adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Where’d You Go, Bernadette and Small Admissions, a wry and cleverly observed debut novel about the privileged bubble that is Liston Heights High - the micro-managing parents, the overworked teachers, and the students caught in the middle - and the fallout for each of them when the bubble finally bursts.

When a devoted teacher comes under pressure for her progressive curriculum and a helicopter mom goes viral on social media, two women at odds with each other find themselves in similar predicaments, having to battle back from certain social ruin.

Isobel Johnson has spent her career in Liston Heights sidestepping the community’s high-powered families. But when she receives a threatening voicemail accusing her of anti-Americanism and a liberal agenda, she’s in the spotlight. Meanwhile, Julia Abbott, obsessed with the casting of the school’s winter musical, makes an error in judgment that has far-reaching consequences for her entire family.

Brought together by the sting of public humiliation, Isobel and Julia learn firsthand how entitlement and competition can go too far, thanks to a secret Facebook page created as an outlet for parent grievances. The Liston Heights High student body will need more than a strong sense of school spirit to move past these campus dramas in an engrossing debut novel that addresses parents behaving badly and teenagers speaking up, even against their own families.

©2020 Kathleen West (P)2020 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"A cutting and witty examination of modern parenting that excels in suburban relatability, West's debut novel will pique the curiosity of fans of Maria Semple's Where'd You Go, Bernadette." (Booklist

"Just as good as Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies." (Kirkus, starred review)

"Helicopter parenting and high school politics at their worst--and funniest. A smart, fast-paced, and deliciously entertaining debut!" (Meg Donohue, USA Today best-selling author of You, Me, and The Sea

What listeners say about Minor Dramas & Other Catastrophes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    126
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    289
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    190
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Julia Whelan makes all books great!

I never would have bought this book on its own. However, I search for new Julia Whelan-narrated books monthly and found it. For the first hour or so, the book seemed like a YA (Young Adult) piece. Soon, however, it became much more. The story is an excellent example of how easily lives can be damaged - or repaired - through irresponsible (negative or positive) comments online. Reputations can be ruined. Negative (or positive) actions can be incited. And consequences, even if unintended, can be far-reaching and deep.

As always, Whelan brings the characters alive and multi-dimensional. Like a fine wine, the story goes down easily!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love Julia Whalen

Best narration paired with a fantastic story. Cautionary tale about helicopter parents, and how easily a teacher’s career can be threatened by rumors.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this so much!

I consume many books via audible. I rate them all but rarely am I compelled to write a review. I loved this book! The story and characters hooked me right away. Although disguised as a "fun, light read," it was such a spot-on (and sometimes shockingly disturbing!) commentary on the realities of life in an affluent school. Educators will find themselves and their colleagues in the characters. Parents will be forced to reflect on their own parenting practices. Others will develop an appreciation of what it really takes to be a great teacher. Minneapolis locals will have fun trying to figure out the "real" school setting (the school colors confirm the suspicions!) My only (tiny) complaint is the narrator's mis-pronunciation of the name Annika, which is a common norwegian name in our area, pronounced in a way to confirm the narrator has no upper midwestern roots. Highly recommend this book to all!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable

3.5 stars, rounded up to 4 because it really is full of little nuggets of humor and very relatable characters. I felt it on-par with Liane Moriarty in the way that the story is told from perspective of many different characters with many events and happenstances to keep it interesting - you get invested in the characters and need to know more. It shared some similar themes with "Little Fires Everywhere" (which i loved) providing a tasteful and entertaining commentary on education, society/status and parent/child relationships. Nice character growth through the story and it was tied up nicely at the end. 5 stars for narration (Julia Whelan is my favorite)!

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Moms Behaving Badly

With multi layers, entertaining characters, insightful social commentary and sharp-witted dialogue this was a really SOLID satisfying read. The narration was perfect, Julia Whelan is always on point!! If you’re looking for a “smart”ish escape, this one is such FUN!!!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t waste a credit

Banal, boring, and judgmental, which is exactly what the author is trying to tell you that you are if you are a non-POC suburban-dwelling breeder.
Whelan was good, as usual, just disappointed she signed on to this dribble.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Definitely enjoyed it

Light read. This performer is my favorite....she could read me some economics book and I'd love it. Its a good story.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t put it down!

Burned through this in under a week. Love d it! The narration and story together were wonderful

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Perfectly Cliche Take on Helicopter Parenting

I tried to disconnect and just be entertained but everything was so cliche I couldn’t enjoy the story. Also, no spoiler but I found the ending to be very hurried, almost 11 hours of buildup followed by complete resolution in 30 minutes.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Don’t miss this!

This is an amazing story - hilarious and timely - and the narration is superb. Author Kathleen West and narrator Julia Whelan make a great pair!

2 people found this helpful