• Murder in Steeple Martin

  • A Libby Sarjeant Murder Mystery Series, Book 1
  • By: Lesley Cookman
  • Narrated by: Patience Tomlinson
  • Length: 9 hrs and 57 mins
  • 2.9 out of 5 stars (7 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

First in a series of 20 murder mysteries featuring middle-aged-actress-come-investigator Libby Sarjeant.

There's a baffling mystery in the village of Steeple Martin...but actress and amateur sleuth Libby Sarjeant is on the case!

Libby Sarjeant, former actress and artist, loves life in the idyllic English countryside. She's busy with her friends preparing a play for the pretty new Oast House Theatre in Steeple Martin when there's suddenly news of a baffling mystery - the murder of a cast member.

Written by Libby's friend Peter, the play is based on real events from his family's history, and it seems that these events still cast a long shadow in Steeple Martin. From the Pink Geranium restaurant to the Manor Farm, Libby risks causing a scene as she uncovers secrets hidden in the village.

Can Libby, with best friend, Fran, and Sidney, the cat, in tow, find the culprit and get her show on the road?

The first book in Lesley Cookman's best-selling series featuring amateur sleuth Libby Sarjeant, this cozy crime novel is perfect for fans of Betty Rowlands, Faith Martin, J.R. Ellis, LJ Ross, Miss Marple and Midsummer Murders.

©2006 Lesley Cookman (P)2007 Soundings

What listeners say about Murder in Steeple Martin

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 2.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Quite a disappointment

I was interested after seeing that this was a whole series. But it was a boring and trite story and the narrator seemed to have a bad cold--every single character voice had a congested tone. Super unpleasant to listen to that--what a waste of money.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Annie
  • Annie
  • 01-06-22

Most enjoyable.

The story was intriguing and the narration was excellent. Fran was a real irritation though!