adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Kitty Underhay feels the touch...of death.

1934. Accidental amateur sleuth Kitty Underhay is being escorted by ex-army captain Matthew Bryant on an errand of mercy, as she takes a basket of grapes to her nemesis Mrs. Craven, who is recuperating from a recent operation. But their arrival at Elm House Nursing Home coincides with the mysterious death of Lady Wellings, a long-term resident.

The woman was known to be ill, so when the police turn a disinterested ear to Mrs Craven’s suspicion that Lady Wellings was poisoned, Kitty decides to look into the case herself. And when another invalid, the gentle Mrs. Pearson, collapses fatally in the breakfast room, it seems her suspicions are well-founded. For an institution promising health and rejuvenation, there seems to be a very low survival rate amongst the guests!

When the nurse Eloise Hibbert hints at sinister goings on among the staff, Kitty arranges to meet her away from the home to uncover how deep the treachery lies. However, before she can make the rendezvous, Eloise meets an unfortunate end falling from the top of the building. Was she pushed by the hand of fate, or a cold-blooded killer?

Meanwhile, Matt has been following an entirely different trail of evidence, and what he finds out chills him to the bone. When Kitty fails to return from her unsuccessful meeting, it is clear she has stumbled onto a plot far more devious than they could have imagined, and into a trap laid by an unscrupulous killer....

An utterly sensational and addictive Golden Age murder mystery. Perfect for fans of Agatha Christie, T.E. Kinsey and Lee Strauss.

©2021 Helena Dixon (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder at Elm House

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    144
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    145
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    128
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

very predictable

Kitty is getting too reckless. takes her friends into danger, then shows great concern after the danger about them. This is a contradiction in a character. she gets severely hurt but gets up and runs around. not plausible action. logically, she should tell her boyfriend or the cops at such moments. not a well thought out plot.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A wonderful book in the series

I absolutely love reading this series. Each book holds my attention and keeps me on the edge of my seat with suspense. The story continues to get better with each new book. Keep up the wonderful writing Helena!! 😁😄🤓🤩

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slippery slopes ahead

Things become intense for Kitty. One thing happens after another and they get so close to getting answers but these villains are slippery. Can’t wait for the next installment to find out more.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • DP
  • 08-21-21

Disappointing for this series

Sorry to say, but this was not worth the credit. There was no mystery in this mystery, nothing hidden to figure out. Open from the start to finish who was involved, what they did and how. Not just cosy, pure snoozy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very sweet and yet gripping

I love this series. I can't wait until the next one. I go back and listen to them again on occasion. can't get enough!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for poppyhops
  • poppyhops
  • 06-24-21

Another great story

Enjoyed this instalment of kitty and matts adventures.
I like how there is a thread of one storyline running through the series with a new murder mystery in every book that is concluded.
A really cosy mystery and very likeable lead characters who are developing throughout the series. Throughly enjoyed listening to the narrator who did a fantastic job of bringing the characters to life.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Inishowen Cailin
  • Inishowen Cailin
  • 07-10-21

brilliant!

This series is a real favourite of mine and it just seems to be getting better and better. This instalment was filled to the brim with suspense and drama. An excellent read and I can't wait for the next book in the series.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 06-16-21

Quite good story but too many American idioms and

Local knowledge a bit sparse and too many American idioms in the text for me

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-09-21

excellent story & performance

Great story, narrating excellent love this serious of books, it's onto the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for M. Howard
  • M. Howard
  • 07-23-21

Delightful Devon Detective

The Dolphin Hotel makes a great background for this continuing saga. Plenty of excitement and mounting tension. ( Very slight quibble - author might add to authenticiy by brushing up on driving a pre-war tourer and handling a revolver. ) We look forward to the next story.