1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $38.17

Buy for $38.17

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Join these two comedy greats and lifelong friends on their journey from recuperation to riverbank in this hilarious and heart-warming audiobook that gives you a front-row seat at an exclusive Bob and Paul production.

Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse have been friends for 30 years, but when life intervened, what was once a joyous and spontaneous friendship dwindled to the odd phone call or occasional catch up. Then, Glory Be! They were both diagnosed with heart disease and realised that time is short. They'd better spend it fishing.... 

So they dusted off their kits, chucked on their waders and ventured into the achingly beautiful British countryside to fish, rediscover the joys of their friendship and ruminate on some of life's most profound questions, such as: How did we get so old? Where are all the fish? What are your favourite pocket meats? What should we do if we find a corpse?

Following the success of the BBC's Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing series, this wonderful audiobook by two lifelong friends is a love letter to the joys of angling, the thrill of the catch and the virtue of having a right 'daft laff' with your mates. On the fish, the equipment, the food and the locations, Gone Fishing is the perfect audiobook for fans of Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse and for anyone who wants to listen to a brilliantly written and endlessly funny joint memoir on life, friendship and joys of fishing.

Audio edition includes an exclusive fishing trip with Bob and Paul.

©2020 Bob Mortimer and Paul Whitehouse (P)2020 Bonnier Books UK

Critic Reviews

"One of the best audiobooks of 2019." (The Guardian)

What listeners say about Mortimer & Whitehouse: Gone Fishing

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Silly and Lovely

It is just Paul and Bob. I cannot imagine reading this without them.
Enjoyable if short and I still don't fish.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Couldn’t stop listening!

I’m not a fisherman (actually a vegan!) but I really enjoyed everything about this book. You don’t have to have watched the TV series but it does explain how they came to be the amazing comedic duo that they are. It’s just 2 men talking, but it’s heartwarming, funny and also informative, I have learned a lot about fishing but more importantly I have learned that life is short and to grab it with both hands! Thanks Mortimer and Whitehouse.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb!

Loved every second of this. Perfect tie in with their excellent tv show. Part history, part educational and very very funny. I’m not a fisherman at all but now I want to learn! I’ll be revisiting this audiobook many times.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing.

Touching, funny and informative. A lovely book.

Absolutely wonderful. I could listen to it all over again!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely lovely

This book needs to be listened to. I loved their friendly banter and how they didn't shy away from difficult subjects. I listened to it while I was very sick, and it was such good company. I especially loved the part where you're brought along on a fishing trip in the middle of the book. So lovely.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gan fishin’ like

This is the first audiobook I’ve listened to when not just driving. I stayed up at night to listen to more of it. I listened to it in the kitchen whilst making dinner. I had it playing in my pocket at all hours. And it’s the first one that I was not aware of the time and when it would end. In fact I didn’t want it to finish. I am not a fisher. I have fished. And some of the basic advice is just that. What’s good about the book is the conversational tone and the theme of love that is deep in there. Love for friends, countryside and yes the love for fish.
I do wonder why they never eat a caught trout say. Or even cook up a pike.
Over all though this book is about how important it is to share, communicate and just be together. Social animals lucky to have a beautiful environment. Don’t shut down or lock yourself away. Difficult times I know but this book reinforces how important and indeed lovely the countryside is.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Builds and builds until finally it's FAP time

Thanks for the story, gents. I didn't even have to use my eyes to read it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Douglas John Mason Mcgaw
  • Douglas John Mason Mcgaw
  • 02-12-22

Loved it

A very funny book, great interaction between two funny guys, entertaining from start to finish.