is a knock-off. The language, vocabulary, plot, dialogue— it’s all a less intelligent, less witty, lower quality version of The Hating Game. It drove me crazy. I hope Sally Thorne is getting a share of the royalties. If you loved The Hating Game, proceed at your own risk.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Listen!

What a great book! Once I started listening I couldn’t stop. The performance was really good.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gemma
  • Gemma
  • 02-26-22

Loved this!

One of the best enemies to lovers, workplace slow burn romances I’ve listened to/read and I’m pretty sure ive read them all 😂

The characters, the narration, the chemistry, the tension, the plot line… so good! Deserves way more hype! Up there with the best ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️