1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.50

Buy for $31.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A wedding dress passed down through generations unravels the tangled threads of three women's lives in a novel of friendship, family, and forgiveness from the USA Today best-selling author of Ten Beach Road.

Prized and stored away for safekeeping, the timeless ivory wedding dress, with its scooped neck and cleverly fitted bodice, sits gently folded in its box, whispering of happily ever afters. To Kendra, Brianna, and Lauren, it’s a reminder of what could have been, the promise of a fairy tale, and a friendship torn apart. But as Kendra knows firsthand: It wasn’t the dress’s fault.

Once closer than sisters, Lauren and Bree have grown up and grown apart, allowing broken promises and unfulfilled dreams to destroy their friendship. A successful author, Lauren returns home to the Outer Banks, fiancé in tow, to claim the dress she never thought she’d wear. Bree, a bookstore owner, grapples with the realities of life after you marry the handsome prince. As the former best friends wrestle with their uncertain futures, they are both certain of one thing: Some betrayals can never be forgiven. 

Now, on the eve of her daughter Lauren’s wedding, Kendra struggles with a secret she’s kept for far too long. She vows to make sure the dress will finally bring Lauren and Bree back together - knowing they'll need each other to survive the coming storm.

©2019 Wendy Wax (P)2019 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

One of the Most Anticipated Books of Summer according to PureWow, Oprah Magazine, Deep South Magazine, and BookBub

My Ex-Best Friend's Wedding is Wendy Wax's best book to date. Filled with her trademark witty dialogue and crisp writing, readers will be immersed in a deeply emotional tale of what family really means, and of friendship lost and found. With a gorgeously descriptive setting in Outer Banks, North Carolina, and carefully crafted characters to laugh and cry with, this should be the first book you put in your beach bag this summer.” (Karen White, New York Times best-selling author of Dreams of Falling

"If you're a sucker for plucky women who rise to the occasion, this is for you." (USA Today)

"Fans of Jane Green and Mary Alice Monroe will adore Wax's lively characters, witty dialogue, and heartfelt prose." (Booklist)

What listeners say about My Ex-Best Friend's Wedding

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    230
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    228
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    205
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Must read

I’ve been following Wendy’s work since Ocean Beach and have been hooked ever since. This book definitely leaves you wanting more. I’m so used to looking forward to more of a story with her that part of me wishes this was a series as well. Check it out. You won’t be sorry

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

light easy read

A little fluffy light easy read perfect for poolside relaxing! Narration was excellent. Also not a ton of characters to keep up with or pay super close attention to.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointed

The narrators are awful. Could not stand to listen to another chapter. (Except for Brittany Pressley, I wish she narrated the whole book).

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great audio/read!

Wendy Wax is one of my favorite authors and have lost count of how many I’ve read. I stay current on her new releases. I always enjoy them, but I especially loved this one! While I could not identify with each instance in the book, I could identify with the emotions and relationships portrayed. Great summer read!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slow

Took a while to get into this as an audio but if you stick with it, the story is good and very realistic.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was hard to push through at times

it started interesting and very fast became boring....It was whiny and very hard to listen to at times. Every female character is basically same person. One which is victimizing herself while overanalyzing everything. I am surprised that it ended OK, not everyone dying alone, full of regrets and in tears!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great read!

It was a great book that I wanted to read all in one sitting, which I wasn't able to do but wanted to. I was engulfed in the story and even got chills at certain parts. It's definitely a must read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story made even better by wonderful narration

Nice storyline about friendship, family, and revelation of truth buried under the years. I enjoyed the plot line and how the characters reacted.

The narration was wonderfully done. Each narrator really helped capture the tone of the story and portrayed the emotion very well.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • EJ
  • 08-06-22

Surprise

The story was interesting, but the main character was self focused and a little immature at times. What really bothered me was the romance. It was clean and mostly nonexistent until suddenly it wasn’t, and although I could fast forward for a minute and be through with the descriptions, it felt to me that it was just thrown into the story. It felt out of place and ruined the book for me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Nice light listen

I agree with many of the previous raters. The beginning of the book dragged at times, but by the middle it picks up and makes one curious how it will be resolved. And just when you think it is resolved, something else happens. I liked the descriptions of the Outer Banks and the life there... the people, the friendships. But overall a bit like a soap opera.
I thought the narration good, however, and it made for an easy listen, even though there were some times I wished it would go a bit faster.
So a descent listen... light in between all the bookclub books about WWII.