• Murder at the Country Club

  • A Miss Underhay Mystery, Book 9
  • By: Helena Dixon
  • Narrated by: Karen Cass
  • Length: 7 hrs and 27 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (134 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Kitty Underhay is playing doubles...with death.

Kitty Underhay is accompanying her fiancé, Matthew Bryant, and Bertie, his new cocker spaniel, on an outing to Torbay Country Club. However, the delightful day soon turns to disaster. Walking Bertie in the shaded grotto after an exhilarating archery demonstration, Kitty makes an unsporting discovery: the body of their host, Sir William Winspear, with an arrow in his back.

When the local inspector falls foul interviewing female witnesses, Kitty steps up to the mark. And she quickly discovers that Sir William had threatened one of the guests, dashing Russian dancer Ivan, dependent on him for patronage. When Kitty overhears a damning conversation between Ivan and his sister, the case seems clear. But the next day Ivan has been disqualified as he is found facedown in the pool....

The race is on for Kitty to find the real killer, but she must keep her head in the game if she is to outwit this cunning murderer. And when the final score comes in, will it be "killer: three, Kitty: zero"?

A completely gripping, suspenseful, and utterly cozy historical mystery!

Listeners love the Miss Underhay mysteries:

‘‘Fast, fun and utterly unputdownable...perfect for fans of Agatha Christie." (Robin Loves Reading) 

"I love this series.... The murder mystery itself was engrossing… It kept me guessing right until the final scene." (Roberta Reads, five stars)

©2022 Helena Dixon (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder at the Country Club

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    103
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G. Pritchard
  • G. Pritchard
  • 07-09-22

Loved it !

Really enjoyed this book, great story line and brilliant performance, well done Helena Dixon.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jay
  • Jay
  • 06-30-22

This was very enjoyable!

Helena Dixon is one of my favourite authors and this was a very enjoyable story the plot was interesting and if I'm honest I guessed who the main culprit was. I really like Karen Cass I love her work for Verity Bright. But to me her Russian accent sounded Dutch, and the Chief inspector sounded the same as Matt with the voices. Which isn't an insult or issue, but for the next book do a deeper voice for the inspector. Karen's voice and charisma is so likable I just sat and listened while I was working. I binged this in two days.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. C. Hunt
  • Mrs. C. Hunt
  • 06-23-22

Murder at the Country Club

Great story with Kitty Underhay is invited to the Country club with Captain Bryant, when one of their party is killed. While the wife looks like the obvious choice it turns out all this family seem to be fighting with him over one thing or another, money mostly. While trying to do her job and help the police, Kitty realised she will need to make a decision about her duties in the hotel as her grandma is finding things hard to continue. Read brilliantly again by Karen Cass.