• Midnight on the River Grey

  • A Regency Mystery
  • By: Abigail Wilson
  • Narrated by: Laura Kirman
  • Length: 9 hrs and 48 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (140 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Midnight on the River Grey  By  cover art

Midnight on the River Grey

By: Abigail Wilson
Narrated by: Laura Kirman
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this Gothic Regency romance, Rebecca fears she has developed feelings for the man she swore to see hanged, her brother's murderer. 

After her elder brother’s mysterious death, Rebecca Hunter vows to expose the man she believes responsible: Mr. Lewis Browning - known by the locals as the Midnight Devil and by Rebecca as her new guardian. 

Summoned to his reclusive country estate to await her London season, Rebecca plans her own secret investigation among the darkened corridors of the mysterious Greybourne Hall. Yet Lewis Browning is not as she once imagined, and his motivation is horribly unclear. Recurrent nightmares and Rebecca’s restless feelings are further complicated by the shadow of her mother’s prior descent into madness and wondering if she, too, will follow the same heartbreaking path. 

Even as midnight rides, strange injuries, and further murders lead back to Mr. Browning, Rebecca can’t ignore the subtle turn of her heart. Has she fallen for the man she swore would pay for her brother's death? And moreover, can she trust him with her uncertain future?

“Murder is far from no one’s thoughts in this delicious new romantic mystery from Abigail Wilson. With scandal dodging every turn of the page, mystery hiding behind the visage of each character, and a romance brewing with an English rake of the worse - and best - sorts, readers will find nothing lacking! I was entranced, mesmerized, addlepated, and not a little bit bewildered as I wandered the halls of Middlecrest Abbey.” (Jaime Jo Wright, author of the Christy Award-winning novel The House on Foster Hill)

Full-length Regency romance with a murder mystery (c. 90,000 words)

Perfect for fans of Sarah Ladd, Deanna Raybourn, Julie Klassen, Tasha Alexander, and Lauren Willig.

Also by Abigail Wilson:

  • In the Shadow of Croft Towers
  • Masquerade at Middlecrest Abbey
  • The Vanishing at Loxby Manor (available January 2021)

Includes discussion questions for book clubs  

©2019 Abigail Wilson (P)2019 Thomas Nelson

What listeners say about Midnight on the River Grey

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    100
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

This book has it all!

I have enjoyed many books in all different genre’s yet I haven’t found one book that covers all that I love (mystery, romance and history) as well as this book did. I really enjoyed the narration and for me that can be a deal breaker. I listened to this book in the same way I do all by having my ear pods on while I do other things. I had to keep rewinding so that I could keep up with the story! I really enjoyed it! Btw this is the first book review for me. I am giving it 10 stars!!!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Truly entertaining

Midnight on the River Grey was at times creepy and such an alluring mystery that I couldn’t stand to put the book down. Rebecca is desperate to solve her brother’s murder and fears the looming threat of madness that overtook her mother. The gothic nature of this story raised the hair on my arms on several occasions. The narrator did a fantastic job and really added to the atmosphere. I highly recommend this book and will be reading more from this author.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Mystery with Romance was nice

I enjoyed this book. A little mystery along with inspirational romance was nice. It's also good not to have prayers and sermons even though it's clean.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great way to spend Christmas break

I have listened to four of Abigail Wilson's wonderful stories while I have been on Christmas break from school. Getting wrapped up in these stories makes organizing my home much more pleasant! Abigail's characters are believable (where can I find a guy like Louis Browning?). They make mistakes, let their imaginations get a little crazy, have weaknesses...but I love their kindness, caring, and how they grow during the stories. I also love that I don't have to worry about language, violence or lack of morals, and I don't need a score card to keep up with which character is which. As soon as I finish writing my thoughts, I'm going to download the next story in this series. I've already bought extra credits. Thank you, Abigail.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book I've listen to all year!

This book had everything! It had a mystery with a twist at the end, sweet romance, deep characters, and excellent narration.
I can't wait to find more books by this author! The title does not do it justice.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

So good!

I just discovered this author and I love her! Great plot and narrator! I’m on to her next book😊

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb

The narrator was excellent. The story was riveting and well done. Not just another predictable love story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprising!

I love this Author! Every book is so surprising! I'm reading them back to back.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I really love this Author

I really enjoyed this book, it took me a minute to get hooked, but once it got underway, I was hooked.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I seriously loved this book. I loved the mystery, the romance, all of it. The romance progressed throughout the whole story and as far as the mystery goes, it kept me guessing until the end. Well done Abigail Wilson. I look forward to more of her books!

1 person found this helpful