• Murder in the Library

  • Julia Bird Mysteries, Book 2
  • By: Katie Gayle
  • Narrated by: Lucy Scott
  • Length: 7 hrs and 6 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (41 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Murder in the Library  By  cover art

Murder in the Library

By: Katie Gayle
Narrated by: Lucy Scott
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Julia Bird’s picturesque Cotswolds life is everything she’d dreamed of. Until, that is, she discovers a dead body in the library....

Julia Bird had imagined the quiet of rural life would be soothing after years in the city, but she finds she can’t just sit still. Determined to throw herself into village activities, she joins the library just in time to attend a talk by celebrated local author Vincent Andrews.

Charming, devilishly handsome, and talented, Vincent teases the crowd with a reading from his forthcoming novel. Set in a village bearing strange similarities to Berrywick, with characters the audience start to recognize, Vincent hints of dark secrets to be revealed, to gasps of outrage from the room. The meeting ends in uproar, and, just hours later, Vincent’s dead body is discovered behind the bookshelves....

As one of the last people to see him alive, Julia feels morally bound to help the police investigate. With her trusty Labrador, Jake, at her side, she decides to do her own sleuthing and quickly discovers that Vincent’s personal life is messy, his finances are in disarray, and his book sales are declining. But most of all, remembering her neighbors' faces at the book reading, Julia wonders if one of them could have lost the plot enough to kill....

As Julia interrogates the suspects, she walks straight into another scene of murder and mayhem and realizes Vincent’s manuscript is now missing. There’s someone out there who’s deadly serious about keeping their secrets unpublished. Will Julia be able to stop them, before anyone else gets hurt?

Brilliantly twisty, this completely thrilling cozy mystery is perfect for fans of M.C. Beaton, Helena Marchmont, and Clare Chase.

©2022 Katie Gayle (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Murder in the Library

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pretty Good

Murder in the Library by By: Katie Gayle is an entertaining cozy mystery with engaging characters and an entertaining plot. I look forward to the next book int his series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Charles
  • Charles
  • 11-02-22

Entertaining in parts

The story took a while to take hold, but lightly amusing throughout. The back story is original, maybe a bit weird. The author works hard at inserting the plot.
Dog lovers and publishers will have bits of bonus enjoyment.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K E Webb
  • K E Webb
  • 09-13-22

Much Enjoyed

Was very happy to see a second book in this series ! Got to like the characters in the first one and hoped
this would continue their stories …..it did 🙂
Love the village setting and the storyline had me guessing ….wasn’t disappointed at all and hoping book 3
will be forthcoming .